We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Boven Villa to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8 End Street, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (53)
  • Photos (15)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
Boven Villa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterval Boven
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
15
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at Boven Villa for two nights and had a fantastic time. Sean goes out of his way to help you and is the best Host. Breakfasts are great and Sean is always around to share a Joke. Room are clean and comfortabe with a great view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Greetings Nigel Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write this wonderful review. I am pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed the weekend spent in our quaint little village. If you are exploring this neighbourhood in the future you know where you are always welcome. Kind Regards Sean More

Benoni, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My friends and I stayed at Boven Villa a week ago, and well Sean took care of us!!! Most places we stay at are very focused on settling the business end first before they even get you settled in, Sean does it in reverse he makes sure that you are settles in and then deals business. We arent Mpumalanga natives... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Emmanuel Thank you for these kind words and for taking the time to write such a glowing review of Boven Villa. The next time that you and your group are in the area, please do not hesitate to contact me. Let Loose and chase the Goose! Regards from a warm and beautiful Mpumalanga Sean More

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The place is really beautiful and a relaxing break from hectic city life. Sean shows a lot of concern for his guests. I liked the fact we were able to be as noisy as we please. The rooms were really beautiful and in a very clean state.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Summerland, British Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I spent the night of Valentine's day 2014 at Boven Villa on our way to Kruger Park. Sean gave us a very warm welcome and took great care of us. The guest house is a beautiful thatched building with 5 suites and our room was top quality and roomy with lovely bedding and towels and very convenient... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Chris and Carol Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Boven Villa. We are so pleased that your stay with us met your expectations. Sending you both best wishes Regards from Sunny South Africa Sean More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you are looking for a welcoming and comfortable place to lay your head and feed your tummy Boven Villa is the only place you should consider when visiting Boven. The management are friendly and well equipped to make your stay a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Dalton Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of Boven Villa. Amos, my gardening assistant wishes to thank you for your very kind donation. Any time you are in the area to climb our fabulous mountains please pop in. Kind regards Sean More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We went to Boven for a climbing weekend and stayed at the Villa! Sean was a gracious and amazing host not to mention a excellent cook!! My advice if staying there definitely ask Sean to make dinners as well as breakfast you wont go wrong. Rooms and entire setting was first class!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good afternoon Marco Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to write such a lovely review. The mountains around our picturesque town are world famous for their rock climbing routes. A little bit of heaven on our doorstep. Enjoy the 'Lowveld Memories ' Book and anytime you are in the again please pop in. Regards... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Boven Villa this December. Sean was a gracious host and was on hand at all times to sort out any issues. Sean and his support lady, Joyce, provided a professional service. We were given free reign to use the kitchen which is normally reserved for staff only. He made us feel completely at home. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good morning to the Louw Family Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am so pleased to hear that your stay at Boven Villa was a good one and that you were looked after. Have a great 2014 and look forward to welcoming you back to Boven Villa in the near future.... More

Bruxelles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at Boven Villa 2 nights on the way to and from Kruger NP. Elephant room upstairs is lovely and very comfortable. Beautiful and interesting garden : roses, trees, birds Sean is very friendly and helpful. Anne Marie & Jean Paul, Brussels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Festive Greetings Anne Marie and Jean Paul Thank you so much for this cheerful review. It restores my faith in TripAdvisor. I appreciate that one cannot please everyone all the time, however the previous reviewers nasty attacks were unjust and personal. So thank you for such positive feedback. I am so glad that you enjoyed your trip to South Africa... More

Alberton, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The stay and the accommodation was pleasant but the attitude of the owner was nothing but poor. Sean Larkin (Owner) is very facetious and pedantic and childish when we stayed there on the weekend from the 21st - 25th of November. We then booked for the weekend of 13 - 17 December and when we got a confirmation email on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good Morning It is difficult to know how to respond to your review of Boven Villa. You stayed at Boven Villa for 4 nights, then on departure booked another 4 nights bringing your family along as well. This would not have been done if you had been treated as terribly as you have indicated. That is a complete contradiction. The... More

Bali, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I recently stayed here and agree with all the other great reviews! Sean is indeed an excellent and charming host. He made us laugh and organized requested tours before we even arrived! We made our reservations while driving there.... The guest lodge is clean, expansive, welcoming, spacious and very nicely appointed. The amenities are abundant and first class, so many... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bovenvilla, Owner at Boven Villa, responded to this review

Good morning Ceslie Wow, thank you so much for those excellent words. We strive to deliver a good service to our guests and this type of feedback makes it all worthwhile. Thank you for bringing your special kind of inner peace to Boven Villa. Kind regards from Sunny South Africa Sean More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Boven Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Boven Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boven Villa

Address: 8 End Street, Waterval Boven 1195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Waterval Boven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boven Villa 3*
Also Known As:
Boven Villa Hotel Waterval Boven
Boven Villa Waterval Boven, South Africa - Mpumalanga

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Amenities

Free Parking
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Boven Villa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer