We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Diani Beach hotels

Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
80%
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014
Pete H Nairobi, Kenya
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    163
    64
    32
    18
See reviews for
117
320
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (563)
  • Mar-May only
    (128)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (165)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (166)
All months
There are newer reviews for Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Beautiful location and very relaxing. It was very quiet when we visited - perhaps too quiet in the bar at night! - but that made it all the more relaxing. Our only complaint was the limited number of sun loungers on the beach and too many people 'reserving' them by leaving clothes/bags etc. even though they were nowhere to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Dear Pete H We are glad to know that you had a relaxing stay us and we appreciate your comments on excellent rooms, good service and food choices. We are in the process of acquiring more sun lounges and also wish to inform you that our policy is No reservation of Sun loungers any time as experience has shown us... More

Monterey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Good food, simple comfortable room, kept immaculate by the cleaners. Everything worked with no shortage of teas and coffee. The pool was amazing again kept in top condition, clean with no ear infections etc. Generally the staff could not do enough to please, our 2 year old Granddaughter was made to feel at home everywhere including the Dinning Room (messing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Competa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This February was our 5th & final stay. The distressing decline remarked in our review of 2 years ago has continued. 1. The absence of beach beds is now critical: I had to creep to the beach in the early dawn, at 06.00 to secure 2 beds, by placing shoes, books etc. I was not the first! By 07.15 all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Management response:

Dear Hugh H, Thank you for the review on your stay. We are so much concerned and are moving with speed to ensure improvement on our quality of services. It is great to see that you noticed efforts being done, for instant the Sun lounges which we are working on to ensure they are available to every guest. We wish... More

Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Not stayed here before but had heard it was one of the nicer hotels on the South Coast. The rooms need a make over desperately, very old and out dated especially the bathrooms which had no hot water a lot of the time. Room keys also had to be constantly re-activated which involved a long walk to reception for this.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

To grow tired of the Diani Reef Beach Resort is to grow tired of life. We stayed there once again for two weeks between 4th and 18th February, 2014. The great aspects of it are a) the wonderful grounds and beach front b) the eager to please, friendly service always with a smile c) the excellent cuisine, particularly the abundance... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed here in November for 3 days. I enjoyed the service alot, the staff all knew my name! I felt very welcome. I also had a relaxing time at the spa with a very professional staff team. I will be going back there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I would like to share my experience I had together with my wife at Diani Reef. We booked this hotel to celebrate our anniversary and it was All and even more than we imagined. Despite some negative comments I encountered on tripadvisor we had not one single complaint. The food was made on a daily base with so love and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks in early January 2014 and had an absolutely fabulous time. We usually do all-inclusive, and in fairness will opt for that option again, but we quickly learned that dropping the odd tip here and there got you first class service and attention at all times. A tip of 400 Kenya shillings (probably about £2.50... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear johnsarah1066, It is great to know that during your stay with us you had an absolutely fabulous time and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the Cooling breeze, Excellent food with superb quality and good choice are well appreciated. We also... More

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Held a family wedding at venue last week ago today, and I still cannot get over just how much of this experience was phenomenal. The staff, beginning with their GM through management, and wait staff were super supportive and availed to our wedding guests (200 plus) a dream like experience. There's no such thing as a perfect event, but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Njoki M, It is great to know that your stay with us and the experience during your family's wedding event was a phenomenal one with an outstanding service and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the super supportive staff across the... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We really enjoyed our time here, the beach bar was fantastic. What really distinguishes this place from others is the friendly attitude of the staff! Frederick, the bar manager, was great! He gave us lots of information about the culture of Kenya and gave excellent service at the bar. The location is perfect and the views are stunning. Remember to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear esmeralda s, It is great to know that your stay with us and the experience was a great atmosphere and enjoyable time and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the Fantastic Beach bar, Friendly attitude of the staff especially our Frederick... More

Do you own or manage Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Reef Beach Resort And Spa
Diani Reef Beach Hotel Ukunda
Diani Reef Grand Ukunda

431 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (419)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (87)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (96)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (129)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa