We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa

Old Main Road, Pennington 4184, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
13
13
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
There are newer reviews for Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

TwinCare International chose the perfect venue! Dining whilst enjoying the beautiful sound of live piano, to relaxing in Selbornes cozy bar warming up with a Hot-Todi and good company- Had it not been for the interesting seminar taking place in the conference room, I would have battled to get out of my comfy bed! :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Candace Thank you for the awesome review. We are glad that the seminar was held at our venue and that you had the chance of experiencing our hospitality. We cannot wait to see you again. Warm Regards Staff and Management Selborne Hotel More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Went there with friends and we loved every moment, we even extended our stay by a day we loved it that much. Stayed in a private house on the estate, which we booked through the Selbourne Villa rental agent. Lorraine's service was exceptional. The house was fantastic. Fully equipped. Close to the beach, with a private entrance to the beach.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sabrina Thank you for such a wonderful review. We appreciate all your kind words and will share it with the rest of the team. We can't wait to see you again. Warm Regards Staff and Management Selborne Hotel More 

Westbrook Beach
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The one night stay at this great place made the one day conference a pleasure to attend. From our arrival to the end we were treated very professionally. The rooms are spacious and you can relax on the balcony sipping your champagne while watching the golfers, buck, monkeys and birds. Do make time to take a walk - if you're... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Carina Thank you kindly for your lovely review following your stay at Selborne Hotel, Spa and Golf Estate. We really appreciate your kind words and totally agree that there is nothing better than watching the sunset after a long day. We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Selborne Hotel, Spa and Golf Estate More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The check-in & out was very professional. The room was beyond our expectation as it was spacious & very well furnished. I am a keen golfer, my wife & I love Yoga. It was the perfect location for both golf & yoga. We love the beach also, only 3km from the resort with private parking facilities. The staff are well... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Vassie Thank you for your kind words following your stay at Selborne. we are glad that you and your wife experienced what Selborne Hotel and Golf Estate is renowned for! We hope to see you both again soon. Warmest Regards Staff and Management Selborne Hotel and Golf Estate More 

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

First up, this is a great hotel/resort with beautiful facilities and grounds. The food was impressive (even if the menu was a bit samey). The best part of my experience, however, was the staff. I booked for 4 people through booking.com in December 2013 but when we were ready to go to South Africa I re-checked with Selborne to confirm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for such a wonderful account of your stay at Selborne. We are glad that your experienced what we strive for each day-excellent service. Your kind words will be passed on to all those concerned. We hope to see you again soon. Warmest Regards Staff and Management Selborne Golf Estate and Spa More 

Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had a three-day conference at Selborne. The location is great with a top-notch golf course and lush sub-tropical vegetation. Rooms are well appointed and the other facilities include a tennis court and swimming pool. Sadly the rooms and hotel have seen better days and are somewhat run-down. Not a major issue however an example is mould on the ceiling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We thank you for your compliments and we are glad that you enjoyed the golfing facilities and the natural surrounding of the Selborne establishment. We have noted the very valid point you have raised and assure you that these issues will be dealt with promptly. We do agree that a refurbishment is in... More 

Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The place is beautifully set in the golf estete with access to a private beach (you have to drive to get there). Although we enjoyed the stay, we were recommended Selborne Hotel as best accommodation in the area - and perhaps due to this, our expectations were high, which resulted wit ha bit of disappointment. The place is lovely, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor for the Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate and Spa.We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we do acknowledge the issues you have brought to our attention.Rest assured, the issues will soon be a thing of the past as we are actively upgrading facilities. We will pass your compliments and... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Experienced so many problems over Christmas - we have raised these issues with management. Bad service, rooms very run down and not clean, food not up to scratch etc. What a pity, this is a hotel which could be a "true gem" on the South Coast. Stunning venue, beautiful gardens and the hotel has such charm. Some TLC and better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of our Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate and Spa. We apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay and have taken the issues you raised the parties responsible. We agree that the establishment is a stunning venue along the South Coast and we assure you that it is well on its way to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Pennington hotels

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Staying over Christmas and firstly the shower door leaks like a sive and basically flooded the bathroom. Next day being Christmas the room was not made up until after 2pm and that after asking twice. Breakfast was good but the food was cold because they had forgotten to light the warmers. After the room was made up we had an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Rest assured, these small but relevant issues will be taken care of. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. We hope to see you back soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate and Spa More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Financial support is needed to reclaim its potential. Selbourne is becoming rundown and tired. As first time visitors it is noticeable that upholstery, curtains, flooring, furniture pieces and plastering/paint all need fixing. Our room had no towels when we arrived; the bathroom had not been cleaned; the kettle did not work; and a few other minor 'not acceptable' issues. Food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam We thank you for your honest review of your stay at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate and Spa. Selborne has been through a few rough years - due to previous ownership and management, however, stability has returned and Selborne has since made major improvements financially. This will allow us the freedom to spend money renovating (although, over the last... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay