We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wivenhoe House

4.0 of 5 Wivenhoe Park, Wivenhoe, Colchester CO4 3SQ, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wivenhoe House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wivenhoe House
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    62
    13
    11
    5
See reviews for
40
125
6
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (299)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

I booked the Milsoms room for my partners birthday and could not fault this hotel at all. The students were absolutely brilliant, perfect service- they even moved our table so we could have champagne in the sun, the room was stunning and breakfast was lovely. Location is slightly odd but you know that when you book it! Deff worth a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oegstgeest
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here recently for a work-related activity. The hotel is actually part of a hotel school. The facilities are very good: excellent bed, good computer and nice room. I would certainly recommend the hotel for business travellers. The only critique I have concerns the shower, which proved rather unpredictable in the morning, with a change of warm and cold(er)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and myself stayed at Wivenhoe House on Valentines night and we also went to the Valentines ball.The staff were very friendly and accommodating,the rooms were very comfortable and modern,and the service was generally good.The valentines ball was very good,with live entertainment along with good food,drink and excellent service.The only improvements i would recommend would be to have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the exclusive suit. Which is a very nicely appointed room. Although one of the TVs didn't work which was a shame and it was an important aspect for us. They took some off the bill but it was still disappointing. We had 2 very good meals in the restaurant and would highly recommend that. The breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel/restaurant is beautiful but the service I have had is very mixed. I have been to the Hotel for lunch a number of times with mixed results. I have never left a review before. The first time I had a sandwich (more about that later). I wasn't impressed so the next time opted for the burger which was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Oliver B, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, although I am disappointed to read it, and completely understand why you would feel frustrated. From your comments there is very clearly some work we need to do on our lunch menu, and also on the choice, presentation and quality of sandwiches we offer. You will be pleased to here that the beef burger is... More 

norfolk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel for two nights on a winter deal which included dinner, bed & breakfast, afternoon tea and a bottle of fizz in the room on arrival. The deal included a suite which in fact was a very large room with a seating area and a beautiful bathroom with bath and separate shower. The room was lovely but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not sure if I went to the same hotel as everyone else on here but maybe it was just a bad day. We were shown to our table in the beautiful brasserie restaurant. It has a wonderful view and the staff are very attentive. I understand this is a training hotel and I am more than happy to be patient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Oliver B, General Manager at Wivenhoe House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, although I am sorry that you did not have such a good experience as others. Although we are home to the Edge Hotel School, and do indeed have Undergraduates working alongside a professional team, we have clearly not lived up to expectations on this occasion, for which I apologise.... More 

colchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Three of us went for afternoon tea for my mums 88th Birthday. The table was decorated and she was given Birthday wishes on a slate tile. We chose to drink coffee which was just right. The sandwiches, scones and cakes were beautifully presented on oblong cake stands. Very good variety of sandwiches, delicious apple and cinnamon scones with cream and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here last night while on a business trip. It is a hotel that is part of a training college for hotel management and many of the staff are students. Do not let that put you off! The service is excellent! These students have a great future from what I have experienced. Polite, happy, friendly and competent. The rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Never really ventured to this part of Colchester before but what a spectacular location. Set in acres of peaceful open countryside and only a short drive from the bustling Colchester....which has a great department store and some interesting individual shops. Wivenhoe itself has some lovely little quaint pubs that sell great food and make you feel really welcome. The Rose... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Wivenhoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wivenhoe House

Address: Wivenhoe Park, Wivenhoe, Colchester CO4 3SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Wivenhoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wivenhoe House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wivenhoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wivenhoe House Hotel Colchester
Wivenhoe Hotel Colchester
Wivenhoe House England

152 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay