We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Hope B&Bs / inns

The Poachers Arms

Save
You added The Poachers Arms to your Saves list
95 Castleton Rd, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6SB, England
Hotel amenities
The Poachers Arms
Ranked #6 of 8 Hope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    23
    3
    3
    8
See reviews for
19
60
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (105)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

I stayed here with my three brothers as the final stop in completing the 3 days 'White to Dark Way' walk. The welcome could not have been more friendly and nothing was too much trouble for Claire, the new landlady. All 4 rooms were very nice, clean and comfy with a great big hearty breakfast in the morning. We also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We used to regularly go to the Poachers, as can be seen from previous reviews, Sadly in an almost empty pub (there were 9 customers in the whole pub), we waited 50 minutes for our meal and despite very clear egg allergy instructions when the meals arrived (staggered over 5 minutes for a party of 3) my wife's meal arrived... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived at the Poachers Arms looking forward to a lovely gluten free Sunday lunch. The last time we are there the food was amazing and the gluten free Yorkshire puddings to die for! Unaware of the change of owners we waited half an hour for lunch in a not very busy pub. I was so disappointed on the arrival of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northants
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Up to the area with elderly in-laws looking for an overnight stay.Initially called in for a Lunch on day one and due to this being so nice and good value,and with Clair having such a good personality,decided to do our trip into the dales and return for an overnight stay.It was expensive at £90 per room but based on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clare D, Owner at The Poachers Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay here at The Poachers. All of our bedrooms are classed as doubles, however, you are correct in that room 1 is indeed a king. With regards to pricing - we are in keeping with our competitors and offer a clean, comfortable room with a... More

Derbyshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Just had weekend here with my wife and 2 relatives.Having read TripAdvisor decided to book it, then discoverdd that about the time of booking the place had changed hands.Some poor reviews started to appear, but we went ahead.Strange we had no booking confirmation and no deposit was req'd.The place is nice and clean, the rooms are very neat and pretty.We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clare D, Owner at The Poachers Arms, responded to this review

Here at The Poachers we believe in offering a personal touch and in doing so, don't feel the need to go down the route of offering a self service breakfast. With regards to your dining experience on your first night - I was under the impression that everything was satisfactory as this is what I was told by your party.... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Stayed here for 4 days for a long birthday weekend. Had a great time ! Room Was done in a shabby chic style and was nice and comfy. Fire alarm went off the first night due to faulty sensor,but Clare (owner) really was apologetic and it was just one of those things. Food Ate in every night, as was nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clare D, Owner at The Poachers Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you guys stay and it was the least we could do to feed you on your return after such a long day. Martin and I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. More

Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Having been to the Poachers in the past, we thought we would return for a meal on our recent visit to the Hope Valley. I must admit that we were very disappointed! The pub had new owners and despite the prices being the same, which is probably the most expensive in the village, the food was very poor and very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clare D, Owner at The Poachers Arms, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that your recent visit to The Poachers Arms didn't meet up to your expectations. We have just hired a new chef and I find it very concerning that you feel your meal lacked imagination, as this is something that we work hard to achieve. Had you mentioned your disappointment at the time of your visit, I'm... More

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

My friends and I stayed 2 nights at The Poachers Arms in Hope as we were taking part in the 27 mile Trekfest on September 6th. We managed to find it at the last minute and booked 3 rooms. Firstly, the welcome we received from Claire and her husband was great, the food was great and the service was fantastic.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I had feta and cranberry starter and mushroom and asparagus lasagne. When the starter came, there wasn't any cranberry there but a few dollops of apple sauce. The lasagne contained what might have once resembled vegetables but the tired soggy grey items which I witnessed were a poor impression of a vegetable. There was mountains of a thick cheese type... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clare D, Owner at The Poachers Arms, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your experience was not an enjoyable one however, as I always do, I did return to your table on 2 occasions and none of these issues were raised at the time! Had they been, I am more than confident that we would have been able to rectify these for you. More

Grimsby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We left it a little late to book a weekend away for August bank holiday but were really surprised to find we could get in at the Poachers Arms at Hope. We arrived to a friendly and helpful couple who having just taken over the pub seemed to want to do everything they could for you, we were shown to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Poachers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poachers Arms

Address: 95 Castleton Rd, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Poachers Arms Hotel Hope
The Poachers Arms Hope, Peak District National Park

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay