We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Lismore B&Bs / inns

Glenribbeen Eco Lodge

Glenribbeen, Lismore, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Glenribbeen Eco Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Lismore B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lismore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My lovely email exchanges with Peter before arriving at Glenribbeen had my travel companions and I very excited for our fun evening away at this quirky eco-lodge. We envisioned bbq-ing outdoors, a bat walk, perhaps even archery lessons. So it came as a huge shock when we arrived and were so rudely greeted by the hostess, Els. First, she was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
pfiddle, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello - firstly my sincere apologies for the awful "welcome" you received. It was really unfair of Els and I can't say sorry enough. We had indeed agreed that you could have one family room, use the (gas) BBQ etc when first you booked for 2 nights. Later as you explained, you could only stay one and I didn't want... More

New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have never been to a more charming Bed & Breakfast, than Glenribbeen Eco Lodge in Cappoquin. Nor have I met better hosts than Els & Peter O’Connor. Their hospitality is spelled with Capital Letters. Each day’s breakfast would have won awards anywhere. Els cooked varied mouthwatering dishes that were presented like a work of art. The accommodations were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
pfiddle, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review - and indeed your company that week - really enjoyed getting to know you. I wonder how Els' recipes turned out when you tried them - especially the Glenribbeen baked egg :-) More

Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

overall fab but a bit like fawlty towers. some really good bits - food and bedrooms and location for example, but some a bit more quirky - the lady of the house has clearly been educated at the british rail school of charm. no problem with the latter really and won't give any examples - added to the quirkiness. couldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
pfiddle, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Hi - thanks for the review - Hmmmm I wonder just what was so quirky? Most people use that term about us - yet i feel this time it was a wee bit negative. I'd love to hear more. Please feel free to write to me directly. I'm genuinely interested. Happy though that overall you seemed to enjoy your stay... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a lovely little B&B its exactly what you think they should be like. The most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The breakfast is enough to keep you going for most of the day.. fresh fruit eggs from hens that are in the yard outside and local jams and honeys. When you book you can also have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
pfiddle, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for a great review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay here. And glad that my lack of (best-half) partner didn't seem to hinder your enjoyment. Hope you come again - soon. More

New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We were greeted with a toasty warm wood stove going, and Els right away brought out some tea and cookies, which we enjoyed by the fire while reading their many books about Ireland and the local area. The lodge is very tastefully decorated, without all of that stuffy Victorian pink lace and doily decoration you can typically find in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
pfiddle, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Hi _ my sincere thanks for such a great review. Oops the creaky bed again. I'll try get that sorted on the morrow. You'll definitely will have to come back and check out the archery - I a set of medieval arrows and an English war(long) bow - since you were so interested in history it was remiss of me... More

UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I booked here for our family of five following the good reviews on tripadvisor in two rooms at the end of August beginning of September for three nights. Good Points Peter the guest house owner was very friendly, informative and helpful ie: spending time with our son showing him how to improve his guitar playing. The rooms and communal areas... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
pfiddle, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for taking the time to write the review. I'm truly sorry that Els wasn't in good form when you arrived. We had had an incredibly busy couple of months and as Els need a new hip and has other problems - well she can sometimes get a bit down. Judging by the other reviews she does manage... More

York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed at the Lodge as we were attending a wedding locally, our room was lovely clean and bright there was everything you need hairdryer, kettle, books, local guides etc right down to a chocolate snack biscuit on a tray and a carafe of water, we were asked what we would like for breakfast and as a I don't eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
pfiddle, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking time and effort to write a review. I find it especially heartening that you work in tourism and remain so positive about Glenribbeen - That's really great to be judged by a peer - and brill that we 'scored well'. As for the breakfast - that really is where we believe we can shine. I'm always... More

Apalachin, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Peter and Els are wonderful people and right from the moment we met them, I knew we made the right choice of a place in Lismore. Their home is in a beautiful setting a short distance from the town of Lismore and quite an experience with gardens, hens, two wonderfully friendly dogs and within an easy walk to a river... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
pfiddle, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Hi - Thanks for taking the time to write. I'm again very happy you highlighted the breakfasts - Els will be thrilled. She feels she's the 'below the stairs' and doesn't get the limelight. But of course she's the power behind the throne. Happy too that you mentioned the BBQ - so few people make use of it though we... More

Boulder, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Thanks Peter and Els for a most memorable stay at your wonderful home. I only wish we could have stayed longer. Peter, I really enjoyed all your insights about the local history and of course giving us a concert of your family's music... Next time, I want to hear YOU play! Els, your wonderful cooking spoiled us. It was all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
pfiddle, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for writing. Hope to see you again - soon. This time I'll take you to the Titanic Museum in Cobh where my grandfather's tools and photo will be on display. We're arranging things next week to have all ready for the grand opening. Wonder what theme you'll use for your photos next visit?? Try arrange to be here... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Situated just off the main road between Cappoquin and Lismore but well sign posted. Very convenient for visit to Lismore (Castle). The room was "rustic" but quite comfortable.The highlight was the house special breakfast recommended by Geet and apparently a recipe developed by Peter (our hospitable hosts). A baked egg concoction with the balance of spices to deliver a delightful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
pfiddle, Owner at Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review - and especial thanks for mentioning the breakfast - Els often feels left out as most guests only talk with me - Els is the real worker behind the scenes. Thanks again. More

Been to Glenribbeen Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenribbeen Eco Lodge

Address: Glenribbeen, Lismore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Lismore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lismore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning B&B and self-catering apartment in our own home.Set in beautiful gardens and 10mins walk from Blackwater River. 20 mins drive from harbor with boats and beaches. We offer great beds and best breakfasts as well as garden-games, canoe, bikes, kites, hill and river-walks and much more.Experience a holiday without the footprint. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenribbeen Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Glenribbeen Eco Lodge to your Saves list