We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Headland Tropicana Resort

274 Alexandra Parade, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Headland Tropicana Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Headland Tropicana Resort
Share an Experience

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Jerrabomberra, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights in a second floor apartment. Location is great and handy to both Maloolaba and Maroochydore (walk to both). Unfortunately we stayed in the middle of a March heatwave and the apartment was like a sauna. There was aircon but only in the main bedroom so lucky for us we were able to sleep at night.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I decided to take a last second break for the weekend. We booked online and headed straight up to the Sunshine Coast. Make sure if you book online that you confirm with the hotel when you will be arriving as their reception hours are 2-5pm so best to alert them. We had missed this information so when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lismore, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

This is probably the 12th time I've stayed here, 2nd time with my partner and 1st time with our daughter and we will be back same time next yr (January). my parents brought our family here for years and it's as fun now as it was then as a kid Sitting pretty on top of the hill in between Mooloolaba... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

The place was nice, comfortable couch,bed was good but it was a double stated online that it would be a queen or king, fan in lounge was so noisy. There was air conditioning in bedroom which is great but none in the lounge room which was very uncomfortable I couldn't come back until this was put in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
dandmOz, Owner at Headland Tropicana Resort, responded to this review

Hello bulkbody, sorry but all of our 1, 2 & 3 Bedroom Apartments have either an air-conditioner in the main bedroom or the living room, as this is the requirement to meet our 3.5 star rating, which our nightly rate reflects. If you did wish to pay a little more to guarantee 2 air-conditioners in an apartment we do have... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

My family and I have been here for 5 nights and still have 2 nights left before flying home. We are in a 2 bedroom apartment with a large bathroom/laundry with an ensuite and fully equipped kitchen. This is perfect for a family as being able to prepare meals on holidays really cuts down on the expense of eating out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

stayed 13 nights in apt 29 and was left with no air con during the hottest november on record. Top temp was 42c !!!!! raised with manager but just told 'waiting for parts'. For two weeks???? other than that, good location, clean and far enough back from the road to avoid traffic noise

Was this review helpful? Yes
dandmOz, Owner at Headland Tropicana Resort, responded to this review

John, we are sorry you didn’t choose to take up the offer of 2 free nights as compensation for not having air-conditioning during your stay. Upon your arrival we informed you that you had 2 options, one was to go into a standard second level apartment, with an air-conditioner in working order. The second option was to go into a... More 

Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our third visit to the resort. Our stay was excellent as usual. Our party hired three apartments (1,2+3 beds). All rooms were spacious, clean and well equipped. The outdoor pool was great for the kids with plenty of seating and shaded areas. The indoor pool was located right next to the spa which was great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Starting with positives. Lovely pools, games room and garden area. Car parking very secure. Kitchen and laundry well equipped. Nice view of sea from our balcony. Reasonable price for 3 bedroom apartment but would pay more in future to get some sleep. Negatives. A little dated but it's the noise that was the problem. Barking dog from neighbour across from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dandmOz, Owner at Headland Tropicana Resort, responded to this review

You did happen to stay when we had a large group of young men staying, so I can understand your disappointment regarding the noise. Sometimes this is unavoidable, particularly when they do not book direct with us, and come through third party booking sites. We have our after hours number on the office door, as well as directions to call... More 

Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

This is our second stay at Headland Tropicana having also stayed back in April. As per last review the location is fantastic within easy walk to all Mooloolaba cafés, Coles supermarket, and the other direction you have Alex Beach and surf club and more restaurants and cafes. We stayed in a top floor one bedroom unit which was fully renovated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The location is good, and quiet, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our unit showed its age in some areas, though other areas (e.g., bathrooms) seemed new. The kitchen could have been better equipped, especially the stove/oven. Our unit did not get any sun in the living areas which made it dark and cold during the winter. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question