We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kwantu Private Game Reserve

Certificate of Excellence
1 Daniel Street, Sidbury 6000, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Kwantu Private Game Reserve
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    76
    13
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
41
23
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (105)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
udhailiyah
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed at Pollards Inn at Kwantu and we had a wonderful time being at the game reserve and enjoying a peaceful few days with our large family group. I'd love to come back someday soon, but hope that the management pays attention to the following: The rooms are in need of some attention; the walls were damp in our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I stayed at Kwantu Game Reserve as part of the Thomas Cook Travel Package. Given that we were part of an overall Tour package including accomodation and sightseeing, we had no say in the choice of Hotels and type of Room. We were made to stay away from the main Lodge which meant walking for a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went to this hotel with my family for 3 days, it was a really amazing experience. The stuff were very kind and nice and very very helpful, we felt like we were at home. Taste food and fun activities, I recommend it to everyone to go there. Wish all the best for everyone there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Reem Many thanks for your positive review of Kwantu. We hope to have yourself and family back again in the near future. Kind regards The Kwantu Family More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I went to kwantu on a romantic getaway, spending out hard earned savings as the price charged is extremely expensive. We figured it's worth the money, the cuisine looks incredible, the lodge looks amazing, a grass roof lodge with amazing views etc. What a disappointing experience we had. When booking we weren't given any options for different... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear dbruin Thank you for sharing your experience with us. During your visit, we noted your issue with alcohol, and it is unfortunate that you booked with us knowing that we are an alcohol free reserve. Based on this, it seems that you are looking for other reasons to justify why we should not be frequented, when you in fact... More 

Durban
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

First time we're staying here after hearing rave reviews. From the time we arrived Renzo the manager greeted us at the front desk, was friendly accommodating and exceptionally helpful. The food was absolutely out of this world. Haniff, the chef needs to be complimented. Renzo even arranged an early lunch for us on the Friday, so as we can leave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Mo Many thanks for sharing your positive review with us. We appreciate the compliments and hope to have you back again in the near future. Kind regards The Kwantu Family More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

I spent 2 weeks volunteering behind the scenes and then had one night in the lodges in the game reserve and one in the main hotel. I have travelled extensively through Africa from luxury to less than basic, this place simply has the most friendly and kind staff I have met. The facilities are excellent especially the lodges and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Neil Many thanks for the positive review of both our volunteering program and 5 star accommodation. We appreciate this. Kind regards The Kwantu Family More 

New Delhi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Great place to be in to enjoy the nature and its creations. The property offers lots of wild animals to be seen and the Jungle Safari is simply amazing. We stayed for two days and thrice were taken for the safaris. It was pleasure seeing wild animals and the Big four in an open jeep. Were witness to wild elephants,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Sir Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We have noted your comments and will make the necessary changes. Kind regards The Kwantu Family More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Booked my honeymoon package to South Africa along with Kwantu game reserve. Initially was a bit worried that it would not be as big as other national reserves are as it is private,but to my surprise its very big game reserve where got a chance to see all d BIG 5 animals.The hotel itself is quite relaxing with various activities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BushloverSouthAfrica, Front Office Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Sir Many thanks for choosing Kwantu as one of the destinations for your honeymoon. We are honoured to be part of your fondest memories and look forward to having you back again in the near future. Kind regards Front office Leader Kwantu Private Game Reserve More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Hello everyone, Especially to fellow muslim people, this is definitely the place to take your family or even a getaway with your girlfriends or sneak getaway with husband. From the start to the beginning my friends and I received royal treatment and to me personally this was such a balming experience after an emotionally challenging year but it was just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BushloverSouthAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Monowarah Thank you for sharing positive feedback during your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Regards The Kwantu Family More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Many thanks for a wonderful adventure of a lifetime. The grounds were amazing, the staff top notch and the experience was unforgettable. The bed was comfortable and the view can not be matched. The animals we were able to see with the guides/rangers as we went around hit every single thing I wanted to see while in South Africa. Kudos!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Julvin Many thanks for taking the time to post your positive experience of Kwantu on TripAdvisor. This is much appreciated. We look forward to having you back again in the near future. Regards The Kwantu Family More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (121)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidbury
7.2 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 5 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
8.6 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#2 of 3 in Shamwari Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 791 reviews
23.9 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#1 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 6 in Amakhala Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
1.5 mi away
Idwala Game Lodge
Idwala Game Lodge
#2 of 2 in Sidbury
5.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
10.9 mi away
African Pride Pumba Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay