We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Lismore B&Bs / inns

Glenribbeen Eco Lodge

Glenribbeen, Lismore, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Glenribbeen Eco Lodge to your Saves list
Glenribbeen Eco Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
93%
Ranked #1 of 3 Lismore B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014
Stefano B
  • Overview
  • Reviews (29)
  • Photos (53)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • More
true
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Eco-friendly lodge, owned by 2 very interesting people. In the middle of the nature surrounded by trees and colourful flowers. As my wife got a special request for breakfast (she's vegan), they prepare for her an amazing breakfast. The room is essential but quite and comfortable, everything is designed to reduce the impact on nature. Once again we'd like to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I found Glenribbeen over the internet when I was looking for a place to stay in or around Lismore, the "Eco-Lodge" aspect made me curious. It's a lovely place, nicely hidden away from but very close to the main road between Lismore and Cappoquin. My room was very nice, well decorated and spotless, I like the carafe of fresh water.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We arrived to two dogs barking but they turned out to be absolute softies! Peter and Els greeted us and, as it was a beautiful day, took us to the colourful front garden where Peter sat with us discussing everything under the sun whilst Els presented us with a tray with coffee/tea and biscuits. Peter is incredibly interesting and has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My lovely email exchanges with Peter before arriving at Glenribbeen had my travel companions and I very excited for our fun evening away at this quirky eco-lodge. We envisioned bbq-ing outdoors, a bat walk, perhaps even archery lessons. So it came as a huge shock when we arrived and were so rudely greeted by the hostess, Els. First, she was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
pfiddle, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello - firstly my sincere apologies for the awful "welcome" you received. It was really unfair of Els and I can't say sorry enough. We had indeed agreed that you could have one family room, use the (gas) BBQ etc when first you booked for 2 nights. Later as you explained, you could only stay one and I didn't want... More

New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have never been to a more charming Bed & Breakfast, than Glenribbeen Eco Lodge in Cappoquin. Nor have I met better hosts than Els & Peter O’Connor. Their hospitality is spelled with Capital Letters. Each day’s breakfast would have won awards anywhere. Els cooked varied mouthwatering dishes that were presented like a work of art. The accommodations were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
pfiddle, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review - and indeed your company that week - really enjoyed getting to know you. I wonder how Els' recipes turned out when you tried them - especially the Glenribbeen baked egg :-) More

Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

overall fab but a bit like fawlty towers. some really good bits - food and bedrooms and location for example, but some a bit more quirky - the lady of the house has clearly been educated at the british rail school of charm. no problem with the latter really and won't give any examples - added to the quirkiness. couldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
pfiddle, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Hi - thanks for the review - Hmmmm I wonder just what was so quirky? Most people use that term about us - yet i feel this time it was a wee bit negative. I'd love to hear more. Please feel free to write to me directly. I'm genuinely interested. Happy though that overall you seemed to enjoy your stay... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a lovely little B&B its exactly what you think they should be like. The most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The breakfast is enough to keep you going for most of the day.. fresh fruit eggs from hens that are in the yard outside and local jams and honeys. When you book you can also have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
pfiddle, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for a great review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay here. And glad that my lack of (best-half) partner didn't seem to hinder your enjoyment. Hope you come again - soon. More

New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We were greeted with a toasty warm wood stove going, and Els right away brought out some tea and cookies, which we enjoyed by the fire while reading their many books about Ireland and the local area. The lodge is very tastefully decorated, without all of that stuffy Victorian pink lace and doily decoration you can typically find in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
pfiddle, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Hi _ my sincere thanks for such a great review. Oops the creaky bed again. I'll try get that sorted on the morrow. You'll definitely will have to come back and check out the archery - I a set of medieval arrows and an English war(long) bow - since you were so interested in history it was remiss of me... More

UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I booked here for our family of five following the good reviews on tripadvisor in two rooms at the end of August beginning of September for three nights. Good Points Peter the guest house owner was very friendly, informative and helpful ie: spending time with our son showing him how to improve his guitar playing. The rooms and communal areas... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
pfiddle, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for taking the time to write the review. I'm truly sorry that Els wasn't in good form when you arrived. We had had an incredibly busy couple of months and as Els need a new hip and has other problems - well she can sometimes get a bit down. Judging by the other reviews she does manage... More

York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed at the Lodge as we were attending a wedding locally, our room was lovely clean and bright there was everything you need hairdryer, kettle, books, local guides etc right down to a chocolate snack biscuit on a tray and a carafe of water, we were asked what we would like for breakfast and as a I don't eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
pfiddle, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking time and effort to write a review. I find it especially heartening that you work in tourism and remain so positive about Glenribbeen - That's really great to be judged by a peer - and brill that we 'scored well'. As for the breakfast - that really is where we believe we can shine. I'm always... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Glenribbeen Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenribbeen Eco Lodge

Address: Glenribbeen, Lismore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Lismore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Glenribbeen Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Award-winning B&B and self-catering apartment in our own home.Set in beautiful gardens and 10mins walk from Blackwater River. 20 mins drive from harbor with boats and beaches. We offer great beds and best breakfasts as well as garden-games, canoe, bikes, kites, hill and river-walks and much more.Experience a holiday without the footprint. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
3

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Glenribbeen Eco Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer