We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Diani Beach accommodations

South Coast Backpackers

1400 K.F.I. Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda P.O. Box 5373, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added South Coast Backpackers to your Saves list
South Coast Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
93%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Eva N Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    4
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
6
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is ah-mazing. My friend's and I were looking for somewhere to spend a week in Diani and we came across this place online. We called and booked the place as we were desperate and it was affordable. We really had no idea what to expect. Everyone was so friendly I didn't want to leave. The pool is awesome... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Koper, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A beautiful backpackers place, hidden behind a high fence. Great staff and great atmosphere. The staff tried to include everyone with games, going out and chilling around. They were very helpful and I understood why people book for a few nights and end up staying much longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here because of the good reviews and the fact it had a pool, but were hugely disappointed. We camped as there were no rooms available but were kept awake until 4am due to noise from the bar. There was one bathroom for the dorm and all campers, which was filthy dirty, smelly and had used razors left in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
travelbuff2012, Manager at South Coast Backpackers, responded to this review

Nick, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make everyone's stay a pleasant one. We did not receive any complaint from you while you were here, and your stay was more than a year ago, so I can not say for sure what happened the weekend you were here. Our policy... More

Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was looking for a house in diani for me and my friends to just kick it for about a week and just before we went on the trip we found south coast bag packers online I called them up and in less than 2 minutes I was convinced that's the place we needed everyone is just beautiful and ready... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was on the coast of Kenya for about a week, and my only regret of my time on the coast is that I only spent one night here. I had the absolute time of my life staying at South Coast Backpackers. The hostel and grounds are beautiful, with a nice shower, superb pool, fully stocked and reasonable bar, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staying at South Coast Backpackers in Diani was the highlight of my trip to the coast. I arrived early Saturday morning and the place wasn't quite awake yet but management showed me to my room and the kitchen where they make delicious home cooked meals nearly all day! I ate a hearty breakfast by the pool while I became friends... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vail
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I had a great time at SCB! As a volunteer in Kenya it was a great place to get away for a weekend. The prices are extremely reasonable. It was also awesome to have the option to either go out and grab food or simply get food there. The food was awesome and the staff was very nice and accommodating.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uddevalla, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a great backpacker place. Easy to meet new friends whenever you travel alone like me, you wont feel alone at all! Nice compound with a great pool and many choices when it comes to if you want to sleep in a dorm, private or tent. Not to expensive and the staff and managers are lovely. I liked this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I must admit I stayed here a few years ago, tripadvisor only lets me go back 1 year. I found all the staff incredibly helpful, constantly suggesting places.to go and stuff to do! I stayed in the dorm room but was put in the private at no extra cost! What backpacker would complain?! The food was good, there was an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Clean and comfortable dorms and facilities (could use a few additional bathrooms/showers), cheap and good quality kitchen and bar, nice swimming pool, close enough to the local attractions while still remaining quiet and relatively secluded, friendly and helpful staff and always other travelers hanging about!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage South Coast Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to South Coast Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Backpackers

Address: 1400 K.F.I. Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda P.O. Box 5373, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your South Coast Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Diani Beach with
any amenities