We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Headland Tropicana Resort

Certificate of Excellence
274 Alexandra Parade, Alexandra Headland, Queensland 4572, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Headland Tropicana Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Headland Tropicana Resort
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This property was the perfect place for us. We love the ocean, and it was across the street from the property. Our unit had a view of the ocean off the kitchen, living room and balcony. We are active seniors from San Diego, USA, so it felt like home, and we needed a home away from home. The unit was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed here twice before and reviewed it twice and without a doubt we just love it here. The location is perfect, the view from the top floor units is stunning and we noticed a couple of older palm trees had been removed so this made the view even better from the unit we stayed in. The pool is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gladstone, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

I spent my 60th in May 2014 at Headland Tropicana small group of family & friends who all booked rooms for the weekend... the managers were so helpful and friendly and couldnt do enough to make our stay awesome... Seafood at the Mooloolaba spit for lunch then back to Tropicana for a swim in the indoor pool... drinks around the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerrabomberra, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

We stayed for 3 nights in a second floor apartment. Location is great and handy to both Maloolaba and Maroochydore (walk to both). Unfortunately we stayed in the middle of a March heatwave and the apartment was like a sauna. There was aircon but only in the main bedroom so lucky for us we were able to sleep at night.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 via mobile

My partner and I decided to take a last second break for the weekend. We booked online and headed straight up to the Sunshine Coast. Make sure if you book online that you confirm with the hotel when you will be arriving as their reception hours are 2-5pm so best to alert them. We had missed this information so when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lismore, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

This is probably the 12th time I've stayed here, 2nd time with my partner and 1st time with our daughter and we will be back same time next yr (January). my parents brought our family here for years and it's as fun now as it was then as a kid Sitting pretty on top of the hill in between Mooloolaba... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

The place was nice, comfortable couch,bed was good but it was a double stated online that it would be a queen or king, fan in lounge was so noisy. There was air conditioning in bedroom which is great but none in the lounge room which was very uncomfortable I couldn't come back until this was put in.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dandmOz, Owner at Headland Tropicana Resort, responded to this review

Hello bulkbody, sorry but all of our 1, 2 & 3 Bedroom Apartments have either an air-conditioner in the main bedroom or the living room, as this is the requirement to meet our 3.5 star rating, which our nightly rate reflects. If you did wish to pay a little more to guarantee 2 air-conditioners in an apartment we do have... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

My family and I have been here for 5 nights and still have 2 nights left before flying home. We are in a 2 bedroom apartment with a large bathroom/laundry with an ensuite and fully equipped kitchen. This is perfect for a family as being able to prepare meals on holidays really cuts down on the expense of eating out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

stayed 13 nights in apt 29 and was left with no air con during the hottest november on record. Top temp was 42c !!!!! raised with manager but just told 'waiting for parts'. For two weeks???? other than that, good location, clean and far enough back from the road to avoid traffic noise

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dandmOz, Owner at Headland Tropicana Resort, responded to this review

John, we are sorry you didn’t choose to take up the offer of 2 free nights as compensation for not having air-conditioning during your stay. Upon your arrival we informed you that you had 2 options, one was to go into a standard second level apartment, with an air-conditioner in working order. The second option was to go into a... More 

Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our third visit to the resort. Our stay was excellent as usual. Our party hired three apartments (1,2+3 beds). All rooms were spacious, clean and well equipped. The outdoor pool was great for the kids with plenty of seating and shaded areas. The indoor pool was located right next to the spa which was great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay