We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kwantu Private Game Reserve

Certificate of Excellence
1 Daniel Street, Sidbury 6000, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kwantu Private Game Reserve
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kwantu Private Game Reserve
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    9
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
37
22
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (91)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Frankly, I was insulted that this lodge was passed off as 5 star. Missing toilets seats and cheap plastic rubbish bins in the main toilet were the first clue. Grass that had clearly been uncut for 3 weeks, badly maintained buildings and cheap fittings masquerading as classy were the next. Our room was nice but we had no sense of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just a few words to say thank you for our wonderful experience at Kwantu. I made the reservation in January for the Easter weekend. As you can see, we were really keen after hearing rave reviews from our family. My wife was counting down the days from January !!! Well we were not disappointed !! Faith and Tendai welcomed us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Kwantu for 4 days and had a fabulous time. The team had worked out a brilliant itinerary which was open to the degree of flexibility we required. The game drives were awesome with knowledgeable guides who really take their time to explain the behavior of each animal. The night drive is a must do optional extra. We managed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for the weekend 14 to 16 March 2015. What a wonderful experience. The food, the rooms, game drive and tour of the animal breeding programme were all excellent. But by far nothing compared to the fantastic service of the hotel staff. Absolutely pleasant , helpful and welcoming staff who went out of their way to make our stay so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

One day is just not enough...It is not often that one receives such wonderful service in the hospitality industry now adays. Our day trip to Kwantu was a great experience for the whole family. From the welcome breakfast to the very informative game drive, we were lucky to see 3 of the big 5 surrounded by acers of beautiful greenery... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Williams Family Thank you for your positive review posted on TripAdvisor. We are glad that yourself and family had a most enjoyable time, and we hope to have you back again in the near future. Regards The Kwantu Family More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Kwantu Game Reserve in December 2014.This was our second visit and I can honestly say that from the moment of check in until one leaves , one is treated with service fit for royalty. We were offered lovely snacks and coffee/ juice, soft drinks on arrival. Rooms are spacious and very well furnished. Food is of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Persiantravellor Many thanks for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your positive feedback, and are appreciative of your compliments on our level of service and quality, as we believe that this is one of the main factors which creates a memorable experience for guests. We look forward to having you back again in... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We stayed there on 15th and 16th Feb 15.We got the lions view room but no view from our rooms.no intercom for emergency and indian food was horrible. They use to serve same dishes everyday.breads were horrible.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Rikesh Many thanks for your feedback shared with us. We sincerely apologise if your stay did not meet your expectation, but would like to remind you that you were part of a group where the entire tour, including the room types and menu for the meals were specified by your agent, due to the dietary preferences of the group.... More 

Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Rated 5 star, world luxury hotel Awards winner 20131 Give me a break, what happened since that time! For the first time I write a rather extensive review to explain my two stars. First the positive sides of this Game lodge/reserve: Extremely helpful and friendly staff etc. Appetizers when I arrived. My car was washed before I left, nice! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BushloverSouthAfrica, General Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Xonoo Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your positive comments as well as areas of improvement. I have looked into the areas of improvement which you have listed and would like to give you feedback as follows: 1. Food - Unfortunately, as you had not informed us of your vegetarian dietary preference, the menu... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

My husband and I visited the game reserve from 14th jan to 18th January and each and everdya was made special. From welcome drinks to morning goodbye coffee.. We stayed at the lodge as we were on our honeymoon and Abdullah made our stay easy and we enjoyed having him around. Each and every game drive with innocense (we nicknamed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Fatima Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your visit and recommendation. Regards The Kwantu Family More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

I was at Kwant on the 2nd to 5th January of 2015. I initially booked for 1 night but after entering the deeply secluded, tranquil stunning estate of Kwantu I immediately requested to extend my stay. Upon arrival I was astounded by the beauty, tranquility and rugged 5 star luxury feel I got from Kwantu. The staff were all amazing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Riyadh We would like to thank you for your very detailed experienced shared with us. We are pleased that you had a good time at the reserve and hope to have you back again in the near future. Kind regards The Kwantu Family More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question