We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Arduaine, Arduaine PA34 4XG, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    154
    43
    20
    4
See reviews for
74
332
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (505)
  • Mar-May only
    (148)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (155)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (147)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Doune
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently stayed here for a long weekend with the Rolls Royce Enthusiasts Club, the service during the weekend both from reception staff and restaurant were excellent, as well as help given during the planning stages beforehand. In addition the location and views are exceptional and the food lived up to the high standards we had expected. An added bonus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for 4 nights in early April; lots of rain but the views over Loch Melfort are wonderful. Rooms have been renovated and are comfortable; ground floor ones have french windows to a tiny seating area looking out over the loch. It's not jet-set luxury (no gym, pool, business centre) but you don't need any of that stuff up here.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just had a wonderful and relaxing stay at the Loch Melfort hotel for a couple of nights. The highlight of this hotel are the stunning views over the loch, all the main lounge area's and both restaurants have large panoramic windows. We stayed in the Cedar wing in and upstairs room with large patio windows and a balcony, once again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent three nights at the Loch Melfort Hotel with fifty members of our car club. There are a lot of plus points for the hotel - wonderful situation overlooking the Melfort Bay with Arduaine Gardens a hundred yards away; clean comfortable rooms with easy to regulate heating system; friendly staff; large car park, lounge and bar. It would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Consett, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights in April 2015. Chose the best weeks to go as the weather was beautiful which made the views Even more spectacular! Stayed in the cedar wing , lovely double bed with balcony leading directly onto a lovely grass patch right near some highland cows. You can walk right down to the sea edge. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A wonderful return visit to a beautiful part of Scotland and a great hotel. Don't let the initial look of the Cedar wing put you off, the rooms are large and light with your own private balcony that look out onto a fantastic view. My room on both occasions has been spotless and very comfortable, with plenty of tea, coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The setting is lovely but the motel style accommodation not so nice. Better fitting patio style doors would certainly go a long way to improving the temperature of the room - draughty. Quality of the bed linen is poor and looked like it had seen many better days. Furnishings are generally quite tired looking. Room fresheners only work when there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for writing your review on us and we have passed on your comments to our team.All our patio windows and doors are adjustable because the building is wooden and in bad storms it moves! It shouldn't take a guest to spot a problem like you did, but if so it is easily fixable. Kind regards Rachel and Calum More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the cedar wing on the ground floor and the views from the patio were fantastic, the patio is a great feature of the room. The room itself is nice, the bed was two singles pushed together which didn't make for the comfiest nights sleep, however everything was clean and the bathroom was fine. We ate in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing a review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back here sometime soon. Kind regards Rachel and Calum More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Trip advisor thing is a bit of a double edged sword, because we all have different experiences in life and different expectations and the poor hoteliers have to either just stick to their business plan and forget the individual guests or disappear into some undefined orifice trying to please everyone. Having called in on many occasions whilst visiting the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing such a comprehensive review, we have noted your comments and will make sure we get everything attended to. Kind regards Rachel and Calum More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were blown away by the stunning setting of the Loch Melfort hotel, and loved the very relaxed and family friendly atmosphere in the bistro. Kids had a great time on the playframe, at the beach and running round the gardens. A real gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing a lovely review and we are so glad you and the children enjoyed your stay. We have just changed the seat on the swing to one of the more funky large circular ones and it seems to be a real hit! We hope we can welcome you back here again soon. Kind regards Rachel and Calum More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

157 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
View from room (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
3:57
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities