We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sands At Chale Island

Certificate of Excellence
P.O. Box 5546 | Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sands At Chale Island
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Sands At Chale Island
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    78
    22
    9
    1
See reviews for
30
175
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (287)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (72)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (104)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Sands At Chale Island
See the most recent reviews
Xxxx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

This was our 4th visit to Chale Island. We love the quietness and the beauty of the island. The superior bandas are very private and spacious and have a lovely view. The staff is very pleasant and will go out of its way to please. The dive centre on Chale island is very good. Very nice staff and excellent dive... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hotelplan

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheSands-Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We wait for your next stay. Warm Regards More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Probably the worst place I've been to in Kenya as far as food is concerned. The food served was so bad that we only nibbled in it, and returned all that we were served. Surprising that Italian management can't even turn out a pasta or a pizza. After 2 days we asked to be moved to Sands at Nomad (in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheSands-Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Dear Ka_Moho Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, albeit with no positive criticism which unfortunately makes the review rather unhelpful to us. Seeing as our main clientele (80%) over the last 8 years were Italian (a market that we have recently lost due to Kenya’s tourism issues) and they have always roundly praised our food, especially... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

The views from Chale Island are amazing; more so from the over-water suite which has an outdoor jacuzzi and deck overlooking the ocean. Though to get to the beach you have to go across the island, not a long walk! The breeze and sunrise / sunset views from here are spectacular. Suite was spacious and clean with all modern amenities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheSands-Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review! We are very happy that you had enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again! Warm Regards More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

This was our second visit to Chale Island and, if anything, was better than before. We were welcomed back by many of the staff who remembered us, and even those who didn't afforded us the same exemplary courtesy, service and friendliness. This year, we stayed in a superior Banda overlooking the white beach, and took our showers in the open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheSands-Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and comments about our beautiful island. We are very pleased that you so enjoyed your holidays. We hope to welcome you again. Best regards More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

The island is quiet small, and well a suprising beauty. The cottages are next to the ocean. white sand beach, sunset kayaking, snookering, restaurant right above a mangrove swamp, and all that for an affordable price!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSands-Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your review, and we are glad you appreciated very single moment of your holiday in chale! Warm regards. More 

Budapest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Chale Island is a coral reef itself, a place which is recommended for photographers and nature-lovers and is relatively easy to access by road from Mombasa. The island provides habitat for many lifeforms. Various birds (ibis, heron, cormoran, stork, etc), baboons and colobus monkeys are waiting for the tide to go out and pick up the most delicious bites from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheSands-Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in chale, we hope to see you again to finish your artwork. Best regards More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

The Sands at Chale Island was a beautiful destination for a relaxing and fun holiday. Although we only spent one night we enjoyed swimming, a diving taster lesson, canoeing and lovely buffet food. It is a great destination with lots of fun activities planned throughout the day. It was worth paying extra for the bandas overlooking the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheSands-Kenya, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again. Best Regards More 

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Just returned from one week holiday spent in Sands at Chale and we just loved it! It was lovely and beautiful everything was perfect! Starting from the extremely friendly and helpful staffs to the cooperative and caring management who will always be there to make sure you spend your holiday to the fullest! We totally fall in love with this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andras P, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you soon. Warm Regards More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

The Sands at Chale Island is paradise. The Island is gorgeous, sparkling white beaches and clear waters. Every inch of the island is perfect and makes for one of the most romantic vacation destinations I have been to yet! Whether you are staying in a standard room or one of the superior bandas, each room has an amazing view of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andras P, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your review, and we are looking forward to see you again! Warm regards. More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

This was a wonderful family vacation. . The food was wonderful loved the way they keep cold buffet items refrigerated the most unique fridge system. 5 star hotels can learn for this. The Bandas are beautiful (we had 2) both clean and well stocked. Lovely sun patio with bed for afternoon naps, racks to hang wet swimsuits and such. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andras P, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands At Chale Island, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and comments about our beautiful island. We are very please that you so enjoyed your diving and have sent your comments to Eric who gave his slow smile We have looked into the Henna tattoo and will definitely take steps to rectify this. When you next visit us, please come to the SPA... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

386 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (358)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (70)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (91)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Other (109)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question