We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harefield Hall

Certificate of Excellence
Ripon Road | Look Out for Sign on Main Road As Harefield Hall Is Not Visible From the Road, Pateley Bridge HG3 5QE, England
Harefield Hall
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    165
    55
    8
    12
    5
See reviews for
34
117
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (245)
  • Mar-May only
    (97)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Consett, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have visited Harefield many times over the last few years and it is honestly one of my favourite places to visit anywhere, The room we stayed in recently was lovely with a fantastic view. The staff are really friendly and Mike and Elaine do a great job of making everyone feel welcome. There is a lovely beer garden at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Although a local (ish) I stayed over for the Music and Beer Festival Harefest 2015. Room was clean and well organised with a superb view. Food and beer excellent with great service from both owners and staff. A real hidden gem of the Yorkshire Dales.

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Staff were really friendly and attentive. It is a great stop for cyclists (hot showers and big breakfasts are a winning combination!). Nice views, quiet spot, and comfy beds too. Thank you very much for such a pleasant stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We were locked out on arrival with a note on the front door stating booking in time was 3pm. Upon checking in told bar wasn't open till 5pm. Evening meal was disappointing as most of the meals carried a surcharge. The room itself was tired as is the whole hotel. No receptionist upon check out just leave your keys and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael D, Owner at Harefield Hall, responded to this review

This review is incredably unfair and has been reported to Trip Advisor. The facts of the matter are as follows. Check in is advertised as being from 3pm. You were not locked out, this is simply not true! The Hall opens to the public at 5pm again as advertised. Residents are simply requested to ring the bell for entry, which... More 

Bingley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Our Son and his now wife held their wedding ceremony & celebrations on the 24th May 2014 at Harefield Hall. What a fantastic weekend. It is an intimate venue in a lovely setting . The happy couple devised their own menu & Harefield Hall were happy to provide whatever they chose. The staff were extremely friendly & welcoming & nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael D, Owner at Harefield Hall, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write this review, it is in stark contrast with foolish review above yours titled "a bit disappointed" which only goes to reinforce my response to it!! We are all really glad that you enjoyed the day, we certainly enjoyed looking after you. A lot of effort goes into making sure everthing goes well and... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Would like to mention 3 staff members Matt Mitch and chief Colin all very friendly knowledgeable about the area ,Colin is a fantastic Chief and made me a special meal. Room was very clean and comfortable and would recommend without hesitation Carole and Stephen Wilden

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael D, Owner at Harefield Hall, responded to this review

Thanks Carol we really appreciate your comments, we are all very dedicated here and it is truly moving when people appreciate our efforts. Matt, Mitch and Colin were thrilled when they read your review as was I. Thanks again Best Wishes from us all at Harefield Hall More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

We were a group of 15 cyclists who had just ridden 64 miles from Morecombe and were very wet & cold. The staff were very helpful rooms were good and food was very good. Great overnight stay with good bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael D, Owner at Harefield Hall, responded to this review

Thanks Paul, we accommodate a lot of cyclists who seam to enjoy getting warm, fed and watered at Harefield, having come off the descent from Greenhow in the rain. I'm pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again Kind regards Mike More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
161 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015 via mobile

Visited on a Saturday night with my friend( hubby couldn't make it) in you are approaching the hotel " downhill" via Glasshouse you Have a very sharpe left hand turn into the entrance- approaching from the other way would be easier. We followed the narrow road and were soon at the hotel- there is ample parking. The entrance door for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Michael D, Manager at Harefield Hall, responded to this review

Thank you Lou Lou I'm pleased you liked Harefield Hall and all it has to offer. We hope to see you again soon Best wishes Mike More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

Attended for my son and new wifes UK wedding reception. stayed overnight. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Staff on arrival very helpful polite and friendly. The function room was decked out beautifully and all added to the occasion. The buffet meal was very good with plenty of choice and all very tasty, chef was a bit mean not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael D, Owner at Harefield Hall, responded to this review

Thanks Gordon, glad you enjoyed the squeeky floorboards! Kind regards Mike More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Stayed here April 15-19. Harefield Hall is a real hidden gem, a quirky hotel with stunning views from our room overlooking the valley. No good for anyone wanting the bland same-old same-old rooms in the chain hotels - this has character by the bucketload. The decor is particularly quirky, but we loved it, especially the cork horse's head in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michael D, Owner at Harefield Hall, responded to this review

Its always lovely to hear from someone who appreciates the difference between corporate and family run businesses and can adjust their attitude and expectations accordingly!! You clearly embraced the spirit of Harefield Hall and the family who run it so thank you very much, we'd love to have you back. All the very best Mike More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities