We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank

Certificate of Excellence
45 Eskbank Road | Eskbank, Dalkeith EH22 3BH, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    93
    36
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
56
39
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (150)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Hoi An, Vietnam
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely old Georgian home in Dalkeith, about 15-20 minutes, by an easy and really scenic local bus trip, to down town Edinburgh. I had a hire car and didnt want to drive, or have to find expensive parking in Edinburgh and there`s lots of off street parking at Rathan House. The bus stop is outside the front gate or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kirkbymoorside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I try and support independent hotels throughout the UK because I find generally you get a far more rewarding experience. Unfortunately not here, the rooms are dated, but impeccably clean. All the mod cons you would expect, wifi, flat screen TV, kettle, stocked shower etc. I just had a couple of grievances which are probably not fair but I will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review

Well, like any establishment we have strengths and weaknesses. At the margin your expectations do not seem to have been met entirely. Let us imagine you returned with your pooch and 2 teenage grandchildren . Rathan would probably tick all your boxes: 1. The kids would be 100% safe in a third acre high walled secure garden and they would... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked 2 rooms at this place through Booking.com specificly because had 2 disabled people in my group and found through the internet that they had rooms with disabled facilities. As a special request asking if wheelchair users would be able to use the bathroom.got a reply that the room that was booked wasnt but they had a family room that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review

If you book the wrong room through Booking.com and then completely ignore the specific advice to cancel the unsuitable room and book the room suitable for "ambulent disabled" , then it is hardly surprising that someone else books the room with an ambulent disabled wetroom . The rooms remained empty that evening. It is not true that I said I... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

We loved this place. We felt welcomed and at home. The garden is super, we had access directly into it from our patio door. Ewan, the owner is a fascinating man and his knowledge of the area made our stay all the better. The door codes were a little tricky, but luckily we were never stuck outside. Be sure to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

I stayed at Rathan House for two nights and wished it could have been longer. A lovely house, beautiful garden and warm and friendly hosts. The breakfast is a joy to behold and eat - don't miss out. Worth going out of your way for and excellent value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind observations. Certainly it helps us keep our motivation when guests note that they have been happy bunnies. On breakies. They are Hebridean in style and we have a " Taste of Scotland" award from the Scottish Tourist Board. We do not fry anything except the "Spealtragan". Nobody should go through life without tasting a Spealtragan.... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

We stayed in the adjoining self catering apartment for two weeks as we prepared for ( and recovered from!) our daughter's wedding at nearby Carberry Tower. We needed spacious accommodation, on-site parking and ease of access to the venue and central Edinburgh. We found everything we needed. The apartment has everything we could want, was very clean,comfortable and functional, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

I am hoping Ewan responds to this. I arrived at the hotel and found that I couldn't get in. I knocked, knocked again and again but nothing.I went round the side gate and found Ewan smoking while watching Television. First Impressions weren't great. When he saw me he went of his tree and screamed at me for coming round. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review

I am grateful to the 6 week block booking for one room from a local college and the 5 week block booking both until 6 June from a UK Company. It means I had only have 2 family rooms on offer hrough B.Com , The mansions and manors product of wholesalers DTT & Brittany Ferries.. ....and I had no single... More 

south shields
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Excellent guest house with friendly welcome helpful hosts & good location. Host is a passionate Scotsman & his wife who are very friendly & helpfull. Large garden that you are welcome to use. 2 dogs both very friendly but one can be off putting to children as it runs to you barking but it is very friendly just stand still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

I cannot recommend this guest house. I found Mr MacRae's manner rather off putting. He chased me across the car park after my first nights stay to ask why I had not paid. I explained I was staying another night and would pay at the end of the stay. He then had a light bulb moment and realised his error.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Not good value for money, find somewhere else. Bed uncomfortable....service poor, No internet access in room, and the presence of electronic devices in the dining room against 'house rules'...even though this was the only place Internet acces was available. When paying for gold standard acommodation, It may not be appropriate to appraise guests of 'house rules'.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review

I do understand that you arrived here after finding it almost impossible to find accommodation providers on your list to accept the vouchers you had. We have been supporters of the DT voucher scheme for 15 years ( despite the fact that £ returns are not the best for the accom providers). Non acceptance by some is now understandable after... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalkeith
0.6 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#1 of 2 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
4.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Carberry Tower
Carberry Tower
#1 of 1 in Carberry
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dalkeith
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairshiels B&B
Fairshiels B&B
#5 of 7 in Dalkeith
4.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay