We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Arms

3.0 of 5 147 High Street, Berkhamsted HP4 3HL, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Kings Arms
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    25
    31
    20
See reviews for
23
39
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
blueeyes2353
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a family lunch here today. The food was very good but the service was not great. We waited a long time for the desserts and it was clear that the manager was having words with one of the chefs, who seemed to be refusing to stop what he was doing to prepare our puddings! It's a nice place, good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArms147, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

We're really disappointed to hear there was a delay with your puddings during your visit, BlueEyes. We work really hard to make sure every guest has a great meal with us and whilst this does come under pressure when we get really busy we're sorry it affected your experience. We hope you do decided to risk visiting us again soon More 

London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Stayed 14 /1 /15 in room 15 at back of pub. Room clinical could do with picture or two on wall but roomy enough . Staff very friendly on arrival and evening meal was superb . Breakfast was good too. However as other visitors have said this rooms was noisy , delivery of beer or something at 3am kept us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArms147, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, Helen. We are really pleased you hear that you enjoyed your evening meal and breakfast so much. You raised a few points about your overnight stay which we are keen to address: Firstly, please let me assure you that we avoid doing the noisy things (emptying the glass bins) between 10pm... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We had to manoeuvre our way round the back up what I think was fire exit. Room was over kitchen I think, and there were cooking smells lingering in the room. Plumbing was awful, toilet didn't flush properly and sink drained away very very slowly. to top it all the fire alarm went off around 7 in the morning (... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArms147, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review us, Billswife. We are sorry to hear that you weren't happy with your room and would gladly have found another room for you, space permitting. It sounds like your visit was compounded by the unwelcome fire alarm for which we can only apologise, but we are obliged to evacuate all guests in... More 

Florence
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We are regular visitors to Berko, normally staying with friends but it was party time so we offered to stay in town to save overcrowding. Next time we will sleep on the floor! We had actually booked into the Pennyfarthing, but due to a gas leak were asked to transfer to the Kings Arms. We were told it would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KingsArms147, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Karen, please accept our apologies for having to move you at short notice from the Penny Farthing. Unfortunately the gas leak meant we had to take this action. I’m sorry your stay with us was not up to our usually high standard and I wish you’d raised the issue with us on the night when we would have been more... More 

Travelers are raving about these Berkhamsted hotels

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We came from abroad to visit family for Christmas and we were recommended by our family to book a room in TheKings Arms. On the internet website the rooms look lovely. We had stayed in Berkhamsted before in the Berko B&B which was alright for the money but this time we were after a bit more luxury and it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KingsArms147, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit, Ilja. We are really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and hope that we get the chance to change your mind when you visit your family again. The Kings Arms is an 18th century coaching inn so we have bedrooms of all shapes and sizes.... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Nothing about this 'hotel' can be recommended. The first room that we were given had damp patches and flaking paint. The manageress showed annoyance when reluctantly gaving us a dry room to sleep in (instead of using it herself, she said). The room noise from the bar and subsequent bottle binning until 2am prevented a full night's sleep.To maintain service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArms147, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit, David. We are saddened to hear that you were not happy with your stay and would like to extend our apologies for your experience. Finding an alternative room can be tricky during the busier December weeks so whilst we do try and accommodate families in the quieter rooms away... More 

Bovingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

We had a meal at The Kings Arms on Boxing Day evening. Empty restaurant on arrival at 7 and just one other table at 9.30 when we left. Now I know why it was so quiet!. Ordered Bruschetta to start. One mouthful and I sent it back. A few cherry tomatoes chopped in half and drowned in overpowering garlic with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KingsArms147, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

We're really disappointed to read your review, Ollie, and extend our apologies that you felt the need to do so in this forum. Having read your review in detail, I would first like to assure you that the experience you describe is certainly not reflective of how we do things at the Kings Arms, nor of how Pascal behaves. We... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

After having a wonderful party in the upstairs function room earlier in the year, I was looking forward to a meal in the restaurant to celebrate a birthday. We waited in the bar until our table was ready. The bar had run out of suitableglasses and had run out of the spirits we ordered. This wasn't a problem, but more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KingsArms147, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Dotty22, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review – we are thrilled you had a wonderful party in our upstairs function room earlier in the year and apologise that you did not enjoy your following visit with us. We aim to offer excellent customer service, I am sorry you felt the waiter was only interested in... More 

Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

There were holes in the wall and during the night I could see a pair of eyes watching me through, even though I was asleep. We exchanged addresses and are having xmas together in Bath! Thanks for a great stay!! Would stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
KingsArms147, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Theapeofnaples, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to stay again! The Kings Arms Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We had a fabulous time on Saturday to celebrate an 80th Birthday ! Food was gorgeous - second to none and the staff could not have been nicer to us. 2 male waiters brought out the cake all prepared with candles and they were very kind & considerate to everyone. We had a great night & we are quite fussy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KingsArms147, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi Tom F, Thank you for your wonderful review, we love being part of special celebrations and are delighted to hear that the 80th was a successful evening. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our food and were impressed with our excellent service; I will pass your kind comments on to the team. We look forward to seeing you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: 147 High Street, Berkhamsted HP4 3HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Berkhamsted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay