We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Pennington hotels

Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Main Road, Pennington 4184, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pennington
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Johannes G Johannesburg
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
11
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

I spend 3 days at Selborne. Nice surroundings and is enjoyable dor walks around the golf course. Food was good. Service was great. Rooms a bit old and need renovation. Make sure the aircon in your room works well and take a electrical adaptor for a 2 pin plug. In summary, will use hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Suffolk, UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Slightly concerned when reading previous reviews - but there are good and bad points. The location is stunning, but the whole place is in need of some maintenance and general improvement. For example the main swimming pool is dirty (which has been commented on previously by other guests), but the small pool near the tennis courts is fine. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear David Thank you for your great review following your stay with us. We at Selborne Hotel are ecstatic to have been of service to you. We appreciate the points you have mentioned and will definitely consider them moving forward. Thank you once more and we do hope that you will visit us again soon. Warm Regards More 

Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

The natural surroundings are fantastic but those can only carry this hotel so far. Check in was disappointing: I paid in full in advance (the only option when booking online) & was then asked at check in how I was going to pay for my stay?! I was completely surprised as it appeared that the check in staff were unaware... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your honest review following your stay with us. We appreciate your honesty and would like to inform you that senior management has been notified of your complaint. We do apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Sincerely Staff and Management Selborne Hotel and Golf Estate More 

Sandton, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Our stay got off to a very rocky start with our room not being fully prepared before our check-in. Beds did not have duvet covers or pillow cases, air con didn't work, mugs to make tea/coffee not provided, etc., etc. We stayed for 7 nights over the festive period & unfortunately the hotel is just not equipped to handle large... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your valued review following your stay with us. We appreciate your honesty and would like to assure you that the points you have raised will be looked into further. We do apologise if you experienced any inconvenience during your time with us. We cannot wait for your next visit. Sincerely Staff and Management Selborne Hotel... More 

Mtwalume
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Each and EVERY single time we visit the Selborne Hotel to either stay or have a meal the service and quality of food is beyond our expectations.It is certainly the gem of the South Coast and provides so much tranquility from the front gate to the entire estate.We are priviliged to have it on our coast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Pat Thank you for your awesome review. You are indeed a valued guest and we are more than happy that we have met your standards. You and your family are always welcome at our establishment. We look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely Staff and Management Selborne Hotel and Golf Estate More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Thank you to friendly staff at Selborne Hotel, we come here often and are always treated like royalty. This is my kind of holiday, all our needs are taken care of, can't ask for anything more.... Improvements have been made to the gardens and to the swimming pool, we could see the difference immediately.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Samantha Thank you for your most wonderful review following your time with us. We appreciate all the kind words and will definitely consider the points you have addressed. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. Sincerely Staff and Management Selborne Hotel and Golf Estate More 

bristol
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Ok, where do I start..... Arrived at 2pm and checked in, easy enough. Went to the room, bed was made but with no pillow cases, decided to look in the bed and pulled the sheets back and found the sheets were already used and by the looks of it someone or some people had a lot of fun the night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest We thank you for your honest review following your stay at the Selborne Hotel and Golf Estate. We have taken your complaints seriously and management at all levels are currently investigating the events that transpired during your stay. We sincerely apologise for any lack of service delivery on our part. We hope that you will afford us the... More 

Midrand, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

We chose this hotel because of the location, golf course and beach club. Upon arrival we were met with confusion about the baby cot we ordered for the room. We had two rooms for us and my parents but only one room had a fridge, remote for the TV and working aircon. After getting the cot and a new tv,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your honest review following your stay at our establishment. We thank you for the kind words and compliments. We agree that our golfing greens are a challenge for any player. Please note that the points you have raised will be looked into and an inquiry will be undertaken. We hope that you will visit us... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Name completely misleading What a disappointment This establishment advertises itself as hotel and spa - booked for spa treatments in advance - and received email confirmation. What a let down - besides the fact that they did not have a record of our confirmed booking this is NOT a spa by any means of the imagination. A dingy little reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest We thank you for your honest review following your stay at the Selborne Hotel and Golf Estate. We have taken your complaints seriously and management at all levels are currently investigating the events that transpired during your stay. We sincerely apologise for any lack of service delivery on our part. We hope that you will afford us the... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Selborne, a golf estate that oozed excellence has now been brought to disrepute by unfriendly staff, pathetic service and poor upkeep of the establishment. A family getaway turned into a nightmare thanks to Selborne. A four star hotel apparently, did not have enough linen. Our pillows had no pillow cases. Our sheets were brown with stains. Our toilets weren't cleaned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hote1Management, Manager at Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest We thank you for your honest review following your stay at the Selborne Hotel and Golf Estate. We have taken your complaints seriously and management at all levels are currently investigating the events that transpired during your stay. We sincerely apologise for any lack of service delivery on our part. We hope that you will afford us the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa

Address: Old Main Road, Pennington 4184, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Selborne Hotel, Golf Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selborne Hotel, Spa And Golf Estate
Selborne Hotel, Spa & Golf Estate Hotel Pennington

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay