We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8 End Street, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Boven Villa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterval Boven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
15
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Summerland, British Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I spent the night of Valentine's day 2014 at Boven Villa on our way to Kruger Park. Sean gave us a very warm welcome and took great care of us. The guest house is a beautiful thatched building with 5 suites and our room was top quality and roomy with lovely bedding and towels and very convenient... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you are looking for a welcoming and comfortable place to lay your head and feed your tummy Boven Villa is the only place you should consider when visiting Boven. The management are friendly and well equipped to make your stay a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Dalton Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of Boven Villa. Amos, my gardening assistant wishes to thank you for your very kind donation. Any time you are in the area to climb our fabulous mountains please pop in. Kind regards Sean More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We went to Boven for a climbing weekend and stayed at the Villa! Sean was a gracious and amazing host not to mention a excellent cook!! My advice if staying there definitely ask Sean to make dinners as well as breakfast you wont go wrong. Rooms and entire setting was first class!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Marco Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to write such a lovely review. The mountains around our picturesque town are world famous for their rock climbing routes. A little bit of heaven on our doorstep. Enjoy the 'Lowveld Memories ' Book and anytime you are in the again please pop in. Regards... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Boven Villa this December. Sean was a gracious host and was on hand at all times to sort out any issues. Sean and his support lady, Joyce, provided a professional service. We were given free reign to use the kitchen which is normally reserved for staff only. He made us feel completely at home. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good morning to the Louw Family Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am so pleased to hear that your stay at Boven Villa was a good one and that you were looked after. Have a great 2014 and look forward to welcoming you back to Boven Villa in the near future.... More

Bruxelles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at Boven Villa 2 nights on the way to and from Kruger NP. Elephant room upstairs is lovely and very comfortable. Beautiful and interesting garden : roses, trees, birds Sean is very friendly and helpful. Anne Marie & Jean Paul, Brussels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Festive Greetings Anne Marie and Jean Paul Thank you so much for this cheerful review. It restores my faith in TripAdvisor. I appreciate that one cannot please everyone all the time, however the previous reviewers nasty attacks were unjust and personal. So thank you for such positive feedback. I am so glad that you enjoyed your trip to South Africa... More

Alberton, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The stay and the accommodation was pleasant but the attitude of the owner was nothing but poor. Sean Larkin (Owner) is very facetious and pedantic and childish when we stayed there on the weekend from the 21st - 25th of November. We then booked for the weekend of 13 - 17 December and when we got a confirmation email on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good Morning It is difficult to know how to respond to your review of Boven Villa. You stayed at Boven Villa for 4 nights, then on departure booked another 4 nights bringing your family along as well. This would not have been done if you had been treated as terribly as you have indicated. That is a complete contradiction. The... More

Bali, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I recently stayed here and agree with all the other great reviews! Sean is indeed an excellent and charming host. He made us laugh and organized requested tours before we even arrived! We made our reservations while driving there.... The guest lodge is clean, expansive, welcoming, spacious and very nicely appointed. The amenities are abundant and first class, so many... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good morning Ceslie Wow, thank you so much for those excellent words. We strive to deliver a good service to our guests and this type of feedback makes it all worthwhile. Thank you for bringing your special kind of inner peace to Boven Villa. Kind regards from Sunny South Africa Sean More

Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

One night at Boven Villa and our group felt as though we had been on a week long holiday!!! Peaceful, private, safe, secure and so beautiful! Sean is the perfect host, nothing is too much trouble for him. Dinner - bed - breakfast...EVERYTHING is just perfect. (Dinner was especially delicious - home baked bread to die for!) Boven Villa is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good morning Cheryl Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of Boven Villa. I am so glad that your group had a good experience. Hopefully next time will be an extended stay, so that you are able to explore the nearby waterfalls and mountain bike trails. See you soon on your travels. Seanj More

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The attentiveness and great experience starts with the interactions during the booking... It continues at the same level. Great place for a stop over to Kruger. Easy to find and good food. Safe parking. Will return

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good morning Gentlemen Thank you for your lovely review of Boven Villa. I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable overnight stay. Here's hoping that you managed to see some of the big cats in KNP. Whenever you are passing through this way be sure to bare Boven Villa in mind. Best wishes Sean More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Excellent lodging with personalized and very friendly service, down to the last detail. The owners really go the extra mile, and the food was also exquisite. Amazing walks in the area, and close driving range to other local attractions, like Kaapschehoop and Dullstroom. Will definitely stay there again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good morning Guys Wow, thank you very much for writing such a lovely review. I am so glad that you had a good stay at Boven Villa. It is just a pity that the weather did not play ball. But at least it allowed you to snuggle under the comfy snug duvets. Hopefully the next time you are in the... More

Been to Boven Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boven Villa

Also Known As:
Boven Villa Hotel
Boven Villa Hotel Waterval Boven
Boven Villa Waterval Boven, South Africa - Mpumalanga
Address: 8 End Street, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Waterval Boven
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Waterval Boven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boven Villa 3*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boven Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Boven Villa to your Saves list