We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Arms

3.0 of 5 147 High Street, Berkhamsted HP4 3HL, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Kings Arms
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    22
    30
    18
See reviews for
19
36
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (117)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

After having a wonderful party in the upstairs function room earlier in the year, I was looking forward to a meal in the restaurant to celebrate a birthday. We waited in the bar until our table was ready. The bar had run out of suitableglasses and had run out of the spirits we ordered. This wasn't a problem, but more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KingsArms147, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Dotty22, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review – we are thrilled you had a wonderful party in our upstairs function room earlier in the year and apologise that you did not enjoy your following visit with us. We aim to offer excellent customer service, I am sorry you felt the waiter was only interested in... More 

Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

There were holes in the wall and during the night I could see a pair of eyes watching me through, even though I was asleep. We exchanged addresses and are having xmas together in Bath! Thanks for a great stay!! Would stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
KingsArms147, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Theapeofnaples, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to stay again! The Kings Arms Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We had a fabulous time on Saturday to celebrate an 80th Birthday ! Food was gorgeous - second to none and the staff could not have been nicer to us. 2 male waiters brought out the cake all prepared with candles and they were very kind & considerate to everyone. We had a great night & we are quite fussy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArms147, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Tom F, Thank you for your wonderful review, we love being part of special celebrations and are delighted to hear that the 80th was a successful evening. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our food and were impressed with our excellent service; I will pass your kind comments on to the team. We look forward to seeing you... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We went to a wedding here, which I would say was great, however our room was something else. Mould on the bathroom ceiling for one. I didn't feel comfortable sleeping in the bed either, there was no mattress protector sheet, and the bedsheet itself was so thin you could see the mattress. I also wonder how clean the linen was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Nicole, I’m sorry your stay with us was not up to our usually high standard and I wish you’d raised the issue with us on the night when we would have been more than happy to address this issue. I’d like to start by reassuring you that the bed linen is sent out for laundering and fresh sheets put... More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Second visit...We had booked a number of rooms between us, always find it strange that you have to check in, in the Restaurant!! They didn't seem to know how many beds were in the rooms. We had one made up as a three as requested, yet asked later if we needed the third bed as someone else did!! Very confusing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi T20GRA, I’m so sorry about the confusion regarding your rooms and that you weren’t able to get food. Unfortunately, we had had no gas supply that morning and it had thrown the whole kitchen out of balance – as a result we had to shut the kitchen for 1 and a half hours whilst we sorted it out. I... More 

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Decent food spoiled (yet again) by very drunk and obnoxious stag party at the bar - two of whom were seen urinating in the outdoor seating area, unchallenged by staff and management. One of the party was throwing up in the toilets during my brief visit there. Definitely not a place to visit with family or to celebrate a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Will, I would like to start by offering my most sincere apologies that your meal with us was ruined, before reassuring you that this is not representative of what the Kings Arms is normally like at all. In fact, the disgraced party to which you mention caught us completely off guard as well - they had not booked, they... More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I haven't been to The King's Arms for a couple of years, and I walked away extremely disappointed after my visit this weekend. The building and surroundings in The King's Arms are fantastic, but that is where the the positive news ends. As with many reviews on here I echo the thoughts of the terrible service, it was genuinely dreadful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Joe, I’m so sorry to hear that your meal with us did not live up to your previous experiences here. In particular, your comments regarding the level of service you received on the night are particularly concerning. Obviously it is far from our intention to be giving off that impression and I cannot apologise enough that this is how... More 

London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

The food here is fine & I have been several times. On this last occasion (I won't be going back) we waited for 40 minutes for a table we had booked weeks before. This in itself was annoying (particularly having children with us), but the customer service, or lack of was even worse. No apology, offer of a drink. After... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Nicolaglasson, I’m so sorry that your meal did not go to plan, that amount of wait is not acceptable and we really hope you’ll accept our most sincere apology. Your comments regarding the poor level of service you received is also a concern to us and is definitely something we will be looking into. We hope you’ll be back... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Shower was very basic, there wasn't any milk in the room so we didn't have any hot drinks in the room.Otherwise a lovely room.We stayed at the front of the hotel.The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean.The sound proofing is not too good.The breakfast was of a high standard,and the service was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Susan, I’m so sorry to hear that there wasn’t any milk in your room, there should have been some in the mini fridge by the kettle – this is most definitely a mistake on our behalf and I’m sorry you didn’t feel you could let us know on the night when we would have been more than happy to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Living locally I go to the kings arms fairly often and always have a great time and the food and drinks are always great however went for dinner with a friend tonight and we both commented on how great the food was. Service was excellent as always, bar staff were friendly and food was exceptional. We were served by Teresa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArms147, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi CJHearn4, Thanks so much for your wonderful review, it’s so great to hear such positive feedback – especially from someone who lives locally! I’ll definitely make sure to pass on all your kind comments to Teresa, and the whole team. If you have any suggestions for any vegan dishes you’d like to see in the specials, feel free to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: 147 High Street, Berkhamsted HP4 3HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Berkhamsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay