We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Preston accommodations

Budget 1 Hotel

3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   205 Bell Street, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072 , Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Budget 1 Hotel to your Saves list
Budget 1 Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
45%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
stephaniemjz12 Port Campbell
  • Overview
  • Reviews (22)
  • Photos (12)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
2
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Campbell
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's a very small room but there was only the 2 of us and we were out all day and only in the room for sleep. JD's diner is very handy and the staff were great except one lady was very snobby and gave me the impression she didn't like what she was doing- which isn't what you would want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MgrBellCity, Manager at Budget 1 Hotel, responded to this review

Dear stephaniemjz12 Thanks for your feedback from your recent stay at Budget 1 Hotel. I'm glad to hear you found the rooms comfortable and accommodating. I am surprised to hear of the service your received at JD's and have passed on your concerns to the department manager. In regards to the Alarm activation you experienced, I do apologise. We are... More

Poltava, Ukraine
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Good the ratio quality accommodation, food, quality of service, the convenience of location. Good luck to those who will use this hotel.The tram stop is 200 meters from the hotel. More than 25 programm of TV, WiFi

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MgrBellCity, Manager at Budget 1 Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sergii K, Thanks for the great review, we hope to see you again soon! More

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

As a tourist point of view, coming to Melbourne for the first time. Firstly this place to get a shuttle bus service is terrible especially on a Saturday,limited services, to get a shuttle bus back to the airport don't even bother. You will be told 3 different times of when the bus comes, as not one of the receptionist communicate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MgrBellCity, Manager at Budget 1 Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gabby M Thank you for takiig time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay at Budget 1 Hotel. I am sorry to hear it was not an enjoyable one. We apologise for the confusion with your check in and the layout of the reception desk. Bell City is a multi brand hotel which offers several tiers of... More

Travelers are raving about these Preston hotels

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Spent a couple of nights here during the Grand Prix weekend, as the only accommodation available. Although ‘out of town’ the hotel is close to both the 86 tram and Bell train station, which is the best thing about the place. I travel regularly with work around Australia and New Zealand, so I see more than my share of hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Budget 1 Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Dugstor, Thank you for contacting us regarding your stay, we were disappointed to hear that your experience wasn't the best. We appreciate your feedback regarding the helpful staff, and have passed this on to them. The issues you experienced with cleanliness are very concerning to us, as they are not representative of how our room standard, and our housekeeping... More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

If you are looking for the cheapest 'hotel' you can find in the Melbourne area, then this may be it....however 1. Not the easiest hotel to find and not located within an area of good amenities - but to be fair, it's a ten min walk to Bell station and a large shopping centre is 2 miles away 2. Rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Budget 1 Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Tiredtraveller2014, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at budget1hotel, we appreciate your feedback. We are concerned that you didn’t enjoy a quality sleep while with us, and apologise. Our maintenance team have been notified to check the air conditioning units, and we will also take on your suggestion to find out how to further noise... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 10 days. The hotel is closer to the Bell train station, tram & bus stop and is around 20 minutes from the CBD (Downtown). There is Australia Post right next to the Bell hotel where you can buy a SIM card or even send a mail. The closest shopping mall is the Northland Shopping... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Budget 1 Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Manasa_T, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at budget1hotel, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We apologise for the sound that was carried over between rooms, and will be sharing this feedback with our maintenance team to see how it can be improved in the future. The travellers tips you have... More

Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I needed a cheap place to stay and this fit the bill. I did find it hard to locate the actual hotel because on when I booked it came up on the paperwork as Budget 1 but is actually signposted as Sleep & GO! The corridors reeked of cigarette smoke and it even pervaded my NON-smoking room.The toilet was IN... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Budget 1 Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Cuddlefi5h, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate the feedback. We apologise for the signage confusion, this is an issue we are currently working through, and new and easier to read signage will be coming in the next few months. Thank you for the suggestion about the hairdryer, although it might be harder to... More

Bright, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Only needed a bed for the night very small room but does the job., has foxtel nice view from room clean with coffee and milk supplied, toilet in the shower very strange but not a problem. Only a 300 meter walk to tram stop to the city and plenty of food outlets around. Swimming pool and bar and restaurant at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Budget 1 Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Darren S, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate the feedback. Happy that the room was comfortable and accommodating, and that you had the chance to explore and check out our extensive onsite facilities. We hope to see you back here again soon. Kind Regards, Hotel Management More

Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel was very difficult to find at night. There is no indication in the address that it is part of a larger complex of hotels, and the sign is small, poorly illuminated, and sits alongside another hotel's sign on the same building, all of which make it very difficult to find. I was very frustrated within minutes of arriving,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Budget 1 Hotel, responded to this review

Hi trevar, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at budget1hotel, we are glad the room exceeded your expectations for the price. We understand your confusion with the hotel signage, and are in the process of resigning the complex – our sincerest apologies about poor staff direction while here, we will address this with them. Glad you... More

Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed here one and half years ago and the standards have fallen alot. I found the room to be worn and carpets dirty. Cup and kettle missing and so are clothes hangers. The is cooking smell along the corridor most of the time. But this is still one of the cheapest place for a single room that I know of.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MgrBellCity, Marketing Coordinator at Budget 1 Hotel, responded to this review

Hi wreckit, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are glad that you keep coming back. The restaurant, CHILL, just keeps getting better – with the new menu updates under Executive Chef Tony Baker, we couldn't be happier that you had the chance to try it. The issues you mentioned relating to the upkeep... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Budget 1 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Budget 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget 1 Hotel

Address: 205 Bell Street, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072 , Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budget 1 Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Budget 1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget 1 Hotel Preston, Greater Melbourne

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
121

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer