We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

South Coast Backpackers

1400 K.F.I. Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda P.O. Box 5373, Kenya
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Coast Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
South Coast Backpackers
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    4
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
6
41
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (99)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I came to South Coast because of a recommendation in Nairobi, I actually never planned to go to Diani. But I'm so glad I did, it was the perfect start into my travel. The place is simply amazing, it's incredible that this location is a budget Hostel - you could most likely point way higher prices for this. It has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited this hotel alone but i made so many friends here even if Japanese. (Not good to speak English you know.) Everyone is very kind to me everytime, i will visit again to stay this hotel. Thank you for nice staying. このハウス!自分一人でいったんですけど!日本人誰もおらんくて不安やったところ、優しくみんな 声をかけてくれて 、すぐに友達できました!いろんな国から来ていて、いろんな話を聞くことができます。その上ハウスで毎日なにかイベントがあるから、みんな仲良くなれる!これほどみんなが一緒におることができるホテルなかなかないです!是非!いってください!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bordeaux, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came here according to the reviews, and was not disappointed ! I decided to extend my stay and ended up almost never leaving. The place is one of those fancy villa that you usually can't afford, and all for a backpacker price. For 10 euros you can chill by the pool and order drinks from the bar which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This place is ah-mazing. My friend's and I were looking for somewhere to spend a week in Diani and we came across this place online. We called and booked the place as we were desperate and it was affordable. We really had no idea what to expect. Everyone was so friendly I didn't want to leave. The pool is awesome... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Koper, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

A beautiful backpackers place, hidden behind a high fence. Great staff and great atmosphere. The staff tried to include everyone with games, going out and chilling around. They were very helpful and I understood why people book for a few nights and end up staying much longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because of the good reviews and the fact it had a pool, but were hugely disappointed. We camped as there were no rooms available but were kept awake until 4am due to noise from the bar. There was one bathroom for the dorm and all campers, which was filthy dirty, smelly and had used razors left in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
travelbuff2012, Manager at South Coast Backpackers, responded to this review

Nick, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make everyone's stay a pleasant one. We did not receive any complaint from you while you were here, and your stay was more than a year ago, so I can not say for sure what happened the weekend you were here. Our policy... More

Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I was looking for a house in diani for me and my friends to just kick it for about a week and just before we went on the trip we found south coast bag packers online I called them up and in less than 2 minutes I was convinced that's the place we needed everyone is just beautiful and ready... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I was on the coast of Kenya for about a week, and my only regret of my time on the coast is that I only spent one night here. I had the absolute time of my life staying at South Coast Backpackers. The hostel and grounds are beautiful, with a nice shower, superb pool, fully stocked and reasonable bar, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Staying at South Coast Backpackers in Diani was the highlight of my trip to the coast. I arrived early Saturday morning and the place wasn't quite awake yet but management showed me to my room and the kitchen where they make delicious home cooked meals nearly all day! I ate a hearty breakfast by the pool while I became friends... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vail
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I had a great time at SCB! As a volunteer in Kenya it was a great place to get away for a weekend. The prices are extremely reasonable. It was also awesome to have the option to either go out and grab food or simply get food there. The food was awesome and the staff was very nice and accommodating.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to South Coast Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Backpackers

Address: 1400 K.F.I. Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda P.O. Box 5373, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your South Coast Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay