We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Diani Beach hotels

Swahili Beach Resort

Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Swahili Beach Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Swahili Beach Resort to your Saves list
79%
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Diani Beach
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
AdrianZed Broadway, United Kingdom
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    70
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
72
88
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (253)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (73)
All months
Broadway, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for the first time at Swahili Beach as a couple in February this year, for 5 nights, and loved it. I've stayed in over ten Diani Hotels over the years and this is now in my top two. Stylish in the extreme, wonderful staff, superb food, and great service. Admittedly we had one of the suites at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shyamolae, Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate and value all your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Swahili Beach! We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort very soon. Yours, Swahili Beach Management. More

Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I attended a Conference in August 2014 and was booked into the Swahili Beach Resort. The ambiance of the rooms in this hotel was just out of this world wonderful. I love that they used stones to bring out the beauty in the bathroom, the headboard and the room in general. The breakfast was wonderful and they honestly must make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shyamolae, Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Emily M, Firstly, thank you for taking the time out to share your experience of Swahili Beach with the travel community. We are delighted that you appreciated the architecture of the rooms and the pool, and I'm sure our chefs will be pleased to know that you loved their pancakes and the breakfast! Thank you for your honesty about... More

Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

everything at this hotel was more than id expected having been to a few resorts in diani i was expecting more or less the same but wasn't anything like that the staff were very friendly and accommodating to the slightest needs and were attended to with utmost care and professionalism!! i happened to meet the hotel owners during my stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shyamolae, Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dhrupesh, Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review about Swahili Beach! We appreciate and value your comments and hope to welcome you back to Swahili Beach very soon. Yours, Swahili Beach Management. More

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here last month for 4 nights. The place was absolutely breathtaking, very relaxing and just a gem . The staff was exceptional, particularly Alfred, Sihaba, George (guest relations) and Richard. We also had a chance to meet the owner who came across as a very kind and humble person. The next time we visit Ukunda, Swahili Beach will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shyamolae, Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this fantastic review for Swahili Beach. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to the Reception, Guest Relations and F&B teams. We thank you for choosing to stay at Swahili Beach and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort very soon. Yours,... More

Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I found Swahili Beach resort breath taking.The landscaping and physical facilities are excellent.That said, a few things I thought needed improvement.The meal variety is literally non existent.For the 4 nights I stayed there I would have wanted to see more Swahili meals.Starting with breakfast,it was continental(sausage,bacon,eggs etc) and this was the same for all the days.Lunch and dinner varied a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shyamolae, Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write this review; we appreciate your comments and will take them on board very seriously as we aim to improve on the variety of food served and the service levels. We are thrilled that you liked the resort; especially your room and the pool, and we hope to welcome... More

Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We where repeater guests in a 3 week stay for our Holliday. We had a terrible stay. The first 3 days there was hardly food available. It stays a nice places with most of them nice staff. After we came back from our wedding in Tsavo the hotel was Noisy, loud music, local people who payd local rates 100 of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shyamolae, Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. To address some of your points: In terms of the amount of food available, we have 6 food outlets at the resort, however we will take your comment on board for improvement. We respect and value all our guests, no matter where they are from. It is extremely... More

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was invited to Swahili Resort by my boyfriend who won the trip by entering a competition. What a wonderful experience, from the moment we arrived we were spoiled. The staff were super friendly and efficient, and went out of their way to help us with whatever we required. I have such wonderful memories of Swahili Resort, an introduction to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shyamolae, Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to write this wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Swahili Beach and we can't wait to welcome you both back to the resort soon. Swahili Beach Management. More

nairobi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The welcoming services at the Reception lead by Julius was awesome. But the service received there after was very bad and wanting. they need to up their service. Drinks would come after you have finished your meal and you are leaving your table.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shyamolae, Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment and for your positive feedback regarding our reception team. We apologise for the problems you experienced with service and this is something we will look into further to make sure it doesn't happen again. We appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back to Swahili Beach again. More

Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the best in its class and feels you have entered a piece of Art, amazing rooms that blend perfectly with the Swahili culture and each has an artistic effect. Beautiful level swimming pools and most romantic hotel ever experienced. Really they have captured the essence of true Swahili culture. One of its kind in the world

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shyamolae, Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Swahili Beach very soon! More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the environs are phenomenal. the beautiful touch of Swahili landscape and the complexity of the architecture which is refined to the core is more than appealing. from the very step you take into the reception into the expansive infinity pool to the beautiful and safe rooms around. every step is delicate and precise. the water from the beach and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shyamolae, Manager at Swahili Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Swahili Beach very soon. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Swahili Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swahili Beach Resort

Address: Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Swahili Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

248 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (249)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (52)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (37)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay