We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ivy House

Certificate of Excellence
London Rd, Chalfont St. Giles HP8 4RS , England
Hotel amenities
The Ivy House
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Desire B Adelaide, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    10
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
15
12
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 2 nights at The Ivy House at the end our holiday in England. Chose The Ivy House as it was within easy driving distance to Heathrow Airport for our return journey home; we were not disappointed. We received a warm welcome and check-in was simple and quick. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and we also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlfieMolinaro, Owner at The Ivy House, responded to this review

Dear Desire B...thank you so much for your kind comments about your recent stay at the Ivy House...we do appreciate your wow's and are please that you decided to stay with us. I hope you had a great trip home. Yours sincerely Alfie More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I took my family to The Ivy House for a quick dinner before heading to the cinema. We were warmly welcomed but once upon the bar the staff seemed lost and and confused like they didn't know what to do with us. Once seated we were bombarded with special and drink orders without even getting the chance to take our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlfieMolinaro, Owner at The Ivy House, responded to this review

Dear Neil D Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We will take on board your comments regarding your initial experience regarding the confusing service. Thank you for your positive comments about the food and the service you received from Evan. Thank you Alfie More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

New management have settled in and the standard is being maintained. The food is excellent, varied and reasonable. Great to see that despite all the changes of ownership the ever dependable Solly is still there! Highly recommend this pub as a place to visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlfieMolinaro, Owner at The Ivy House, responded to this review

Dear H00ghie Thank you for your review and for the special for our stalwart Sully who has been here for 14 years.....a real rock for us. We do appreciate the time you took to wow us on. Thank you. Yours sincerely Alfie More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to this restaurant twice in the last 3 weeks and it seems to be going from good to very good. Very good staff. The bar is busy and on our previous busy thankfully the restaurant was too. The meals have been really interesting, with good products and exceeded our expectations. Having been trying this place over 30... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlfieMolinaro, Owner at The Ivy House, responded to this review

Dear Laura M.....thank you so much for your kind words we are so pleased that you have enjoyed your visits. It helps to know that in the main we are getting there!!! Thanks again Yours sincerely Alfie More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Ivy for one night. It's a lovely pub/restaurant with rooms. Our 'oriental room' was small with a tiny bathroom but perfectly clean, comfortable, and with some character. The wine list was great and it's so nice to be able to have sparkling by the glass-so many places only sell sparling by the bottle. We had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlfieMolinaro, Owner at The Ivy House, responded to this review

Thank you for you review it really helps to know that we are progressing. I accept your comment about the road and we are looking at ways of managing the sound in the rooms and the garden. Your comments are shared with the team who appreciate the WOW's.......I am sorry that you did not have a cooked breakfast....hopefully some other... More 

Ripon, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

This place was recommended to me by a friend so I chose to stay here whilst visiting some friends and attending a business meeting. The team are incredibly friendly, had a great welcome the room was spotless and what a comfy bed…! Best night’s sleep I’ve had in ages. The breakfast was fantastic and the whole experience was great value,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlfieMolinaro, Owner at The Ivy House, responded to this review

Dear Herring My apologies for this late Thank You for your kind review.....we have two Tripadvisor pages, one for rooms and one for the pub, and some how I missed yours. It is always pleasing that we are moving in the right direction. Thank you for your WOW the team are really appreciates you taking the time to write in.... More 

Amersham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

I booked a table for ten walkers at the Ivy House but, a couple of days before we went, increased it to 16. There was no problem with this and the friendly staff took everything in their stride, including two more people and a baby who joined us the last minute. We had pre-ordered but the waitress double-checked our orders... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlfieMolinaro, Owner at The Ivy House, responded to this review

Dear Dr Paula My apologies for this late Thank You for your kind review.....we have two Tripadvisor pages, one for rooms and one for the pub, and some how I missed yours. The team are always please with being cheered on so thank you for taking the time. Yours sincerely Alfie More 

bucks
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

I always wonder why people find it so hard, but they appear to. Good home cooked food (it really is), a short sensible menu to suit all tastes, a friendly smile, efficient service, homely atmosphere and a decent pint- doesn't sound hard does it? The Ivy house has changed so many times, but at last a landlord who understands how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlfieMolinaro, Owner at The Ivy House, responded to this review

When you get to the week and read a nice review it lifts all of our spirits. We know that we are only as good at last week ....or the last meal....so nice comments help us to keep trying our best. Thank you for taking the time to cheering us on. Yours sincerely, Alfie More 

Cazes-Mondenard France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

What a joy to stay in such a clean welcoming establishment. The staff and owner were so attentive and went the extra mile to accommodate our every need. The food was extremely good especially the Sunday roast. The prices were very reasonable and bettered one of the larger chains that we used to stay with.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AlfieMolinaro, Owner at The Ivy House, responded to this review

It is always nice for the team to hear that we have satisfied our guests.....thank yhou for cheering us on we all appreciate it very much. We also know that we are only as good as last week so it is important to keep our feet firmly on the ground. Thank you ....yours sincerely Alfie More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

We needed a quick stay over as we were picking up a new car from Amersham ,and as we didn't want to go home to Rutland so soon, we decided on a night stop. We knew of the Ivy House for supper's and Drinks whilst we both lived in Little Hampden and Gt Missenden years before. So we decided to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlfieMolinaro, Owner at The Ivy House, responded to this review

Thank you for you nice review and I am so sorry that the "Ghost" did not appear.....perhaps it was an Easter Break. I hope you got your new car back home safely and that it was fun to drive. More importantly I hope you are feeling a better as I remember that one of you kind ladies felt a little... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay