We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
You added Oxwagon Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   On the Route R511 | At Saartjiesnek, Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Oxwagon Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartbeespoort
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (14)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a night at the Oxwagon Lodge and truely enjoyed the atmosphere and setting. The staff prepared a first class braai for supper, with enough meat for double the amount of guests present. The koeksisters and condensed milk coffee for dessert was a real treat. Sleeping inside the oxwagons was the highlight, one cannot imagine that people travelled for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MTurner2014, Owner at Oxwagon Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for the kind words! Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and do pop-in again if you are in the area. It would be nice to give you an update on the latest improvements we've done! Thanks and ciao for now Mark Oxwagon Lodge More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We went spent one night here and it was very enjoyable. The oxwagons are really cute, I felt like a real Voortrekker :) There was a braai in the evening, but we had already booked to go to a restaurant, but I actually think the braai would of been nicer because there was such a nice atmosphere going around the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MTurner2014, Owner at Oxwagon Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Stacey How you doing? Many thanks for the kind words and next time - "come home for dinner" :) Hi to the rest of the family! Mark Oxwagon Lodge More 

Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We visited the oxwagon lodge 5 years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. This time I made certain that the owner was aware that we were a family of 4 with 2 young kids (age 5 and7). An hour before we arrived they gave the only wagon that sleeps 4, to a couple. The hostess said to me that I must... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MTurner2014, Owner at Oxwagon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear readers, At Oxwagon Lodge we strive to deliver very attentive service to all our guests, all of the time. Unfortunately, this lady arrived at the Lodge with problems of her own, and nothing that we did to help her was able to placate her unhappy mood. We send our best wishes to all our guests, past, present and future.... More 

Alberton, South Africa
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you plan to stay over at the Oxwagon Lodge be prepared to pay for 4 star accommodation but to get one star facilities with pathetically maintained facilities. Shower water either too hot or ice cold. The solar heating system does not work and your oxwagon will be pitch dark with the owners not even bothered to give you alternative... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
MTurner2014, Owner at Oxwagon Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Jaco, You've got a long list of comments, and I'm sorry for your inconvenience. Perhaps I can let you know what we are doing about each point that you raised. 1 Shower too hot or too cold - I adjusted the geyser and tested the temperature afterwards. 2 Solar heating - I presume you mean the solar lighting -... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I wanted to book something different for my husbands birthday. Something that he would never expect and that would also be an adventure for my 7 year old daughter. This definately seemed to hit the nail on the head. Everybody was so surprised and it really was something we will talk about for years. Each oxwagon is placed under a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MTurner2014, Owner at Oxwagon Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there Michelle, Thank you for review and feedback! It was great to have you stay with us :) All the best Mark Owner, Oxwagon Lodge Hartbeespoort Dam More 

Fish Hoek, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were very impressed with teh accommodation at the Oxwagon Lodge. definitely a unique experience, we slept in a real oxwagon and in the accoommodation the history of th oxwagon was available. Accommodation and surrounding areas were cleat and tidy. Our accommodation was cleaned every day and we receive fresh clean towels daily. The views are stunning, the Manager, Mark... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MTurner2014, Owner at Oxwagon Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Desire, Thank you for the kind words, it was our pleasure! I have passed-on your comments to Martin, thank you again. Mark Owner at Oxwagon Lodge, Hartbeespoort Dam More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We booked in at the lodge for a family of four. our kids are 2 and 7. We arrived excited to stay in an Oxwagon. There was only one staff member on duty, running the bar, checking in etc. We went for a swim in the small splash pool. Lovely view, however the deck is collapsing. We explored the surrounds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MTurner2014, Owner at Oxwagon Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. You mentioned that Martin was alone to serve you and to run the Trekker Braai in the evening. That was because I was unfortunately in an accident that morning and could not work until the next day. We normally do have 2 people on duty. However, and happily, Martin is very experienced and you said... More 

Randfontein South, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have been to the Oxwagon Lodge on more than on occasion, I stayed for a week, and i went back again and again, and let me tell you the people are great, the service excellent, Mark lets you feel straight at home!! His's staff is helpful. A must see, be there on old year new year it is amazing!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MTurner2014, Owner at Oxwagon Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you, Rita, the pleasure was entirely ours :) All the best, Mark Turner Owner More 

Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Overall the Oxwagon was a fantastic experience. The kids loved the converted wagons and the adults did as well! The service and cleanliness was great. Our kids had a great time playing with the 2 small dogs that live here. The views are fantastic & it was a very relaxing stay. We were on a family tour which included breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The oxwagon lodge gave us a cheerful and hearty welcome, and as we were shown to our accommodation in restored, authentic and colorful ox wagons; some dating back to the 19th century; we could not help but get caught up by the rustic country atmosphere. The Lodge is perched high on the hill above Hartebeestpoort Dam offering great views and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Oxwagon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxwagon Lodge

Address: On the Route R511 | At Saartjiesnek, Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Hartbeespoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxwagon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Oxwagon Lodge

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby