We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Karesuvanto hotels

Davvi Arctic Lodge

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kasivarrentie 3771, Karesuvanto SF-99470, Finland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Davvi Arctic Lodge to your Saves list
Davvi Arctic Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
81%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karesuvanto
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
LFou
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    142
    56
    21
    22
See reviews for
169
172
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is wonderful. We celebrated New Year here and then went over the border (20 mins walk) and celebrated again. Wonderful and quiet and then 5 min walk down hill or through beautiful tree cover route to the main road where a couple of local shops. Lovely basic lodges that are lovely and warm and comfortable. The food is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

We are delighted that you chose to celebrate New Year here with us in Karesuando, Lapland. As the village is on the Finnish/Swedish border (with an hours’ time difference between the two) our guests have the opportunity to celebrate twice, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed this. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our buffet style, full... More

uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to the Arctic Lodge in January for our honeymoon. We read plenty of reviews before we went so knew to expect basic food and that we were not going to a luxury hotel. As you can imagine, this place is remote so it takes a couple of hours transfer from the closest airport to the hotel. But as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very pleased that you chose to stay at the Davvi hotel for your honeymoon, during winter it is a very romantic location. We are located on the official Northern Lights route and are very happy to hear that you saw the lights on almost every night during... More

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was by far the worst hotel I have been in Finland. Actually this should not considered a Finnish hotel, because the owner was from UK and personel from Russia and other East-European countries. Rooms were HOT, +31-29C during night. It was also hot outside, but still there was hot water circulating in radiators making situation even worse. WIFI didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

It is disappointing to hear your review. It has been a particularly mild summer for us here in northern Finland, and so on some evenings we have had the heating on low for the comfort of our guests. If we had known that you found the temperature to be too warm we would have endeavoured to resolve this for you.... More

London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Travelled here for a birthday. Food was lovely and the room was surprisingly warm seeing how cold it was outside. We went on a snowmobile, husky ride and on a reindeer sleigh.you can walk across the border to Sweden which is only a ten minute walk away

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us here at the Davvi Arctic Lodge. We are pleased to be able to offer more than just somewhere for our guests to sleep and are happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. More

Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just to tell everyone read Mr Lowell A write up its perfect and discribes this place. Its so obvious that the owner and manager iare not doing there job. The staff dress like they have been out all night at a party and can not be bothered to clean the tables. Everyone is frienly enough but when you are handing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have many guests visit us during the summer months to witness the midnight sun so it is disappointing to read your comments. We are pleased that you found our dedicated hotel team friendly and we must assure you that your comments regarding the restaurant staff have been raised directly with our food and beverage... More

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I bought this holiday experience for my finance, as seeing the Northern Lights was on her bucket list! I had no idea that what I'd booked was going to be quite as good as it was and we did this via Transun. We stayed in one of the lodges at the Davvi which were great - they are made of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you and your fiance had an enjoyable stay and made the most of the many activities on offer in Karesuando. Our semi-detached cabins are a very popular option, particularly as each come with their own sauna - a must when staying in Finland. We hope that you will return... More

Arden Hills
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in July, along with 10 international friends. On arrival there were buckets in the lobby to catch water from leaking roof. Standing water in the basement. For cocktails there was no tonic water for a G&T, one kind of white wine. GM cooked dinner -- pretty good. They had run out of red wine before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologise that on your arrival we had a leak in the roof due to the large amount of snow that had melted. We acted promptly to resolve the issue, however as you were only staying with us for one night you had already departed once the issue was fixed. We are pleased you enjoyed... More

Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

It was somewhat unsettling to arrive in the hotel with all lights switched off in the lobby.The bed was atrociously uncomfortable, the radiator was not working, the shower small and water gets aller over the floor of the bathroom. a troc louait a troc louait location is quiet, one sees nature in front of the large windows of the room.The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is disappointing to read your comments, particularly as I personally spoke with you during your stay to resolve the issue you had upon check-in. We are pleased that you enjoyed the view from your room, although are surprised to hear that you found the bed uncomfortable. Should you chose to stay with us again,... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed at the Davvi Arctic Lodge as part of our Transun package deal to the arctic circle in our hope to see the Northern Lights. After reading many other reviews we were a little concerned about the hotel, but there was really no need! Our room and all of the public areas of he hotel (dining room and lounge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your winter stay with us here in Karesuando, Finland. It is a pleasure to hear that you would recommend our hotel and the activities we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back if you return! More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

A wonderful experience. After reading other's reviews I must say " It takes all sorts." As for the French comments, I can only suggest that they haven't holidayed in France very often. The Davvi Arctic Lodge is what is to be expected. Basic. Transun give you what you have paid for. Any extras are at a price, but you can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SantaSafariManager, General Manager at Davvi Arctic Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at the Davvi Arctic Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Davvi Arctic Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Davvi Arctic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davvi Arctic Lodge

Address: Kasivarrentie 3771, Karesuvanto SF-99470, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Karesuvanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Davvi Arctic Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Davvi Arctic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davvi Arctic Hotel Karesuvanto
Davvi Hotel Karesuvanto
Davvi Arctic Lodge Karesuvanto, Finland - Lapland

379 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (361)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (77)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (222)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)