We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charles Cotton Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Market Place, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AL, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charles Cotton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Charles Cotton Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

616 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    302
    169
    71
    50
    24
See reviews for
84
347
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (616)
  • Mar-May only
    (177)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (169)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (142)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We enjoyed a Travel Zoo B&B short break which was good value for money. We had a beautiful room and though it was on the front of the hotel, it was very quiet. We had a problem with the TV but this was fixed promptly. The hotel enjoys an excellent position in Hartington, a lovely, interesting village, enhanced by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

On arrival the first impressions were good, lovely village, nice building. The room given was a little small, we would have liked to fully open the wardrobe door but the bed was in the way. good sized bathroom though. Breakfast on morning one was fine, but the service was a little dire, on morning two the breakfast was poor, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southampton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here on a Travelzoo B&B two night deal which made it good value, we therefore didn't begrudge paying a bit over the odds for our evening meals. As the village only has one other pub and we didn't want to drive we opted to eat 'in house' both evenings and enjoyed delicious Rib Eye Steak, Lamb and Homemeade... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I actually wasn't going to write a review as I said what I wanted to say whilst I was there but after reading the reviews I realise that although I was made out to be unrealistic at the time - others have suffered in the same way. Jo and the barman from Leeds were great - both assets to this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
judydyer, Owner at Charles Cotton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Emma and thank you for your review. YOU mentioned during your stay that you had said all you needed to say during your stay and admit you were not going to write a review so have firstly have contradicted your own self. . Even saying others have suffered staying here which is a very strong accusation.. Firstly this is... More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived for our stay and were met by a very friendly and helpful receptionist, who showed us to our room. We had a family dinner in the ‘bar & bistro’ in the evening which was excellent, tasty and imaginative. The service was first class and our pre dinner drinks provided by the barman were outstanding, a lot of trouble... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
S-O-T
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A hotel with so much potential but let down by poor admin and service. I had to e-mail three times before I received confirmation of my telephone booking which had also proved difficult. My repeated request for an accessible room fell on deaf ears and our dinner booking was mislaid. The food was good and well presented but the service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took advantage of a Charles Cotton/Travelzoo offer for £99 for the room for a 2 night stay including breakfasts. Excellent value for money. We received a warm welcome and were allocated a standard room which was pleasantly decorated with plenty of storage space. There was a spacious bathroom. The hotel is an old, historic building set in the lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After having lovely walk around the village, stopped at the hotel for a well earned drink only to be told it was a 15 mins wait for cappucino as they were busy,but not many customers in,ok we would wait after 15mins went to see why it had not arrived to be told they hadnt even started to make it,so asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've never written a review before but,after visiting this establishment I felt I had to.booked for afternoon tea and was greeted with a glass of proseco then the food arrived.it was all homemade beautifully presented and tasted delicious.the cakes and scones were the best I've tasted and the sandwiches were filled with flavour.the service was 1st class and wouldn't hesitate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Started with a cold glass of sparkly, then fresh ham, salmon and egg sandwiches. Cheese board that I had to eat every scrap of cheese. Three cakes, freshly made scone, jam and cream , washed down with a pot of tea. Simply delicious

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartington
7.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#2 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
15.5 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
9.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee Wood Hotel
7.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay