We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Pennington hotels

Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Main Road, Pennington 4184, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa to your Saves list
Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
50%
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Pennington
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Candace B Durban, South Africa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (29)
  • Photos (11)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a grand old hotel that sadly looks like it is going broke - run-down rooms and facilities, and the kitchen staff use too much salt in all the main courses, cook stale eggs for breakfast and use poor quality ingredients for dinners. Not enough veg or salads on offer. We had to eat at a nearby restaurant instead.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

TwinCare International chose the perfect venue! Dining whilst enjoying the beautiful sound of live piano, to relaxing in Selbornes cozy bar warming up with a Hot-Todi and good company- Had it not been for the interesting seminar taking place in the conference room, I would have battled to get out of my comfy bed! :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Candace Thank you for the awesome review. We are glad that the seminar was held at our venue and that you had the chance of experiencing our hospitality. We cannot wait to see you again. Warm Regards Staff and Management Selborne Hotel More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went there with friends and we loved every moment, we even extended our stay by a day we loved it that much. Stayed in a private house on the estate, which we booked through the Selbourne Villa rental agent. Lorraine's service was exceptional. The house was fantastic. Fully equipped. Close to the beach, with a private entrance to the beach.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sabrina Thank you for such a wonderful review. We appreciate all your kind words and will share it with the rest of the team. We can't wait to see you again. Warm Regards Staff and Management Selborne Hotel More

Westbrook Beach
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The one night stay at this great place made the one day conference a pleasure to attend. From our arrival to the end we were treated very professionally. The rooms are spacious and you can relax on the balcony sipping your champagne while watching the golfers, buck, monkeys and birds. Do make time to take a walk - if you're... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Carina Thank you kindly for your lovely review following your stay at Selborne Hotel, Spa and Golf Estate. We really appreciate your kind words and totally agree that there is nothing better than watching the sunset after a long day. We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Selborne Hotel, Spa and Golf Estate More

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The check-in & out was very professional. The room was beyond our expectation as it was spacious & very well furnished. I am a keen golfer, my wife & I love Yoga. It was the perfect location for both golf & yoga. We love the beach also, only 3km from the resort with private parking facilities. The staff are well... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Vassie Thank you for your kind words following your stay at Selborne. we are glad that you and your wife experienced what Selborne Hotel and Golf Estate is renowned for! We hope to see you both again soon. Warmest Regards Staff and Management Selborne Hotel and Golf Estate More

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

First up, this is a great hotel/resort with beautiful facilities and grounds. The food was impressive (even if the menu was a bit samey). The best part of my experience, however, was the staff. I booked for 4 people through booking.com in December 2013 but when we were ready to go to South Africa I re-checked with Selborne to confirm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for such a wonderful account of your stay at Selborne. We are glad that your experienced what we strive for each day-excellent service. Your kind words will be passed on to all those concerned. We hope to see you again soon. Warmest Regards Staff and Management Selborne Golf Estate and Spa More

Durban, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had a three-day conference at Selborne. The location is great with a top-notch golf course and lush sub-tropical vegetation. Rooms are well appointed and the other facilities include a tennis court and swimming pool. Sadly the rooms and hotel have seen better days and are somewhat run-down. Not a major issue however an example is mould on the ceiling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We thank you for your compliments and we are glad that you enjoyed the golfing facilities and the natural surrounding of the Selborne establishment. We have noted the very valid point you have raised and assure you that these issues will be dealt with promptly. We do agree that a refurbishment is in... More

Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The place is beautifully set in the golf estete with access to a private beach (you have to drive to get there). Although we enjoyed the stay, we were recommended Selborne Hotel as best accommodation in the area - and perhaps due to this, our expectations were high, which resulted wit ha bit of disappointment. The place is lovely, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor for the Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate and Spa.We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we do acknowledge the issues you have brought to our attention.Rest assured, the issues will soon be a thing of the past as we are actively upgrading facilities. We will pass your compliments and... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Experienced so many problems over Christmas - we have raised these issues with management. Bad service, rooms very run down and not clean, food not up to scratch etc. What a pity, this is a hotel which could be a "true gem" on the South Coast. Stunning venue, beautiful gardens and the hotel has such charm. Some TLC and better... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of our Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate and Spa. We apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay and have taken the issues you raised the parties responsible. We agree that the establishment is a stunning venue along the South Coast and we assure you that it is well on its way to... More

Travelers are raving about these Pennington hotels

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Staying over Christmas and firstly the shower door leaks like a sive and basically flooded the bathroom. Next day being Christmas the room was not made up until after 2pm and that after asking twice. Breakfast was good but the food was cold because they had forgotten to light the warmers. After the room was made up we had an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Rest assured, these small but relevant issues will be taken care of. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. We hope to see you back soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate and Spa More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa

Address: Old Main Road, Pennington 4184, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selborne Hotel, Spa & Golf Estate Hotel Pennington
Selborne Hotel, Spa And Golf Estate

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the beautiful and sunny Natal South Coast, The Selborne Hotel, Spa & Golf Estate is located in the charming seaside town of Pennington. Decorated in elegant colonial style, the hotel has its own unique character of old world charm and discreet personalized service. With its landscaped grounds, manicured fairways, coastal forests and ocean views, it is one of Southern Africa’s iconic luxury estates. The award winning, PGA rated 18-hole golf course is a superb masterpiece. The number of golfers that return year after year stands testimony to Selborne’s reputation as one of the country’s premier courses. Relaxing and rejuvenating are “par for the course” in this picture perfect estate that offers guests the complete luxury experience; warm and friendly staff; tempting culinary delights; championship golf course with country club; and revitalizing Spa. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
49

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer