We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa

Old Main Road, Pennington 4184, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    14
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
14
13
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked the place through "My Holiday Homes". The house is pleasant but when we got there the garage door was broken. It took them a day to fix which was inconvenient. Then we were accused of stealing a towel worth R300 and so after 2 weeks of practically begging for my refund, I received it minus the R300. Towels are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Room was dated, smelt musty as if it hadn't been used for months or aired out, uncomfortable bed. If you want space, this is the place to be but that's about all it has to offer in my opinion. Wouldn't go back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kerin Thank you for your honest review following your stay with us. We thank you for your compliment regarding the spacious accommodation we offer our guests. W e would also like you to know that the points you have raised will be looked into immediately and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We do hope that... More 

Travelers are raving about these Pennington hotels

Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We spent three nights at this Hotel. We found the Hotel very quiet and enjoyable. The staff were very friendly and went ou of there way to make out stay pleasant. We had one of the suites which had ample space with a king-size bed. Our only complaint was the muskiness in the rooms but some fresh spray did the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your stay. Your kind words and compliments really motivate us to strive for excellence so thank you. We look forward to your next visit for some quiet time! Warm Regards Staff and Management Selborne Golf Estate and Spa More 

Lusaka, Zambia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

The hotel is set on gold Estate so if you are an avid golfer looking to get away from it all then this is the perfect destination. The rooms were nice but cold have been cleaned more closely. The Hotel has friendly staff willing to go out of their way to help the guests. In an event that I seek... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your stay. Your kind words and compliments really motivate us to strive for excellence so thank you. We look forward to your next visit for some quiet time! Warm Regards Staff and Management Selborne Golf Estate and Spa More 

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

I spend 3 days at Selborne. Nice surroundings and is enjoyable dor walks around the golf course. Food was good. Service was great. Rooms a bit old and need renovation. Make sure the aircon in your room works well and take a electrical adaptor for a 2 pin plug. In summary, will use hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Johannes Thank you for your honest review following your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and compliments and we hope that you will visit us again soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Selborne Gold Estate and Spa More 

Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Slightly concerned when reading previous reviews - but there are good and bad points. The location is stunning, but the whole place is in need of some maintenance and general improvement. For example the main swimming pool is dirty (which has been commented on previously by other guests), but the small pool near the tennis courts is fine. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear David Thank you for your great review following your stay with us. We at Selborne Hotel are ecstatic to have been of service to you. We appreciate the points you have mentioned and will definitely consider them moving forward. Thank you once more and we do hope that you will visit us again soon. Warm Regards More 

Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

The natural surroundings are fantastic but those can only carry this hotel so far. Check in was disappointing: I paid in full in advance (the only option when booking online) & was then asked at check in how I was going to pay for my stay?! I was completely surprised as it appeared that the check in staff were unaware... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your honest review following your stay with us. We appreciate your honesty and would like to inform you that senior management has been notified of your complaint. We do apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Sincerely Staff and Management Selborne Hotel and Golf Estate More 

Sandton, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Our stay got off to a very rocky start with our room not being fully prepared before our check-in. Beds did not have duvet covers or pillow cases, air con didn't work, mugs to make tea/coffee not provided, etc., etc. We stayed for 7 nights over the festive period & unfortunately the hotel is just not equipped to handle large... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your valued review following your stay with us. We appreciate your honesty and would like to assure you that the points you have raised will be looked into further. We do apologise if you experienced any inconvenience during your time with us. We cannot wait for your next visit. Sincerely Staff and Management Selborne Hotel... More 

Mtwalume
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Each and EVERY single time we visit the Selborne Hotel to either stay or have a meal the service and quality of food is beyond our expectations.It is certainly the gem of the South Coast and provides so much tranquility from the front gate to the entire estate.We are priviliged to have it on our coast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Pat Thank you for your awesome review. You are indeed a valued guest and we are more than happy that we have met your standards. You and your family are always welcome at our establishment. We look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely Staff and Management Selborne Hotel and Golf Estate More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Thank you to friendly staff at Selborne Hotel, we come here often and are always treated like royalty. This is my kind of holiday, all our needs are taken care of, can't ask for anything more.... Improvements have been made to the gardens and to the swimming pool, we could see the difference immediately.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Samantha Thank you for your most wonderful review following your time with us. We appreciate all the kind words and will definitely consider the points you have addressed. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. Sincerely Staff and Management Selborne Hotel and Golf Estate More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pennington
7.8 mi away
Blue Marlin Hotel
Blue Marlin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Scottburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
19.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Karridene Beach
Protea Hotel Karridene Beach
#1 of 1 in Illovo Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Umkomaas Guest House
Umkomaas Guest House
#3 of 8 in Umkomaas
5.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Dugong Guest House
The Dugong Guest House
#1 of 3 in Scottburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
6.4 mi away
Four Palms Guest House
Four Palms Guest House
#1 of 4 in Scottburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay