We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Ossett hotels

Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queens Drive, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9BE, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
65%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ossett
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
chezwylde Derby, United Kingdom
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    82
    51
    20
    15
See reviews for
29
50
14
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Freetown, Western Area, Sierra Leone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I checked in to this hotel, 27th March 2014 for 4 nights. The checkin was great except I was given a room that was already occupied, the man who I awoke from his sleep wasn't too pleased. The rooms are fine but any noise from the corridor is an issue. When I stayed, there was a girls football squad in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SarahB190729, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear Peter D Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the service you experienced on your arrival at the hotel. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are concerned when situations such as these occur. We will be in contact to... More

Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is what you expect in a Holiday Inn. Pretty standard. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly. Food in the restaurant was rather overpriced and there wasn't much choice unfortunately Location wise - ideal for M1. Plenty of parking In all, not a bad choice, excellent value for money on a room only basis

Was this review helpful? Yes
SarahB190729, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear chezwylde Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us, and for your kind words regarding our hotel and members of staff. We value our customer feedback as this enables us to further improve the quality and service we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests... More

west yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had our wedding reception at this hotel in June last year. It was excellent from start to finish. The room was lovely and the tables were decorated beautifully. We had a sit down meal in the afternoon and a buffet in the evening and the food was delicious. The staff were superb, attentive and helpful. Thanks to Emma who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SarahB190729, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear rhin0fan Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback, following your recent wedding at our hotel. I have passed on your compliments to Emma, the chef & our events team. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future. Kind Regards... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This Holiday Inn was a average stay for its age. The building was dated but the service was good. The breakfast was a good selection and it was very clean and tidy... The bed was very comfortable and there were pillows of different softness...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear Mbragg1960, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your overall stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your... More

Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

As a regular visitor at this hotel - on average one or two nights a week - I can say that I find it refreshingly different from most of the big brand hotels of this type. The staff are very welcoming, the food is much better than one normally finds in this brand and altogether the experience (bearing in mind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SarahB190729, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear Jon P Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel We take great pride in our friendly staff & the quality of the food we produce As a regular guest to Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield we look forward to welcoming you back Sincerely Sarah Bestwick General Manager More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed here for one night while working locally, the staff were great, rooms typical holiday inn, clean and simple. The evening menu was ok, fairly basic but good food and generous portions. The bar was open until late and quiet but a nice place to relax and chat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SarahB190729, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear Mitch D Thank you for providing us with your review. Our aim is to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodation to all our guests. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near... More

Epsom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here to break up our journey back to London after visiting Beamish. It was very convienient to the Motorway. The room was very pleasant with every amenity we needed. We ate it the restaunrant which was very good. The breakfast in the morning was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SarahB190729, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear Judith G Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback, following your recent stay at the hotel. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future. Kind Regards Sarah Bestwick General Manager More

Hull East Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed over here with quite a few friends on a training course. This was for a three day period. Out of the 12 of us, on average, at least 3 meals per night was sent back as either burnt or cold. The staff were really helpful and immediately acted and got a replacement meal. I stayed again the following... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear AndreaNik, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the food selections prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the... More

Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hotel is conveniently placed near junction 40 of the M1. The rooms were very comfortable, staff friendly and amenable and the breakfast was lovely. Would definitely recommend a stay here. The only better hotel in this area is the Premiere Inn at Paragon Park off junction 41.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SarahB190729, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear MattM Thank you for your recent review and delighted to read you had a great stay. I hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Leeds Wakefield again. Kind Regards Sarah Bestwick General Manager More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

A very average Holiday Inn. Site is functional, conveniently located next to the M1. Noise was not an issue but difficult to leave the site in the morning as this involved a right turn across 4 lanes of heavy traffic The letters in rooms urging you to report problems and a commitment to fix immediately suggest they are being proactive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SarahB190729, General Manager at Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, responded to this review

Dear Qdex2 Thank you for your feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us.I was sorry to hear about the problems you experienced during your stay with our hot water system. Unfortunately during the week of your stay we had some issues with our boilers... More

Been to Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Wakefield m1, Jct. 40 Hotel
Holiday Inn Wakefield m1, Jct. 40 Hotel Wakefield
Holiday Inn Wakefield
Wakefield Holiday Inn
Address: Queens Drive, Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Ossett
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ossett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 enjoys an excellent location 9 miles south of Leeds City Centre. It is situated off Junction 40, M1 and only 2 Junctions away from M62 Motorway. It is a fantastic base for visiting locations such as Leeds, Sheffield, Bradford or York. The hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 104 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet Access in all the bedrooms and public areas, and also conference and banqueting facilities for up to 160 people. Our Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. Holiday Inn Leeds-Wakefield has a range of purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances . The hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the National Coal Mining Museum in Wakefield, Xscape Snow Centre in Castleford, the Royal Armouries in Leeds, National Museum of Photography, Film & Television in Bradford, the Yorkshire Sculpture Park or even the Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, the hotel is just 15 minutes drive from the city of Leeds. *Terms and Conditions Apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.