We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Palms Beach Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Southern Palms Beach Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Already 5 years we went to Southern Palms. Since the hotel is no longer available at our travel agency we couldn't get the prices we got in the past. I mail the hotel and explained the situation and asked them for a better price as the prices they offered on the website. Since they did not lowered their prices we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim240368
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tim, Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. It's such a pleasure to hear of your determination to always return to Southern Palms Beach Resort having stayed with us 5 years ago. We are sorry to hear that you could not manage to book our hotel through your preferred travel agency. We have also noted that... More 

Mestre, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a nice vacation from 7 to 10 January 2016 at the southern palm resort.The position is wonderful, the staff are friendly, the place is beutiful but one thing i didn't like is the Italian Restaurant that the food is not at the required level.The second dinner of our stay we decided to eat in Italian restaurant and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Henry M
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Henry, Thank you Henry for your review on Southern Palms Beach Resort, we are happy that you found the hotel wonderful and the place beautiful, the staff are happy to hear that they met with your approval. We are sorry you did not enjoy the food at the Italian Restaurant, we have addressed the issue to the Chef with... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the place over Christmas and new year 2015 with a group of friends. The place had great food and facilities however I fail to understand how the hotel can afford to avail poor service over peak season yet the sector is ailing for tourists . To make matters worse on new years eve there was a black out.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank krishnashah2016
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Krishnashah, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. It was indeed a pleasure for us to host you and the entire group over the festive season. We appreciate your comment on our good food, however we have noted your concern during the New Year’s Eve. New Year’s Eve is very... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I submitted the following to the hotel's infodesk@ email address on the 7th of January 2016. Dear Southern Palms Beach Resort Hotel Management Team, I was a guest of yours for a four-day New Year’s Eve stay at your hotel. I am an active contributor to Trip-Advisor and wanted to share my (draft) report with you a week before I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RMJ1066
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review on your recent stay at Southern Palms Beach Resort. We received your earlier comment dated 7th January 2016 on email, however we had to take time to investigate the matter further hence the delay in replying. We would also like to assure you that we always take... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were a group of about 50 Friends who were at the resort for 8 nights. It was a reunion for us On New Year's Eve the lights went out and apparently there was no back up power. No explanations from management as to what was going on . Absolutely no word from them. There was no power the whole... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beiju S
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Beiju, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Southern Palms Beach Resort. We have noted your concerns during the New Year’s Eve and would like to apologize on the same. New Year’s Eve is very important to us and many guests visit that season just to be part of the huge... More 

Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been there Dec 23-30 2015, great food, pools, nice crew and other attractions, but we've been stolen 200 USD from room 475 and for the first day the fridge and the air condtioning were broken. / Byliśmy 23-30.12.2015 r., świetne jedzenie, duże baseny, przemiła obsługa i dodatkowe atrakcje to na plus, na minus kradzież 200 USD z pokoju... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom-the-Lawyer
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tom, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay in Southern Palms Beach Resort. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our Resort, pool, food and the staff who ensured you had a great time by their hard work and friendliness. We will be sure to thank them all. We sincerely apologize for the... More 

Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had great 7 nights and on the last night. That is new years eve. The hotel staff had made a great effort with the new years party. Power went at 9.30pm not to return till next morning. The hotel did not have back up power. It was a complete disaster. The sad thing was not a single person from... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hashit C
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Hashit, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Southern Palms Beach Resort. We are pleased to hear that you had a great time during your first 7 nights stay and appreciate your comment on the effort made by our staff to make the New Year ’s Eve a success. We need to point... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Imagine travelling 9 hours via road and getting to your paid destination and yet you are stranded for 4 hours. The most annoying part of this whole thing is that the front desk personnel tells you she is waiting for room service to check you in. Seriously 4 hours to clean a single room? We were supposed to be dumb... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joojo C
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Joojo, Thank you for being our Guest and for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay in Southern Palms Beach Resort. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We are sorry for the delay on check-in considering your tiredness after a long trip. We have... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I will break out my review into sections that i feel need to be highlighted for any traveller Arrival experience was poor: We arrived at the hotel at around 1:00pm, we were given some shady coconut juice. Considering it was very hot (duh its Mombasa) I would expect them to be a little chilled or offer some cold water instead.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Isaac M
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Isaac, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Southern Palms Beach Resort. Our team works very hard to ensure that our guests' stay is both memorable and enjoyable and your comments confirming this after checking-in are highly appreciated. We are particularly pleased that you loved our rooms, food and the beach which stood out on... More 

Finedon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our third stay here over the Christmas and new year period. The room was clean, tidy and well looked after. The cleaner couldn't do enough for us. The general facilities are excellent and the two pools are out of this world. The food was also consistently very good. Particularly good if you like Indian food. We do.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gill W
southernpalmsbeach, Guest Relations Manager at Southern Palms Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Gill, Many thanks for your fabulous review on your recent stay. We were extremely excited to welcome you back again for the 3rd time. Your comments are most valuable to us and to all prospective guests to our hotel. It was a pleasure for us to have an opportunity to make your stay with us and your holidays in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,289 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1263)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (239)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (314)
Viewed
Dining (162)
Viewed
Room/suite (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from room (53)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:23
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (416)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diani Beach
4.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 33 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 33 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#12 of 33 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#16 of 33 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
1.1 mi away
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
#14 of 33 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#9 of 33 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay