We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 South Brent B&Bs / inns

Turtley Corn Mill

4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Avonwick, South Brent TQ10 9ES, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Turtley Corn Mill to your Saves list
Turtley Corn Mill
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
90%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Gary T Wickford, United Kingdom
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
21
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked in the hotel for a three night break visiting family in South Devon. From the start of our three night stay, the accommodation set the scene, our room like the other three were styled and decorated to a very high standard. Very spacious accommodation with every attention to detail made our stay a real treat. The garden and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BruceBrunning, Owner at Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review

Gary, Many thanks indeed, we are delighted that you find Turtley to your liking. It was very kind of you to let us know and I shall make sure the crew read your comments. It all helps! Bruce. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stopped here for one night during a driving tour of the south of England. This B&B is chic and stylish but very comfortable and welcoming. The rooms felt 'designer' with excellent attention to detail and quirky touches which made you feel you were staying somewhere unique and individual. The toiletries in the bathroom were divine and the bed was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BruceBrunning, Owner at Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review

Hi Miss Kent, Thank you so much for your very kind review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that the weather was good enough for you to enjoy the gardens properly. Let's hope we can look after you again next time your down this way. Enjoy your travels! Bruce. More

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The room was comfortable, spacious and well-appointed. The breakfast menu presented a variety of choices and the service was excellent. It is an ideal base for exploring the area. The only drawback is the fact that, if you arrive at a busy lunchtime, you have to vie for attention from busy bar staff who are serving the pub and restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BruceBrunning, Owner at Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review

John, Thank you very much indeed for such a good review. I'm sure you know how pleasurable it is for us to know that our endeavours are well received! I noted your comment and will talk to the crew; unfortunately with just 4 rooms a dedicated reception is a bit tricky but we will see if we can improve. Thanks... More

Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The website for the TCM sets the tone for the friendly welcome and the high standard of service we received. We stayed two nights in a very cosy 'Muscovy' (all rooms named after their resident ducks!) which was modern and contemporary - as was the good sized ensuite. Every need had been anticipated - bottled water and coffee machine in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BruceBrunning, Owner at Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Turtley. Your comments are very kind and I shall ensure the crew read them. The chickens and ducks will be disappointed that you did not explore their domain to see them but I'll let them know you will be back with that intention! We really appreciate you using TA to let... More

peterborough
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Turtley Corn Mill for two nights as part of a tour round Devon and the south coast. The bed and breakfast is a little treasure. I love a hotel that has a theme and runs with it, and this place sure does that. The theme? Ducks, I love ducks! The theme (presumably) generates from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BruceBrunning, Owner at Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review

Hello Mrs. Muffin, Your review is as good as it gets! Thank you very much indeed for so many kind remarks. It's good to know you love ducks and chickens as much as we do; there is doubt, on occasions, as to whether we are running a pub or a farm. Keeps us out of trouble! Hopefully one day you... More

Saltash, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

- that was our experience from staying at the Turtley on May 7th. It was the little extras - like the quality toiletries, the thread count of the bedding and the fluffy towels that helped make the stay so enjoyable. Of course the friendly and professional service we rather took for granted, having eaten in the restaurant on numerous occasions.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BruceBrunning, Owner at Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We truly appreciate it and are delighted you enjoyed your visit. I shall make sure the crew read it. Bruce. More

Leicester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is our 2nd stay here, (visiting relatives) and we had "mallard" room this time. The bed is huge, and has the most wonderful feather topper on and gorgeous feather pillows too, its the best when you sink into it!!....but the furniture in the rooms, is too big for the rooms. The beds have huge wooden posts on the end,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BruceBrunning, Owner at Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed the bed so much and that breakfast, albeit not quite as you ordered, was good but are very sorry to read your other comments. Nevertheless thank you for your constructive comment, we will act on it. The Polish girl (understandably confused by you for French!) was mortified she got your breakfast order wrong -... More

Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Regular visitors to Turtley for lunch and evening meals. Had breakfast there this morning. My husband's teacup was dirty and had to be replaced. Breakfast good but stunned to be charged £8.80 for two pots of tea. After first small pot ran out, asked for a refill, only to be charged for a further two teas. £8.80 for four teabags?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BruceBrunning, Owner at Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review

Kate, What a shame that as one of our regular customers, (presumably because you enjoy it here) the only review you have ever written is a bad one directed at us! You tell me you enjoyed your breakfast which is pleasing. Yes, there were some coffee grouts still in a cup but it was replaced without hesitation. We charged you... More

Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent one night here recently and enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The staff were friendly and attentive. The rooms were spacious, tastefully decorated and furnished. Such comfortable beds! Our meal in the restaurant was excellent and we loved everything about the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BruceBrunning, Owner at Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review

Wow, now that was a good review. You first maximum score too! We are delighted you enjoyed your time at Turtley; the beds are good aren't they, and, better still, made locally in Plymouth. Perhaps if you return in warmer weather you can enjoy the grounds too. Thank you very much for your comments. We do appreciate it. Bruce. More

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

this was our first visit back to Turtley after i wrote a poor review a couple of months ago and what a difference the food was so so much better the staff were brilliant as usual.I am glad we went back and would not hesitate to return again keep this great standard up

Was this review helpful? Yes
BruceBrunning, Owner at Turtley Corn Mill, responded to this review

Thank you. We much prefer good reviews! More

Been to Turtley Corn Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtley Corn Mill

Also Known As:
Turtley Corn Mill Hotel South Brent
Turtley Corn Mill Hotel
Turtley Corn Mill South Brent, Devon, England
Address: Avonwick, South Brent TQ10 9ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > South Brent
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in South Brent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtley Corn Mill 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtley Corn Mill nestles in acres of gardens with its own river and lake. Already a well known and very busy restaurant, there are now four brand new hotel rooms, all en-suite, with free internet, Sky TV, and all those little things you expect from an AA Four Star Highly Commended facility. Our food also has an AA award. Real ales and an ever changing menu, both as local as we can make them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Turtley Corn Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtley Corn Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.