We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank

45 Eskbank Road | Eskbank, Dalkeith EH22 3BH, Scotland
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    33
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
49
36
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Shame I couldn't go in the room when I arrived as it wasn't ready and that I only saw the breakfast menu after breakfast on my last morning. I'm sure the herring is nice but I didn't get to try it! Apart from that it was comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

The family and I had a relaxing time at Rathan's guesthouse. Our room was very clean and comfortable for two adults, two children and a small dog. The guesthouse was near the town centre and within a few minutes walk we had access to many restaurants, a grocery store, cash points, and the bus stop that takes you to Edinburgh.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Arrived here after traveling from Leicester on business and the landlord welcomed me, he was very nice and talkative. The room was lovely and just what I expected.. not too shabby but not too luxurious. As I did only pay £40 for the stay. There was no option for food when booking, but I'm glad that we didn't book this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mappleborough Green
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

I stayed for one night prior to GBAS at Ingliston with one dog The room facilities were excellent with plenty of crate room and, despite being a country girl, the house is set far back from the road so traffic noise and street lights were not an issue for either of us. Mine hosts were charming as were their 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

We enjoyed this stay very much. The bedroom was spacious and, thankfully, quiet. The beds were very comfy. Breakfast was delicious with hot chocolate and coconut snowballs for afters. It was a short walk from a bus stop into Edinburgh and the owner recommended two excellent restaurants for dinner. We would stay again and would recommend this to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I stayed here with my husband for a work trip in July 2014. The room and facilities were excellent and comfy but I was shouted at for going through the wrong door (not obvious) and was told breakfast could only be at 8:30. When I said I had a meeting at 8.30, the owner suggested I change the meeting. He... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review

Couple of points. On 1 October we changed our pricing to charge separately for bed and for breakfast. Now you would not be charged for a breakfast you did not have. House fire/2 parents in law hospitalised -smoke inhilation - need for immediate heart bypass op- Irene's parents homeless for 6 months- looking after dementia suffering dad-in law - who... More 

Papendrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

People checking my review will notice that I mostly write positive reviews. If something is poor, I try to write it down as room for improvement. I seldom give a low rating. But I would lie to myself if I give an higher rating. We stayed several times in a B&B in the area of Dalkeith. One of the competitors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review

I am sorry we did not please. We really shall try to do better. On tips. I don't accept tips. It is pleasing when my excellent staff support is appreciated by a small tip. On internet charge....we have unlimited provision and spent £700 on room internet connection improvements so £1 charge seems reasonable. You are right about communication. I had... More 

Ocean View, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the Rathan House B & B was very enjoyable. Irenie and Ewan were excellent hosts. They were both very helpful. The house is located on the bus route into Edinburgh which made for easy access to all that Edinburgh has to offer. Thank you for a memorable visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Three kiwis on road trip had to visit Scotland and that means Edinburgh. Ideal place to stay....great experience and fantastic hosts. We stayed three nights and accommodation suited us perfectly...shared room was no problem...great Scottish breakfasts with so many options..so we tried most of them.. delightful host who was full of everything Scottish , and was so helpful on all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We (a family of four) decided to go to Edinburgh at rather short notice and were very lucky to find Rathan House in a list of B&Bs. The owner, Ewan McCrae, turned out to be extremely helpful in a very lively series of emails preceding our visit. We were given a rather small but very cosy family room for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank

Address: 45 Eskbank Road | Eskbank, Dalkeith EH22 3BH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Dalkeith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathan House - The Guesthouse At Eskbank Dalkeith, Scotland

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay