We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank

Certificate of Excellence
45 Eskbank Road | Eskbank, Dalkeith EH22 3BH, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

My wife and I spent two nights at the Rathan House during the Edinburgh Fringe festival and we really enjoyed our stay. Ewen, the owner, is a very charming and educated guy who knows a lot about Scottish history. Something we don't learn that much about in Germany. Our room was clean and reasonably sized. We also enjoyed the breakfast... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian T
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015

Big room to accomodate a family of 5 and provide a cost effective base to explore Edinburgh in the middle of the festivals. Good, individually cooked breakfast sitting at table with other guests from around the world. Recommended a local italian restaurant nearby that was good value as well, however the area itself is not that great.

Helpful?
Thank Poutine_saucebrune
Hoi An, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

A lovely old Georgian home in Dalkeith, about 15-20 minutes, by an easy and really scenic local bus trip, to down town Edinburgh. I had a hire car and didnt want to drive, or have to find expensive parking in Edinburgh and there`s lots of off street parking at Rathan House. The bus stop is outside the front gate or... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
Kirkbymoorside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015 via mobile

I try and support independent hotels throughout the UK because I find generally you get a far more rewarding experience. Unfortunately not here, the rooms are dated, but impeccably clean. All the mod cons you would expect, wifi, flat screen TV, kettle, stocked shower etc. I just had a couple of grievances which are probably not fair but I will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Letsallhaveadisco
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review

Well, like any establishment we have strengths and weaknesses. At the margin your expectations do not seem to have been met entirely. Let us imagine you returned with your pooch and 2 teenage grandchildren . Rathan would probably tick all your boxes: 1. The kids would be 100% safe in a third acre high walled secure garden and they would... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Booked 2 rooms at this place through Booking.com specificly because had 2 disabled people in my group and found through the internet that they had rooms with disabled facilities. As a special request asking if wheelchair users would be able to use the bathroom.got a reply that the room that was booked wasnt but they had a family room that... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank joshivdipak
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review

If you book the wrong room through Booking.com and then completely ignore the specific advice to cancel the unsuitable room and book the room suitable for "ambulent disabled" , then it is hardly surprising that someone else books the room with an ambulent disabled wetroom . The rooms remained empty that evening. It is not true that I said I... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

We loved this place. We felt welcomed and at home. The garden is super, we had access directly into it from our patio door. Ewan, the owner is a fascinating man and his knowledge of the area made our stay all the better. The door codes were a little tricky, but luckily we were never stuck outside. Be sure to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wishongirl
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

I stayed at Rathan House for two nights and wished it could have been longer. A lovely house, beautiful garden and warm and friendly hosts. The breakfast is a joy to behold and eat - don't miss out. Worth going out of your way for and excellent value for money.

Helpful?
Thank VXH
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind observations. Certainly it helps us keep our motivation when guests note that they have been happy bunnies. On breakies. They are Hebridean in style and we have a " Taste of Scotland" award from the Scottish Tourist Board. We do not fry anything except the "Spealtragan". Nobody should go through life without tasting a Spealtragan.... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

We stayed in the adjoining self catering apartment for two weeks as we prepared for ( and recovered from!) our daughter's wedding at nearby Carberry Tower. We needed spacious accommodation, on-site parking and ease of access to the venue and central Edinburgh. We found everything we needed. The apartment has everything we could want, was very clean,comfortable and functional, it... More 

Helpful?
Thank wiltsmum52
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

I am hoping Ewan responds to this. I arrived at the hotel and found that I couldn't get in. I knocked, knocked again and again but nothing.I went round the side gate and found Ewan smoking while watching Television. First Impressions weren't great. When he saw me he went of his tree and screamed at me for coming round. I... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Airplane_a380-
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review

I am grateful to the 6 week block booking for one room from a local college and the 5 week block booking both until 6 June from a UK Company. It means I had only have 2 family rooms on offer hrough B.Com , The mansions and manors product of wholesalers DTT & Brittany Ferries.. ....and I had no single... More 

south shields
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Excellent guest house with friendly welcome helpful hosts & good location. Host is a passionate Scotsman & his wife who are very friendly & helpfull. Large garden that you are welcome to use. 2 dogs both very friendly but one can be off putting to children as it runs to you barking but it is very friendly just stand still... More 

Helpful?
Thank masonSouthShields
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalkeith
0.6 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalkeith
3.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
4.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Carberry Tower
Carberry Tower
#1 of 1 in Carberry
4.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay