We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sands at Nomad

4.5 of 5 Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Sands at Nomad
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Sands at Nomad
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    41
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
39
136
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (244)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

white beach, clear beach waters, impeccably good food (milk shake could use more ice cream though). Staff here are friendly and very responsive and service was very timely. Given environment's heat, air conditioned room was heavenly. The monkeys though cute and funny can be a nuisance and you have to keep watch especially when you have food and drinks by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review on tripadvisor! We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope you will tell your friends about your experience too! Looking forward to welcome you back! More 

San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you Nomad. What I would do without you I do not know. I love it here and will keep coming back. There is no better beach hotel. A long wide plot of land on the best beach I have ever been to I travel a lot. This year I went to fiji, the phillipines, hawaii, zanzibar, but I started... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review and all the nice comments! Truly we have a great team working for our guests, most of our staff members are with us since long! We are all looking forward to your next visit!! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we've just staying at the Sands at Nomad over New Year and were sad to leave. the staff are so friendly and helpful, Richard, the manager is very hands-on and clearly they are all happy to please him under his expert eye for detail. the beach, sea, pool are all lovely and our room, the really big one with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

We are always happy to please our esteemed guests! Thank you so much for your kind review and we truly hope to welcome you back soon! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed on a number of occasions most recently in December 2014 and always find it reliably good and offering great value. The restaurant is in a nice spot right next to the beach, although we noticed prices there have risen materially in the last year and be careful of the fearless monkeys pinching your food at breakfast! Service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review! Our aim is to offer our clients the best quality in food items, therefore we had to adjust our retail prices. Nevertheless I hope you have enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully you will come back soon!! More 

Kisumu, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had booked a sea view room but got upgraded to this amazing room number 33. Beautiful interior Swahili design, felt very special in this room. A lot of space and very nice art pieces. Really everything I could wish for. This was my second visit as a hotel guest and also the second time to be upgraded. Very warm and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! You are truly lucky to be upgraded twice- hopefully it will happen to you a third time ! Looking forward to welcome you back!! More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to The Sands at Nomad in early November, it was off season, though the hotel was booked. We were two adults and three children ages 2-4. We got two connecting rooms and they gave us a good rate. The place is lovely. The food is excellent, especially the AMAZING breakfast buffet bar, there is ANYTHING you want on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

I am very happy that you and your family had enjoyed your stay with us! It is embarrassing though to find out through your review, that our jacuzzi pump did not work any more. Thank you! This has been rectified now, and guests can enjoy bubbly water again! Hope to see you back soon! More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went to Nomads for a family vacation/ celebrations in October 2014 for my brothers wedding. From the minute we arrived at the Hotel, everything about the Hotel was wonderful. The hotel is located in a very nice and peaceful area, right next to the beach. unique Swimming pool, really beautiful rooms and cottages with front row view. Great food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review! I hope to be able to welcome you back to The Sands at Nomad soon again! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for a week in December . It's the most amazing place we have ever stayed in and we travel lots. Everything was perfect for us. We had an upgrade to our own little beach cottage which was virtually on the White sand. The warm Indian Ocean water which is lovely green is the best in the world.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

The staff and management is very pleased to hear, that you had a great vacation! That s what we are here for! Looking forward to welcome you back to the Best Beach in Africa!! More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014 via mobile

I can be quite picky with hotels, especially when my expectations are set high prior to arrival. When I booked my stay at the hotel they were. Although, I found a very good bargain making my stay cheaper than most of the hotels around, based on the other reviews I was expecting a 5 stars hotel. Guess what? It surpassed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! It makes me and our team so happy to exceed the expectations of our clients!! Thank you for being with us and hope to see you again soon!! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

We had a lovely time visiting 'The Sands at Nomad'. We had an excellent welcome from all the friendly staff, especially Dorah. We arrived for the craft fair and then spent two nights at Nomads. We loved the 5 metre deep pool with the tunnel to swim through. Wonderful sand all along the beach!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dianibeachboy, General Manager at The Sands at Nomad, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! I am very happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully we see you back soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Sands at Nomad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Nomad

Address: Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands at Nomad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Sands at Nomad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani
Sands At Nomad Diani
Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach

301 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (261)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (63)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (61)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay