We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Diani Blue

Diani Beach Road | P.O. Box 5107, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Diani Blue
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    10
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
120
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (182)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night in this beautiful boutique hotel. It's located right on the beach with fabulous view. There are only 6 rooms, so we felt really special in a little private oasis. The rooms are very comfortable with big windows, and you can find nice organic bathroom amenities:) love it! The food is so so yummy! We tried different... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irlkenya, Owner at Diani Blue, responded to this review

Wow, such a wonderful review! We are totally spoilt living and working in this beach paradise. The staff are so pleased that you enjoyed our food and service, we look forward to hosting you again in the future, make it a longer stay..... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a lovely small and personal hotel right on the beach. The staff are all smiling and helpful and the rooms comfortable with air con and mosquito nets The pool is small and good Good value and intimate The food is varied and high quality with a good bar

Was this review helpful? Yes
irlkenya, Owner at Diani Blue, responded to this review

The smiling staff really appreciated your comments. It is such fun catering for guests with the huge variety of fresh seafood from the Indian Ocean available. Glad we provided value and we look forward to your next visit. More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can highly recommend The Diani Blue hotel, a group of us recently had a fantastic stay! The staff could not have been more welcoming and accommodating, the food fantastic and the rooms clean and well decorated. The location was stunning, right on the beautiful beach - it was the perfect way to end our wonderful Kenya trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes
irlkenya, Owner at Diani Blue, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. It was great fun hosting your group and seeing you all enjoy the Blue! We hope to host you on your return to Kenya. More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

This small hotel is a special treat if you are looking for sun sand and service or a place to relax at the end of a working day. Six cottage rooms overlook the pool and the whole place over looks the white powdery sands of Diani Beach. All the rooms are comfortable, spacious and benefit from the cooling sea breeze,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irlkenya, Owner at Diani Blue, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review. The staff are particularly pleased to have their dedication and service acknowledged. We are having great fun running the Blue and it is a privilege being involved in this great location in the heart of Diani Beach. The seafood, fresh out of the Indian ocean, has become our trademark. We look forward to hosting... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

I stayed for a week in this lovely hotel. The rooms were excellent and air-conditioned. The menu options were delicious and varied, with a wonderful beachside barbeque at the weekend. The hotel is immediately next to the beach, which has immaculate white sand. The hotel staff are very obliging and there is round-the-clock security. It was lovely to stay in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irlkenya, Owner at Diani Blue, responded to this review

So pleased that you enjoyed The Blue. It is just such a privilege working on this incredible beach property in the heart of Diani. Come back soon to try more of our fresh seafood. More 

Hertford UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

This was our fourth visit to Diani Blue (which used to be called Asha Cottages). This time we stayed 3 weeks! We loved every minute. Diani Blue is exceptional for a number of reasons: the location is amazing - overlooking the Indian Ocean on a beautiful stretch of white sandy beach. At some times of year the beach can be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irlkenya, Owner at Diani Blue, responded to this review

What a pleasure hosting a couple who really enjoy the location and the food. We are having a great time running the Blue thanks to the repeat guests from the Asha Cottage era and lots of new adventurers. We look forward to your return and will be trying a few new things without losing the charm of the old. More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

I visited Asha Cottage with family in August after a 10 day Safari. After the 5am starts and long days we had been having, we were looking forward to some relaxation. Asha Cottage is only 5 minutes down the road from the local airstrip, so very convenient if you fly in. We were greeted warmly on our arrival, and knew... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
irlkenya, Owner at Diani Blue, responded to this review

Very constructive review, thank you. While we have changed the name to Diani Blue, the ethos remains the same and the stunning location continues to Stun. We look forward to your return soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We stayed over Christmas 2014 for 8 nights and had a wonderful and relaxing holiday. Two minutes from the airstrip and twenty yards from the beach. Opt for the Blue a Room if you can - very spacious and right by the beach and next to the curvy pool. The service was exemplary but the highlight, day after day, night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irlkenya, Owner at Diani Blue, responded to this review

James So glad that you enjoyed Diani Blue and its food. We are very lucky to have such talent in the Kitchen and so much fresh food locally available! Wine comment noted and will continually review. We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you in the future. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We stayed for One sunny week at diani blue and what can i say:-) Very nice rooms...we had the blue room closest to the sea.... Fantastic food...very personal atmosphere...the staff always in mind to help you...there is nothing to complain... But stay away from the shop at the beach...you can't trust them to be fair... Hopefully we will come back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
irlkenya, Owner at Diani Blue, responded to this review

Great to have hosted you and we look forward to you returning to our little piece of paradise on Diani Beach. I am sorry that you had a poor experience with a local beach shop, we will build a fun boutique shop before the end of the year where you can enjoy hassle free shopping! More 

Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

This property has changed name, ownership and management. It is now known as Diani Blue. I have put reviews on as Diani Blue Hotel and Diani Blue Restaurant - both wonderful. Please take a look at those.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
irlkenya, Owner at Diani Blue, responded to this review

Thank you for the message. We are making no big changes to the infrastructure, 6 rooms make for a peaceful holiday on one of Africa's top five beaches. Hope to see you back at the Blue soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities