We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boat Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BH, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Boat Hotel
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    291
    123
    85
    36
See reviews for
115
492
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (807)
  • Mar-May only
    (205)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (215)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (219)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (168)
All months
Maybole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a 2 night break and would have no hesitation to recommend it for a stay whilst in the area. Staff were fantastic, and the 3 course dinner was fist class. Breakfast choice was far above any 5 star hotel, and food was again first class. It was a really enjoyable visit and we would return when next visiting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was my last night's accommodation whilst walking the Speyside Way. After a hiccup about providing a room with a bath which the receptionist Vicki managed well I had an enjoyable stay. The only thing missing for me was more seats around the bar area - since it would have been a pleasant place for a pint. The reception area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I have returned today from an overnight stay at The Boat Hotel. Unfortunately I booked this fairly last minute without consulting Tripadvisor beforehand. As other reviewers have mentioned, the "deluxe" room we had (at a cost of £95 advanced purchase rate for b&b) was very tired and did not match the description on the hotel's website which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the fourth time we've stayed at the Boat hotel. We've chosen it mainly for the location as being very close to Loch Garten and convenient for Cairngorm. We stayed this time in one of the junior suite rooms but in the past have been in the garden rooms and the spey suite. Overall i have to say we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boat Hotel M, General Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I note that you have been a regular here in the past and thank you for your custom. I confirm that the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment programme that will see over a 12 months period the entire hotel refurbished, As you have stayed in our Garden rooms and enjoyed them you will be familiar... More 

Doncaster
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For £20 for the night B&B I just cant complain. Bar and restaurant area are comfy. The hotel does need some TLC in the bedroom and accommodation areas but I saw signs that some of the rooms were being redecorated. Free Wifi with no stupid passwords was a big hit with me along with a hearty breakfast in the morning.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boat Hotel M, General Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and thank you for noting that we are working on an improvement programme that will take time to complete. As you also noted that this is reflected in the prices we charge for some rooms. Thank you again. More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a deluxe room through booking.com because I saw very modern and nice bathroom. Nothing compared to reality, it was terrible! not worth £110 per night at all. We even asked to downgrade to a classic room as the price difference was definitely not worth a higher price. Still terrible, since it was the same bad quality as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Warrington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a dark dowdy experience as soon as we entered the door I love old buildings and the character but this place is gloomy with dark green dull walls but we ordered drinks only to have to change our lager 3 times due to Lord knows what floating in the beer.....We should have realised then not to bother any further.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having been before, we decided to go along on spec for a meal this evening. I wis we hadn't. The starters were very small and not at all worth the prices charged. The trio of salmon had no oatcake or piece of bread to accompany it and one of the 'trio' tasted like it was a block of butter with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Forres, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a very disappointing meal here on our cycle tour. Firstly we never saw a Scottish member of staff, and as they cater for tourists I would have thought that people came here expecting a Scottish experience. First look at menu & we were rather shocked at the prices compared to what we usually find. Menu / waitresses were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glasgow
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
13 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have wanted to stay in this hotel for quite some time so seeing the deal on Hotel Connexions I did not hesitate to book the two day deal of DBB. On entering our room we found it to be exceptionally small which actually did not bother us that much as we have a small bedroom at home. The bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

193 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (147)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question