We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shears Inn

Cadley Road, Collingbourne Ducis, Marlborough SN8 3ED, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Shears Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We ate lunch at the Shears and thought the food was quite pricey for a "pub lunch".My husband had fish pie which was £11.50 and the portion was small and not a prawn in sight. A shame the food let the Shears down as the service was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank HandP65
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband works abroad and on his last night before he returns we always go out as a family for dinner. On this occasion we picked The Shears and we were definitely not disappointed!! The choices of starters etc were all really tempting so much so we couldn't decide which ones we wanted so opted for a try of each... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
Bewdley
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015 via mobile

Stopped here for a quick snack on journey . The food was excellent . Best we've had for a long time! The coffee was also very good. We have been stopping here over the years and never been disappointed . Can't comment on accommodation but the toilets were great.

Helpful?
Thank Marie O
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015

I spent two nights at the Shears Inn and ate in the restaurant on two days. The rooms are clean tidy and reassuringly quiet. I was impressed by the food on both days - all of it fresh and much of it locally sourced. The deep fried halloumi with mango salsa was divine while the beef bourgouignon was top notch.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tricia B
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

My partner and I went for an evening meal recently having not visited for a while and we were sadly disappointed. We found the general service slow, despite not being overly busy. The menu was uninspiring and when my meal arrived the samphire had been substituted with spinach without any explanation. The our meals were lukewarm and portions small. No-one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane D
Windsor, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

Unfortunately the food has gone downhill since the change of managment. The selection isn't as good (no specials), the portions are meagre (we were still both hungry) and the food is overpriced. Sorry but we will be going elsewhere which is a real shame as it's a lovely restaurant!

Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
Dulis1970, Owner at The Shears Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr C I am sorry that you were disappointed with The Shears. We value all feedback and will of course take on board what you have said in your review. We took over the business in July and have had some teething problems. We would hope that if you are passing by in the future you would come in... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015

First impressions are important and The Shears certainly ticks the box for "chocolate box" appearance. The bar and dining area maintain the standard and the staff were welcoming and very friendly. The Cumberland Ale from the Jennings brewery was good and there were three other beers on offer from Brakspear. The food was also very good and was reasonably priced.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirky99
Dulis1970, Owner at The Shears Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kirky99 Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to The Shears in the future. Kind regards Bertrand Dulis More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015 via mobile

Having stayed before it was nice to be not "barked" at by the previous owners dog for a change. No offence to dogs being a dog owner myself but it wore thin. The venue has not changed, the food menu is a little more appealing than the previous menu which had too much speciality dishes. I personally am content with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank James_Lincoln
Dulis1970, Owner at The Shears Inn, responded to this review

Dear James_lincoln Thank you for your review. We have a number of room bookings going forward but hope to refurbish early in the new year. Breakfast is included in the room price and currently consists of cereal, toast and a full English. If there is something that you would like to see on the breakfast menu it would be great... More 

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

This was a delightful looking hotel (when we arrived) but we were bumped as arrived too late! We were on a return trip from the Worcs Audi dealership after a first night stop over at Beechfield House in Beanacre (very nice, thoroughly recommended). As we wanted to savour every moment of our new mark 3 TT we thought ,…….maybe one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul r
Dulis1970, Owner at The Shears Inn, responded to this review

Dear Paul and Mary I distinctly remember the evening. Sorry that we could not accommodate you on that occasion but look forward to welcoming you back with your Audi in the future. Kind regards Bertrand Dulis More 

Denham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

The Inn is situated in beautiful countryside and is enchanting. We went today for my mother's 79th birthday and had a very delicious lunch everything was cooked to perfection and beautifully served on the plate. I would recommend the prawns in chillie and garlic starter - the venison sausages were superb and the homemade cheeseburger was the best I have... More 

Helpful?
Thank LesleyAnn5517
Dulis1970, Owner at The Shears Inn, responded to this review

Dear LesleyAnne5517 Thank you for your review. We are glad that your mother enjoyed her birthday and that you all enjoyed the food. We hope to see you at The Shears again soon. Kind regards Bertrand Dulis More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingbourne Ducis
13.9 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
7.0 mi away
Premier Inn Andover Hotel
17.0 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Barleycorn Inn
The Barleycorn Inn
#3 of 3 in Collingbourne Kingston
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Marlborough
The Marlborough
#12 of 26 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
1.7 mi away
Manor Farm B&B
Manor Farm B&B
#1 of 3 in Collingbourne Kingston
5.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay