We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Hartington Hall

Certificate of Excellence
Hall Bank, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AT , England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YHA Hartington Hall
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
YHA Hartington Hall
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    42
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
49
35
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (161)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
There are newer reviews for YHA Hartington Hall
See the most recent reviews
Leek
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We camped on the lawn in frount of the hostle there was 15 of us camping in 5 tents. We camped so we didnt use a room, we could still use the facilitys. The toilets are clean and there are lots of them. Only down side was that the building was locked afer 00:00 (I think), there for we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during our festival weekend. Unfortunately we had to lock the building at midnight for the security of guests staying in the accommodation, I hope that our other facilities were satisfactory. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Fantastic service and welcome, lovely breakfast, already recommended to friends and family. Will defiantly return, nice and clean, parking was not far, lots to do for kids, lovely friendly animals, excellent value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for watking the time to leave us a lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Cannock
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We chose Hartington Hall as a base for a weekend family break and stayed in a family room. Having previously visited the area, we were already aware of how nice the Hall and the location were. Unfortunately the room we stayed in didn't do it justice. The room was rather small and consisted of 3 bunk beds (which were only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you were hoping for! Unfortunately as is the nature of the building every room is different so the best way to ensure that you get a room to your requirements os to call us directly and state what you are looking for, this way we can... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Fabulous location. Beautiful old house and grounds. Our room was on the small size. Fortunately one if our party did not turn up so the bed could be used for storage. The big big let down was the food. Choice was uninspiring and the only meal served with vegetables was the fish which came with peas. There was a school... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. Due to the nature of the building, every room here at Hartington Hall is unique, therefore we hope that you will consider us for future visits to the area, if you have lots of luggage simply call in advance to request a room with more space and... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed here this weekend for a hen do which I organised. When checking in we found that the site which I had booked it through had not reserved enough rooms so the lady at the desk quickly added two more to the booking while only charging for the 3 that we had booked. It worked out at £13.75 each... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your weekend with and we hope that the 'bride to be' will remember it for some time to come. We are looking forward to welcoming you back along with your partner and hope that some of the other ladies will do... More 

Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Arrived about 8o'clock in the evening (19/05/13) and received the most generous and helpful greeting from a young man named Adam who helped us to both make the best of our stay at Hartington Hall and the day to follow by giving advice on the best ways to travel and what there is to see in the area. During our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving such a glowing review! We hope that you will be returning very soon! More 

stoke
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with a group and we had a lovely time. The place is beautiful! There is a kitchen that you can cook your own food in which we did but there is also a restaurant. The rooms were fine and it is really cosy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We hope that everything was satisfactory and you will be tempted to visit us again on future occasions. More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

we arrived at the hall on friday afternoon, for our daughters wedding, the first thing that hits you is the stunning setting, one could not wish for a more romantic setting for a wedding. Luckily we had the hall to ouselves for the whole weekend. We were met by the pleasant receptionist and shown to our large rooms, we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your weekend with us and hope that you will return in the not too distant future. More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This house is beautiful and has a licensed bar. A great place to stay for a walking holiday. Beautiful scenery. Food is excellent. Would definitely recommend eating here ad booking breakfast. Easy access to village centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future. More 

Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had our wedding ceremony at Hartington Hall this weekend and I have to say it was perfect. Such a stunning location and wonderful staff who made us feel so welcome. Nothing was too much for them. If you are looking for a venue who will let you put your own stamp on things, then these guys should be top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
becky_bourne, Guest Relations Manager at YHA Hartington Hall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope that you will return to see us in the not too distant future (an anniversary?) and maybe stay in the Roost. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question