We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 Diani Beach hotels

Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
80%
Ranked #16 of 28 hotels in Diani Beach
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014
83Daniel Bristol, United Kingdom
Write a Review

558 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    163
    62
    32
    18
See reviews for
115
319
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have visited your hotel twice now .. the second time because a friend insisted that we give you a second try but just like the first time i was highly disappointed. The rooms and facilities are sub standard, the buffet is rather too boring and repetitive, on the 3rd day we actually went elsewhere to eat after seeing what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Lovely experience, the hotel was of high standard and the beach was clean. The food was excellent and the service amazing. Bathrooms need a refurbishment but not too bad. The water sport section was abit overpriced for Kenya and was not manned so it took ages to find out the rates.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DRBRS, Management at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 83Daniel, We appreciate your feedback on the Lovely experience you had in our Resort and the comment on the excellent food and service offered. We are working on scheduled light refurbishments on our Bathrooms and rooms in general. We have taken note of your comment on our Water sports Centre and we will action on it. We will be... More

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed here early March 2014. First off, when we first arrived the treatment could be better. We were kept waiting with our bags, after a long drive, as the sole receptionist tended to other guests. When we finally got our room, the AC was in a horrible state and the room had a damp odour. Clearly it had not been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Nathan W First of all we like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your comments and hope you accept our apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced. Let us assure you that we will look into each and every point you mentioned and take appropriate action. We are putting every effort to... More

Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Beautiful location and very relaxing. It was very quiet when we visited - perhaps too quiet in the bar at night! - but that made it all the more relaxing. Our only complaint was the limited number of sun loungers on the beach and too many people 'reserving' them by leaving clothes/bags etc. even though they were nowhere to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Pete H We are glad to know that you had a relaxing stay us and we appreciate your comments on excellent rooms, good service and food choices. We are in the process of acquiring more sun lounges and also wish to inform you that our policy is No reservation of Sun loungers any time as experience has shown us... More

Monterey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Good food, simple comfortable room, kept immaculate by the cleaners. Everything worked with no shortage of teas and coffee. The pool was amazing again kept in top condition, clean with no ear infections etc. Generally the staff could not do enough to please, our 2 year old Granddaughter was made to feel at home everywhere including the Dinning Room (messing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Competa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This February was our 5th & final stay. The distressing decline remarked in our review of 2 years ago has continued. 1. The absence of beach beds is now critical: I had to creep to the beach in the early dawn, at 06.00 to secure 2 beds, by placing shoes, books etc. I was not the first! By 07.15 all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Dear Hugh H, Thank you for the review on your stay. We are so much concerned and are moving with speed to ensure improvement on our quality of services. It is great to see that you noticed efforts being done, for instant the Sun lounges which we are working on to ensure they are available to every guest. We wish... More

Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Not stayed here before but had heard it was one of the nicer hotels on the South Coast. The rooms need a make over desperately, very old and out dated especially the bathrooms which had no hot water a lot of the time. Room keys also had to be constantly re-activated which involved a long walk to reception for this.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

To grow tired of the Diani Reef Beach Resort is to grow tired of life. We stayed there once again for two weeks between 4th and 18th February, 2014. The great aspects of it are a) the wonderful grounds and beach front b) the eager to please, friendly service always with a smile c) the excellent cuisine, particularly the abundance... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed here in November for 3 days. I enjoyed the service alot, the staff all knew my name! I felt very welcome. I also had a relaxing time at the spa with a very professional staff team. I will be going back there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I would like to share my experience I had together with my wife at Diani Reef. We booked this hotel to celebrate our anniversary and it was All and even more than we imagined. Despite some negative comments I encountered on tripadvisor we had not one single complaint. The food was made on a daily base with so love and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Diani Reef Beach Hotel Ukunda
Diani Reef Beach Hotel
Diani Reef Beach Resort And Spa
Diani Reef Grand Ukunda
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.