We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Motueka accommodations

Laughing Kiwi Backpackers

310 High Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Laughing Kiwi Backpackers to your Saves list
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
86%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
TomTini21 München
  • Overview
  • Reviews (43)
  • Photos (17)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
14
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
München
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hostel for about two months while working and afterwards relaxing in lovely Motueka. As the hostel consists of three houses for about 40 guests max it was never too crowded. The facilities are very comfortable and so clean! As often its the small things that make the difference. They change towels and kitchen towels twice!!! a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here in July, it was quiet but really nice. Parking, good kitchen, nice lounge area with a fire place. The owners are very nice. And everything is SO clean, simply wonderful. Motueka isn't much, but it served us well as the gateway to Abel Tasman with good facilities (2 supermarkets, some shops). Would definitely recommend staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

This review is a bit late as I stayed here a year ago, but this place was lovely!! My friend and I stayed here for about 5 weeks as we worked in the town. The beds were comfortable, the people friendly, and the kitchen was very easy to use. Would definitely recommend this for anyone travelling through motueka!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The owners and staff were all very friendly and helpful. Free wifi and very hot spa pool. Warm clean rooms with blankets and towels provided. Would definitely recommend this hostel and stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oulu, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We made reservation 8 months ahead. I contacted the place couple weeks before arriving that everything was okay, it was. We arrived. We had a reservation for two women in a dorm for 4 people. We got two beds in dorm for 6 people and got no refund option was 4 people mixed dorm. The dorm smelled like it hadn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kiwis01, Owner at Laughing Kiwi Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Annika Thankyou for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Yes, you are right about the mix up with the booking you made 8 months previously, for a 4 bed female dorm. ( The room option you booked was removed at around the same time of your booking ). Even though it isn't always practicle to... More

Blenheim, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

- 10 min walk from the city - No free wifi - For backpacker and older people - Barefoot policy - Good beds - Friendly staff - Clean - Enough space and equipement in the kitchen - Small size hostel - Stayed 1 night - I will be here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kiwis01, Owner at Laughing Kiwi Backpackers, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here, but are sorry to hear that you where unable to use the FREE UNLIMITED WIFI we offer to all guests. If you had let us know you where having trouble, we would have been able to help you. The wifi is FREE... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The first time we stayed at the laughing kiwi we were in a lovely double room in the front house. The kitchen was small but everywhere was really clean and towels were provided. They state that there is free 'unlimited WiFi' but it was actually only 750 megabytes each. Still enough for us, but not technically unlimited. Service was great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This hostel has free wifi, small buildings that separate dorms (each has it's own kitchen and communal area), clean bathrooms and kitchens and a proper clothes line! There is also off street parking and The owners are helpful. Definitely recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Honestly one of the cleanest hostels I've seen. The bathrooms were flawless. The double room was a bit small, and with not much more than a bed, but the shared areas were great. The staff couldn't have been any friendlier. They helped us with activities, bookings, restaurants and everything we needed. The only complain was that our room was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brevard, North Carolina
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had an ensuite room in the the newer building in the rear. It had a spacious and pleasant lounge/dining/kitchen area. It was very convenient to shopping, being centrally located, and to Abel Tasman National Park, where we took a cruise along the shore the next day. I really can't think of any negatives. The only thing was that we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Laughing Kiwi Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Laughing Kiwi Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laughing Kiwi Backpackers

Address: 310 High Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Laughing Kiwi Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Motueka with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Laughing Kiwi, provides clean affordable accommodation in the heart of Motueka,close to supermarket, restaurants,shops etc. The Backpacker Lodge & Villa have Double, Double Ensuite, Twin & share room options available. All houses have well equipped kitchens, homely lounges & outdoor areas.FREE Wifi, Spa Pool & BBQ. The Laughing Kiwi Backpackers in Motueka, provides both hostel & motel type accommodation with FREE wifi. Just a short drive to the Abel Tasman National Park and a few minutes walk to supermarket, shops, cafes & banks. With its range of clean comfortable accommodation options, a great place to stay, to explore the Abel Tasman, Nelson and Golden Bay areas. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Laughing Kiwi Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer