We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Arduaine, Arduaine PA34 4XG, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

528 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    291
    163
    47
    23
    4
See reviews for
76
351
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (528)
  • Mar-May only
    (150)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (176)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (147)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

On arrival at the hotel around 6 ish we had a pleasant welcome but on enquiring about eating in the hotel we were given menus which we found to be expensive for what was on offer. The set menu was expensive given there was a main course of salmon only and one of our party cant eat fish, the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are so sorry to hear that your stay was so disappointing. We have discussed the points you have raised internally to see what we can do better for future guests. We can see from your other reviews that you are a frequent west coast traveler, so please keep... More 

Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a couple of nights during August. We stayed in the extension and found it to be dated and basic, although it did have wonderful views and the setting could not be faulted. Sadly we were very disappointed in the quality of food in the dining room. On the first night of our stay we had booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and hotel comment card dated 14 August. We did discuss your comments internally and I am sorry if you were expecting a quicker personal response. It does sometime take me a couple of weeks to get through the 20-30 cards we get here a week, especially at this time of the year. However, we do... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful setting and excellent service. Views to die for and excellent local produce on the menu. Rooms well equipped - I stayed in the cedar extension and had a patio on a beautiful evening so was especially lucky to be able to sit and read in sunshine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are wonderful views from the comfortable public rooms of this hotel set in a stunning part of Scotland. All bedrooms have good views too. We booked a Summer Special break: “Stay 3 nights DBB get 4th night B&B and a 2 course Bistro meal free!” We greatly enjoyed our three dinners in the restaurant (the fact that the portions... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and I am sorry you do not feel our staff dealt adequately with your noise disturbance. Calum and I do, indeed, live on the property, but like yourselves, we do actually need time off from work to go on holiday so there are times when we are not here. We... More 

Kinross
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I spent four nights on the Summer break deal that gave us three nights dinner, bed and breakfast eating in the Restaurant with a free night dining in the Bistro. I would say first of all that the accommodation in the Cedar Wing was comfortable and the view amazing. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are disappointed to hear that your dining experience was not up to the high standard we usually deliver from our kitchen. I will pass on your comments to our Head Chef so that he can review the menus during the time that you stayed. we do hope that... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stopped off here on our way to Oban, we were met by friendly staff and shown to a room with an amazing view of the Loch. Dinner in the bistro was standard, we both had fish and chips followed by a cheese board. The cheese board was fantastic and the wine menu was perfect. It would've had 5 stars if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing a review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear about your hard eggs and have passed on your comment to our Head Chef. We hope we can welcome you back here again sometime in the future. Kind regards Rachel and Calum More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We spent last week in a holiday cottage in Glen Coe which was a bit of a disappointment for a few reasons (the cottage not Glen Coe!). We decided to look for a night on the coast via late rooms and this hotel popped up with a very good deal. Having eaten in the bistro here when passing a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing a review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you are able to come back again sometime soon. Kind regards Rachel and Calum More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed in the main building room #9 was of a good size with a comfortable bed and refurbished bathroom. The water is a bit brown and with not much pressure. Staff in general where a bit cold. Breakfast was OK. The view is of the loch is nice but I preferred the one of the Crinan hotel near the canal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon. Kind regards Rachel and Calum More 

ESSEX ENGLAND
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

We came across this restaurant by chance while travelling to Oban. It actually part of a hotel – Loch Melfort Hotel. We did not want their fine dining restaurant, so went to their bistro. The bistro was nicely decorated with lots of small pictures. The staff we friendly. The food. 8 scallops. [£ 15.50] I thought these were going to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

We arrived at Loch Melfort Hotel on the 14th June for our honeymoon. Its true what the other reviewers say, the view is simply stunning... could have happily sat there for a good few weeks and watched the wildlife etc...thats were the 'good part' of the review ends. We had the best room, costing in the region of £220 per... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a lengthy review and we are sorry to hear that your stay did not match your expectations. Our staff worked really hard to ensure that you had the myriad of different balloons on arrival - sorry that they failed to put in a card to congratulate you - that was an oversight as it is... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Cedar Wing(11)
  • Main house(4)
  • Very good(3)
  • National Trust(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

164 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (123)
Viewed
View from room (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
3:57
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arduaine
18.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 stars 1,842 reviews
13.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel & Spa
12.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
21.3 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay