We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank

Certificate of Excellence
45 Eskbank Road | Eskbank, Dalkeith EH22 3BH, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    33
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
51
37
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (139)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
south shields
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent guest house with friendly welcome helpful hosts & good location. Host is a passionate Scotsman & his wife who are very friendly & helpfull. Large garden that you are welcome to use. 2 dogs both very friendly but one can be off putting to children as it runs to you barking but it is very friendly just stand still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I cannot recommend this guest house. I found Mr MacRae's manner rather off putting. He chased me across the car park after my first nights stay to ask why I had not paid. I explained I was staying another night and would pay at the end of the stay. He then had a light bulb moment and realised his error.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Not good value for money, find somewhere else. Bed uncomfortable....service poor, No internet access in room, and the presence of electronic devices in the dining room against 'house rules'...even though this was the only place Internet acces was available. When paying for gold standard acommodation, It may not be appropriate to appraise guests of 'house rules'.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review

I do understand that you arrived here after finding it almost impossible to find accommodation providers on your list to accept the vouchers you had. We have been supporters of the DT voucher scheme for 15 years ( despite the fact that £ returns are not the best for the accom providers). Non acceptance by some is now understandable after... More 

Neath
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Picked this one at random because it represented great value and had off street parking for my Van. I know the area of old and Dalkeith is a well appointed wee suburb with all the restaurants and pubs you need for a short stay. There's also a massive park and stately home grounds in the town if you fancy taking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Irene and Ewan and flat coated retrievers provided a warm Scottish welcome and made us feel entirely at home. They hosted us royally. The breakfasts were tasty and the epitome of healthy eating - Porridge then Herring, Mackerel or Salmon.( Not a cholesterol laden bacon, sausage & eggs). Bus services (No 49) excellent to the Edinburgh Royal Infirmary where our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Shame I couldn't go in the room when I arrived as it wasn't ready and that I only saw the breakfast menu after breakfast on my last morning. I'm sure the herring is nice but I didn't get to try it! Apart from that it was comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

The family and I had a relaxing time at Rathan's guesthouse. Our room was very clean and comfortable for two adults, two children and a small dog. The guesthouse was near the town centre and within a few minutes walk we had access to many restaurants, a grocery store, cash points, and the bus stop that takes you to Edinburgh.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Arrived here after traveling from Leicester on business and the landlord welcomed me, he was very nice and talkative. The room was lovely and just what I expected.. not too shabby but not too luxurious. As I did only pay £40 for the stay. There was no option for food when booking, but I'm glad that we didn't book this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mappleborough Green
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

I stayed for one night prior to GBAS at Ingliston with one dog The room facilities were excellent with plenty of crate room and, despite being a country girl, the house is set far back from the road so traffic noise and street lights were not an issue for either of us. Mine hosts were charming as were their 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

We enjoyed this stay very much. The bedroom was spacious and, thankfully, quiet. The beds were very comfy. Breakfast was delicious with hot chocolate and coconut snowballs for afters. It was a short walk from a bus stop into Edinburgh and the owner recommended two excellent restaurants for dinner. We would stay again and would recommend this to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay