We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Diani Beach B&Bs / inns

Kinondo Kwetu

4.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Galu Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights, Pay for 2!
Kinondo Kwetu
Ranked #2 of 20 Diani Beach B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Kinondo Kwetu almost imposes relaxation on you the minute you arrive. From the friendly welcome to the sea breeze coming into the beautifully decorated main house, you immediately start to unwind. The cottages we stayed in were spacious and very comfortable. Typically you take an hour or two over breakfast, maybe have a wander along the beach area that is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We visited Kinondu Kwetu after visiting two safari camps. We were met off the plane and as another party were flying in, were driven to the hotel in a car that was totally unsatisfactory for the rocky road that you need to drive along for 2 miles before you get to the hotel. On the way back to the airport,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

One of the absolute best places to enjoy your vacation in Kenya. It's not the luxury of TV and electronic stuff, but all the friendliness of lovely staff, nature, space, quality of food, relaxation and just the thing that you have your lunch and dinner at different places at the resort every day. It really feels like a Home away... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Kinondo Kwetu is one of those really rare places. They've managed to combine luxury with a laid-back, easy-going, personal touch - something that so many hotels try to do but can't because they lack passion and love for the place. It isn't cheap, but it's so clear that the hotel isn't about earning a buck, it's about making people relax... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We spent a few days here based on a couple of reviews we had read and expecting much more than we received. Firstly, the price is outrageous compared to other very comparable places in the area. Unless you like to burn money, I would suggest trying other resorts, many of which offer better service, better food, better hospitality. More than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Filip A, Owner at Kinondo Kwetu, responded to this review

Dear ”trip girl(?) Please give us some more specific feedback, as to in which way Kinondo Kwetu does not live up to your expectations, or else we will question if you actually did spend time here. Our prices are in level with other comparable places in the area, like Almanara and Alfajiri. And we do not recognize the rigid non-negotiable... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We've stayed at Kinondu Kwetu several times and think it is the closest thing to paradise that exists. The setting, rooms, facilities, food and general service/hospitality are all fantastic - nothing is too much trouble. We cannot recommend Kinondu more highly. If you want to totally relax and switch off this is the place for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

we spent almost a week and were expremely desappointed ! we paid for a mid range room a hefty usd 900.00 per night and believe me i have travelled a lot a I know what you can get for that kind of money . unfortunately this hotel is far from offering value for money . it is true staff is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Filip A, Owner at Kinondo Kwetu, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review! We always appreciate feedback, although we are so sorry that you are disappointed and that you did not appreciate what we have to offer. Kinondo Kwetu offers a unique "home away from home" experience, where everyone can find tranquility and their own private space. We want our guests to feel... More

Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent a week of our honeymoon at Kinodo Kwetu, and it was an amazing experience! The staff is absolutely wonderful and the location is incredibly beautiful. The food and drinks were to die for, and there was always some fun activity to explore. We felt both pampered and like part of the family at the same time. We also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Went for our honeymoon to this magical place which is set right on the beach. Everything was absolutely amazing. Food, staff, drinks, activities etc... WIth a maximum of 38 guests but a staff of over 100 there is nothing we could think of that wasn´t there. And if it was not, they fixed it. Truly recommend this place to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hereford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Recently returned from a 6 night visit with the family after a wonderful but exhausting time on safari in the Mara and Laikipia. Kinondo Kwetu is just wonderful. Hidden oasis along the beautiful Kenyan coast. Rooms, food, wine, service were all fantastic. We loved the staff, they could not be more helpful. We are now planning to come back for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Been to Kinondo Kwetu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinondo Kwetu

Also Known As:
Kinondo Kwetu Hotel
Kinondo Kwetu Hotel Ukunda
Address: Galu Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Diani Beach
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kinondo Kwetu 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinondo Kwetu is often described as a ‘home away from home’ - a paradise for those wanting a more personal experience on the Kenyan coast. Located on a tranquil private Galu beach on the south coast of Kenya.An all-inclusive boutique hotel - with room for no more than 38 guests, you will always find your own private spot at Kinondo Kwetu, which makes it a very special hideaway for honeymooners. It is also the perfect place to gather family or friends for a private celebration or wedding. In addition to relaxing in the sun and swimming in the Indian Ocean, Kinondo Kwetu offers an impressive selection of exciting activities – ranging from watersports such as Kite Surfing, Kayaking, Deep sea fishing and Scuba Diving, to land activities such as Game Drives, Horse Riding and Yoga weeks. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinondo Kwetu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kinondo Kwetu to your Saves list