We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Davvi Arctic Lodge

Kasivarrentie 3771, Karesuvanto SF-99470, Finland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Davvi Arctic Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

562 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    256
    183
    70
    26
    27
See reviews for
205
216
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (562)
  • Mar-May only
    (157)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (359)
All months
Umea, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent one night there, the room could have been really nice but the floors hadn't been vacuumed. Gravel and dust everywhere. The tile in the bathroom was also dirty, spiderwebs in the corner of the ceiling. No glasses in the room. Breakfast was plain, ordinary with white toast and pre-cut cheese. The staff was somewhat polite. The bed was nice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not experience our usual high standards of rooms at the Davvi Arctic Lodge during your stay. We are currently undergoing some renovation works and it is regrettable that this has had an impact on the quality of your stay with us. However, I am pleased that the staff were polite, and that... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

I visited the Davvi arctic lodge on a 4 day package (22-26 March) I travelled alone, but from the airport made new friends. The hotel on arrival was exactly as I had hoped. The room was warm and well furnished in traditional style. The bed was very comfortable and had ample blankets and pillows. I had a lovely snowy view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Michelle_Kirsty15 for your review. We endeavour to provide a traditional, cosy retreat for guests after a day exploring the Arctic terrain and we are so pleased to read that you enjoyed the open fire in our Sami lounge and the views both from your hotel room and the restaurant. It is fantastic to read that you found new... More 

Oppdal Norway
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

On the border between Finland and Sweden there is a small place Karesuando. And there in the middle of nowhere is a special hotel, or lodge, called Davvi Arctic Lodge. When we planned travelling by car from Tromsø, via Finland and Sweden, Karesuando was a good place for stopping over. The hotel has British owners and staff from East Europe.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Arne D for your review. Although our hotel is much quieter in the summer months, we still endeavour to ensure exceptional service for our guests and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed our hospitality. More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Travelled as a Transun Aurora Hunter, had a brilliant week in glorious sunshine. All the activities were enjoyable with snowmobiling being my personal favourite. Stayed in a cabin which was great. Really warm, in fact I turned the heating off at night because it was too hot. Food is tasty and varied, remembering where you are. The Northern Lights were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. With our hotel located on the Official Northern Lights Route we are in the perfect, wilderness location to witness the Aurora Borealis and are delighted to read that they put in a performance every... More 

North Devon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

A five day stay in the main building was warm, cosy and entertaining even for our real purpose of seeing the Northern Lights. Food was adequate but the organised activities were well thought out and enjoyable. The extra curricular activities are a bit expensive but well worth doing (dog sledges by night on a frozen lake with the "Lights" an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. As we are located on the Official Northern Lights Route, our hotel reception are more than happy to place any guests on our Aurora Alert SMS system, whereby guests are alerted to any Northern Lights activity via mobile throughout their stay in resort. More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Hotel perfect for adventure,great setting . Clean rooms , warm and comfortable great food friendly helpful staff. Adventures great all the guys are very friendly and helpful , husky musing and snow Mobil trips so good we booked extra trips. Reindeer trip a bit of a let down but tranquil .we saw northern lights 3 nights out of 4

Was this review helpful? Yes
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving a review. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and especially the unique location of our hotel on the official Northern Lights route and were able to see the Northern Lights on a number of occasions during your stay. More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

My family and I visited this hotel over the Christmas break and I feel it is important to feed back our disappointment at the standard of the accommodation provided. I have been waiting to hear back from the agent we booked the hotel through which is why it has taken so long for me to complete this review. We resided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

It is extremely disappointing to read your review. However it is worthy of note that we do advertise our hotel as simply furnished, and decorate our hotel in the typical Scandinavian way. We regularly undergo health and safety and hygiene checks, which includes the kitchen. Any maintenance issues that are reported to our reception are immediately dealt with. We are... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We got assigned to the room in the main building below the restaurant. Firstly, the room is big, but old and dirty. I believe is wine stink on sofa, spider nets can see from the curtain poll. Secondly, the hot water shower only lasting 2 mins, after 2 mins the water just turn cold. when outside is only -11 degree,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with your room at our hotel. All our rooms are clean and well-maintained by our housekeeping and maintenance staff. We ask for any guests to report any issues that they may have with their room to reception, allowing us to then address and fix the problem. We are pleased to read... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

If you are young at heart and enjoy a thrill on your holiday, then Davvi Artic Lodge is for you. Mush your own team of husky's across a frozen Lake, or drive a snowmobile across the snowy fens. Perhaps the Northern lights will be kind to you and a shimmering, celestial light show will weave across the night sky, leaving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Susan D. We are pleased to read that due to the remote, wilderness location of our hotel, you were able to enjoy a number of winter activities and were witness to the spectacular phenomenon, which is the Northern Lights. And that you also enjoyed the traditional Finnish drink Gloggi, a firm favourite of ours... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Just got back from 5 days staying at the Davii Arctic Lodge. We had a great time. The hotel was great, warm, clean and comfortable. The staff were polite, helpful and friendly. We had some great adventures in a fantastic, beautiful place. Can't wait to do it again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Karen W. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back next year! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

428 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (409)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (97)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (231)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karesuvanto
0.0 mi away
Krt Cabins
Krt Cabins
#2 of 18 in Levi
5.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lodge 67 N
Lodge 67 N
#1 of 11 in Akaslompolo
5.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay