We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort

North Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    86
    63
    28
    10
    8
See reviews for
33
85
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (195)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went here for one of our honeymoon escapades, and we really had a swell time at the resort!... The staff from watchmen, receptionist, room attendants, chef, waiter etc, had great people relationship coupled with very friendly and helpful, the rooms were exquisitely beautiful and very clean with efficient room service. Actually the room was addictive! We enjoyed evening walks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IOBR, General Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Waudo M, Honeymoon is a very special moment in ones life! We are super proud that we made yours special and there will never be a better place for all your Anniversaries in the many years to come! Diani Beach...Voted by World Travel Awards as Africa's Best Beach Destination 2014 and 2015 is indeed serene and very clean. Your... More 

mombasa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a weekend with family. No regrets at all. The new rooms are looking great and everything is top notch from hot water to cool AC and comfy bed. The meals were also very good with attentive staff. The reception is looking really fresh and cool. The entrance to the resort has also been redone and is attractive and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IOBR, General Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mombasahotelier, We are so pleased to read your review! Its guests like you who encourage and motivate us to continue giving excellent service to our guests. Thank you very much Re-opening IOBR four months ago came with mixed feelings at a time when business was quite low but we took courage in the beauty of this Resort, the uniqueness... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i have visited Diani and stayed at some of the hotels there, which i must say, are really good. Most of them are 5 or 4 star hotels, and popular with the tourists. I however did not know that tucked away in a beautiful corner of Diani, was a gem called Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort. I was skeptical at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IOBR, General Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Nderitu J, Wow wow! what a breath taking review! This brings so much joy and honour to the team at IOBR, thank you very much, we are truly humbled, we note with pride that its your first review ever! Indeed we are tucked at the extreme end of the beautiful Diani Beach; voted by World Travel Awards as Africa's... More 

Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach hotel after attending a conference around the Diani area. The rooms have recently been refurbished and the whole place has a newness about it which I quite like. Everything works perfectly! The rooms have been modernized yet still maintain some aspects of swahili culture. The standards of cleanliness are high and their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IOBR, General Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Emily M, Asante sana for taking your time to review our resort. We are glad that you loved it! The newly re-opened IOBR is bursting with freshness and new colours after 18 months closure for a major refurbishment, its a joy to know this appealed to you and you felt the newness in everything around you. Staff make a... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had an amazing time at the resort. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were beautiful and very clean with efficient room service. I enjoyed swimming in the pool and walking along the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IOBR, General Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Veronica K, Thank you very much for your review. The team at IOBR is so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you telling the world about our friendly staff, clean rooms and excellent service. Diani has been voted by World Travel Awards as Africa's Best Beach Destination, we pride in having the best... More 

Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was clean, slightly worn down, giant bugs along the way and out side the door. Incredible views, great food, and night entertainment show. Didnt use the pool or enter the water due to work schedule. But we loved the stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IOBR, General Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Shawnvierratravels, Wow! Incredible experience and unbelievable describes your last stay with us! thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. People travel for great experiences and its a joy to know that yours was simply incredible! IOBR re-opened 4 months ago after a major refurbishment of the rooms, public areas and a brand new kitchen , we... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in IOBC for 4 nights and we really enjoyed it. The rooms are lovely, the beach area is clean and well-kept, the pool is nice but the best part was the stuff. all our waiters and barmen were amazing! especially morris and the other barmen. unfortunately due to bad economy the hotel was a bit empty. which for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IOBR, General Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Marheit, Thank you so much for your review! we are now IOBR not IOBC, Indian Ocean Beach Resort re-opened its doors 4 months ago after 18 months closure for a major refurbishment . We are glad you enjoyed the rooms, the beach and the pool. The best part being the staff is such great news to us, a great... More 

Rygge Municipality, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

We were a group of 14 people - family and friends - who stayed a little more than a week at Indian Ocean. We had a lovely vacation. We stayed in spacious beachfront rooms, newly renovated and with all the comfort of home. The beach is beautiful and the gardens are kept very nice and tidy. Indian Ocean's friendly staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IOBR, General Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ionjo,' Wow! what a beautiful review of our Resort! We are very committed to deliver an unforgettable experience to all our guests at all times! such feedback can only steer the team to greater heights and we delighted that you took your time to tell world what a great time you had. Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort had been... More 

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

After a break of two years I was visiting this hotel for the 7th time. Because of renovation it was not possible to stay there. But the renovation is absolutely not ready yet. I got a room (in spite of low-season) rates are much higher than I used to pay during the past 8 yrs. Garden still beautiful, food is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IOBR, General Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Henk, Thank you for taking your time to talk about your experience at the Indiani Ocean Beach. We note with so much pride that your recent stay was the eighth with the Resort and we very much appreciate your loyalty to us. We also note with concern that a few things did not go well following the just... More 

Kenya
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Jacaranda Group, formerly Indian Ocean Beach Club Reopened for Easter 2015 under new management this is a truly wonderful hotel with fantastic potential. Being a long- established hotel the grounds are spacious, accommodating the surreal Boabab trees and renovated cottage accommodation”. Of course overlooking beautiful quiet stretch of Diani beach Rooms Superb, clean, tidy private, not stacked as you find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IOBR, General Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Gulifybear, Thank for your review on the newly reopened Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort. Bursting with new colors and freshness, we are delighted to let the world know that each and every aspect of our guests stay with us matters to us. Food and service form the heart of a holiday experience, it's a joy to know that Victoria... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

273 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (246)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
0:32
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
3.3 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.7 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#1 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#23 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay