We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charles Cotton Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Market Place, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AL, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charles Cotton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Charles Cotton Hotel
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Mean, tiny food portions, why? No one was in charge to look after us. Had to beg for a menu and get served. Its a pleasant enough restaurant, but the management have got the food side of the business wrong. If they are trying to attract walkers and outdoor people they need to serve a 'hearty' meal, not an expensive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Where to begin. An impressive looking dining room, however the staff need training in customer service. When asking "What's in Spinich Voulter". The waiter, said "err spinach". When I asked if cream was an ingredient, he said no. I asked him to check with chef, he came back and said yes. There were only 5 main dishes on the menu,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Charles Cotton Hotel in May 2015. Location is lovely; the hotel is well placed for exploring the Peak District. However our stay was disappointing - service was slow and inattentive, breakfast poor (the "baked to order" croissants were presented in a plastic packet!), and the loud Saturday Kareoke-style singer which ran late into the night didn't exactly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the hotel with friends and were all disappointed in the standard of the rooms and the service. The entrance from the carpark set the tone; well worn paintwork and carpets in need of a good clean. Our rooms were certainly not 2 of the refurbished ones with chipped paintwork and windows which were painted shut. The bathrooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just had a Sunday night stopover at the Charles Cotton. Great value for money. Room was big and the bed very comfortable. Nice bedding and towels, No noise, in fact very peaceful despite being on the front of the hotel. The evening meal which was included in a the price was really lovely. Very surprised at some of the poor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a great weekend in Hartingdon - Excellent hearty meal at The Devonshire Friday night - Good Day walking in Dovedale Hartingdon on Saturday, what a shame we decided to eat at Charles Cotton later that night. Food was pretentious, frugal and expensive - provided feedback to the kitchen which went unanswered.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlescotton, Owner at Charles Cotton Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your recent review re your experience.. Regarding your disappointment re your meal an portions it is important to remember we do not serve pub food but more fine dine on a weekend . We do not serve large portions as our discerning guests like to choose 3 courses from our menu and so wouldn't want... More 

Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Charles Cotton for 2 nights for a short break. Hartington is a lovely little country village in the Peak District. The hotel was easy to find, good parking facilities and we had two fantastic evening meals there. Very friendly place and relaxed, just what we looking for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
11 reviews 11 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When the waitress brought someone else's food to our uncleared table I was startled by the starter sized portions, which were main courses, and tried to cancel our lunch -but couldn't. Sadly, our meals were just as pitiful. Nobody bothered to check our table to see if we were happy with our food. We left, still hungry, and went to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yesterday we called in on the off chance for lunch with our autistic son and found it very welcoming. The food was excellent but especially the service, the couple behind the bar and who served us showed wonderful kindness towards our son and reconised instantly his condition. We just want to a say a really big 'THANK YOU". Means a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had an absolutely charming break in this hotel which is absolutely ideally placed for walking. The room was very well appointed (on the front), though the shower could do with an upgrade. Delicious good at breakfast and in the dining room. The staff were very attentive at the bar, at breakfast and in the dining room. The only complaint... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (55)
Business center/function rooms (2)
Hotel & grounds (11)
Room/suite (5)
Dining (8)
View from room (2)
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (15)
Dining (3)
Room/suite (3)
Hotel & grounds (2)
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question