We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Chail hotels

Hotel Grand Sunset

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Village Mihani, Chail 173217, India
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FLAT 15% Off on Room Rent
Save Saved
You added Hotel Grand Sunset to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Sunset
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
80%
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Chail
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (114)
  • Photos (91)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (45)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    46
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
54
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed in chail from 10 -12 july14 Chail is a nice and peaceful place nowhere as crowded as Shimla. Property - hotel is good , the terrace has nice view of the valley and sun set It is a bit 3kms away from market View - we took the premium delux room , room was average nothing premium about... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Can't say i wasn't skeptic when i was booking the hotel in the beginning, but when we reached it was a welcomed surprise for us, the hotel was adequately neat and hygienic, though there were too many insects ,which is a problem related to any green area (We experienced this in Kerala too). the room was comfortable and clean, hotel... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dont understand how trip advisor recommends such hotels.We stayed in Grand Sunset in Mid June this year. Rooms- Full of flying insects. Staff behaves as if we are dusturbing insects. Ridiculous!! Dirty bed sheets.If you tell them to replace, They will say sorry it cant happen & then u need to raise ur voice to make it happen. Barring a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mohali, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

... room doors need to be worked on as the insects can get in through.. but considering the amount you are paying it can be good choice for those who want to save money .....you get good view as well....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harish K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Sunset, responded to this review

Dear dkumar1 Thanks a lot for your feedback. We really apologize for the problem of insects. We really tried a lot of things to sort out this problem, but still this problem persists due to the hilly areas, & we guarantee you that you wont get to see this problem in your next visit. Apart from this, we are planning... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel grand sunset as per previous reviews is not that good but not bad either.In off season u can get a good discount. Pros: -Cheap -Parking -power backup -good view -daily cleaned rooms -WAITERS ARE WELL MANNERED AND NEVER BUDGE U FOR TIPS.THEY PROVIDE U THE SERVICE AND DISAPPEARS. Cons: -food not up to the mark and priced exorbitantly. -though... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harish K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Sunset, responded to this review

Hi naveen4677 Thank you for your feedback. Following are the cons which you mentioned - -food not up to the mark and priced exorbitantly - We usually give food hygiene the utmost priority. But this type of feedback we get very rarely, but will definitely forward this & work on the same. -though rooms r cleaned daily but be ready... More

New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an excellent hotel with great view and very good staff. They have proper parking and very nicely managed. This is about 3-4 Kms from Mall road but very well connected. Staff is very accommodating and adjusting. Rooms are cleaned nicely. I travelled with an infant and they provided milk at late hours. I picked family room and it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harish K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Sunset, responded to this review

Dear Scopion Thank you very much for your review. Many of our customers appreciate our hotel because of the view they get from room, balcony & terrace. The location is the USP of our hotel, as we are having a direct view of sunset from most of our rooms. One can also get a beautiful 360 degree view from our... More

Austin, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

- Very dirty room (Premium delux) - Broken TV / Remote - Broken Shower - Flys in the room - No soap & towel, when asked they provided one which should be used for wiping the floors This stay has left me wondered how in a country where labor is cheap, the hotel management can not get it cleaned and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harish K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Sunset, responded to this review

Hi ksachdeva17 We promise to take up your complaint with utmost concern. Following are the points that you mentioned - - Very dirty room (Premium delux) This category of room is most preferred by our customer, to be frank we got some complaints regarding the delayed service, but this type of feedback we are getting for first time. - Broken... More

Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the hotels location is nice, the rooms are spacious with nice view from the glass window. the major lag is a nice balcony in the room. the interiors of the rooms are just average. Food was not so good and the service was slow. they have sufficient parking in the front of the hotel. its easy to locate as it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harish K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Sunset, responded to this review

Hi AnuragOlhyan Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Most of our customers prefer Premium & Family Suite rooms because they are having very nice view of valley. We dont prefer balconies in the rooms, because as per experts, in these hilly areas their might be a possibility that some animal can enter into your balcony, & troublesome our... More

New Delhi, India
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for a night.....its a small, neat and clean hotel with basic amenities like clean rooms, running hot water, fresh towels etc. The kitchen has its timings, you need to order early to get your food on time, dinner served was satisfying. The hotel has a nice parking, which is very rare and essential in the hills. Although... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harish K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Sunset, responded to this review

Hi wickedvik Thank you very much for your genuine review. We know our hotel is small, & only provide some of the basic necessities, like towels, running hot water etc, but I would like you to tell you that we are also having other amenities like table tennis, carom etc which is free of cost for our customers. And we... More

Gurgaon, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

we stayed for three nights four days with four roooms in june month,,it was nice..awesome place,Hospitality was nice,,food was awesome,rm service excellent,,staff was very friendly,,hotel need improve recreational facility ,,area was not looking nice,,,,no internet in the room,,,,,overall from the Terrace velley view and sunset view looking memorable,,we were be there third time,,,but this time very hot in day time,,please... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harish K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Sunset, responded to this review

Hi Ashwani Thank you for your appreciation of our efforts.We usually give food hygiene the utmost priority. Many of our customers appreciate our hotel because of the view they get from room, balcony & terrace. The best valley view you can get from our Premium Deluxe rooms, which are situated at our third & fourth floors. We got a feedback... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Grand Sunset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Grand Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Sunset

Address: Village Mihani, Chail 173217, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Chail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Grand Sunset 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Grand Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Grand Sunset is located at 3 km milestone from Chail. We are one of the biggest hotels in Chail with 20 rooms. Hotel is equipped with all modern and state of the art facilities. We are situated at the most prominent location of Chail, from where each room gives the most exalting and scenic view of Sunset and Sunrise. Each room also offers the picturesque view of the Chail valley and the surrounding Hills and a soothing view of lush Green vegetation of Chail. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer