We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Burnham-on-Crouch B&Bs / inns

The Oyster Smack Inn

4.0 of 5 Inn   |   112 Station Road, Burnham-on-Crouch, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (102)
  • Photos (45)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
The Oyster Smack Inn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burnham-on-Crouch
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    30
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
15
54
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here 3 nights - wish we could have stayed more. The Spanish girl who made breakfast was fantastic, attentive and friendly. Facilities, food, drinks, accommodation were all class. Only complaints was tight off street parking and no air conditioning - but these are minor issues.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Called in early & unbooked on a Monday lunch time & received a friendly welcome to a clean & well laid out restaurant Being Monday iIt was quiet but filled up a little as as time progressed and we experienced a recently introduced "new" menu with a good choice of food in all categories. The service was friendly and helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. We do have sound absorbing panels in the main restaurant that helps with the noise and we look forward to welcoming you for an evening service. More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Have been regular customers and have had some good meals and service in the past. Went for a meal for my mother's birthday, prawn cocktail starters both went back as essentially limp iceberg lettuce in Marie Rose sauce with two prawns, yes just two! Main course went for the hallo uni salad, the halloumi was burnt, had to send back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review

A prawn cocktail with only two prawns would definitely be a right to complain and I am at a loss to how that happened. We did have Chargrilled Halloumi on the special board which when charred will look burn't, but i didn't see it or was informed about a burn't halloumi. Waiting a long time for food especially when hungry... More

Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were arranging a reunion with six friends. We visited the Oyster Smack in September 2013 the hotel was superb in every way so we booked it for the reunion which was to take place in May 2014. In just eight months the standard had dropped dramatically. The evening meal was a complete farce. Although the young waiter was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review

I wish you had rang me to tell me the vouchers I sent you did not arrive. I will resend you some more on Monday. As discussed on the phone, the evening meal experience was down to the waiter who had forgotten to change the special boards for the evening. He is a really nice lad but unfortunately he made... More

Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I had heard of the oyster smack as once being a highly recommended place to eat in Burnham, but I haven't been there for years so I booked a family meal for my mothers birthday. We enjoyed ourselves to begin with but found that the night seemed to fizzle out a little as the guy who had been serving us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that your experience at the Oyster Smack was not up to our usual standard. I checked on the video cameras to see how the waiters let you down that night, and you waited 12.5 minutes for a dessert menu. But that is not good enough and I can see that the waiter was talking a lot to... More

Southport Merseyside
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My wife and I, along with our friends, stayed for 3 nights and sadly were less than impressed with this B&B. First impressions were not good as there were weeds growing up between the walls of the buildings and the paths and the plant containers were also full of weeds; the place looked as though it was in need of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review

The weeds had grown a bit and caught us out, but they had been treated and can the pesky things are now dead No one had been informed that your towel rail was not working, which is a shame because we could of moved you or got some one to fix it. The restaurant experience was down to the waiter... More

Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times on business. The highlight of the stay is the evening meal as the food is excellent. I had a room out at the rear which had a lot of sound coming through from the adjoining rooms. An American gentleman was Skyping his family who were obviously a few hours behind and he... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear about your troubles with the customer next door to you. On your next booking please comment that you would like a different room and we will allocate you accordingly. We have ten bedrooms and breakfast is between 8 and 10 seven days a week. I can not warrant bringing staff at 7am in case of... More

Shenfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were really impressed with the O.S.I. when we stayed there this last Easter weekend. The staff were attentive, James was very good at making sure we were happy for example, and the room was clean and well set out. The bed was very comfortable too. The food was wonderful. The shrimp and sea bass linguine was absolutely superb and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Oyster Smack. It is always a perk of this job to meet couples like yourself and your partner, and to read your review spurs me and the team on to keep our passion for the job. More

Shenfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at the OSI over this last Easter weekend and really enjoyed it. The staff, particularly James and Lloyd, were attentive and got things done for us. The food was superb with the shrimp and sea bass linguine standing out as an absolute highlight. Really enjoyed our stay and we will be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for you reviews, I have patted Lloyd on the back and showed him his mention on Trip advisor. We hope we can accommodate you again More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We didn't stay in the hotel - we wanted to, but it was full. We ate dinner here, and enjoyed our meal. The decor was comfortable, modern and relaxed, and was MUCH nicer inside than it looks from the outside. The service was very good, and the staff were ready to be helpful and accommodating. The food was good and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
james h, General Manager at The Oyster Smack Inn, responded to this review

I have shown the staff your review and we would like to say thank you for writing kind words on trip advisor. We look forward for your return. P.s I agree with you about the front of the restaurant (It used to be a pub) More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Oyster Smack Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Oyster Smack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Smack Inn

Address: 112 Station Road, Burnham-on-Crouch, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Burnham-on-Crouch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oyster Smack Inn 4*
Also Known As:
The Oyster Smack Hotel Burnham-On-Crouch
The Oyster Smack Inn Burnham-On-Crouch, Essex

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oyster Smack Inn is a charming local restaurant with rooms, built in the 1800’s. The building is full of character and sets the scene for an outstanding and extremely popular local inn. Owned and run by chef patron Trevor Howell and his wife Claire, the pub has become the first port of call for those seeking excellent food in friendly, relaxed and stylish surroundings. The newly decorated dining room and bar are both classic and timeless, the coastal shades of the decor providing a serene backdrop to the dining experience. Wooden floors and hand-made furniture all work to create a feeling of quiet elegance. The coastal location means that The Oyster Smack Inn can take full advantage of the freshest of seafood and our menu utilises this to full effect. The team in the kitchen are passionate about using the finest produce from local suppliers. Changing seasonally, our dinner menu offers the best of modern British food whilst your favourite classic pub dishes can be found on our lunch menu. Whether you are looking dine out with family and friends or to entertain clients, at The Oyster Smack Inn you can celebrate a very special occasion or simply pop in for a light snack - our kitchens are happy to oblige, whatever your needs. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added The Oyster Smack Inn to your Saves list