We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Laughing Kiwi Backpackers

310 High Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
14
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Sydney
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed at the laughing kiwi in Motueka for two nights 30th September-2nd October this year, on a trip around New Zealand. We wanted to stay here so we could venture into the Abel Tasman National Park for some hiking and kayaking. We booked our stay on hostel world, like usual, and we're just expecting a run... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

This is an incredibly cozy and clean place, great and helpful staff (no problem with changing rooms:p) felt like home with the fireplace in the lounge. I would love to stay there next time I'm in Motueka :) Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kiwis01, Owner at Laughing Kiwi Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look forward to seeing you again sometime : ) Kind regards Lucy More

München
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at this hostel for about two months while working and afterwards relaxing in lovely Motueka. As the hostel consists of three houses for about 40 guests max it was never too crowded. The facilities are very comfortable and so clean! As often its the small things that make the difference. They change towels and kitchen towels twice!!! a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed here in July, it was quiet but really nice. Parking, good kitchen, nice lounge area with a fire place. The owners are very nice. And everything is SO clean, simply wonderful. Motueka isn't much, but it served us well as the gateway to Abel Tasman with good facilities (2 supermarkets, some shops). Would definitely recommend staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

This review is a bit late as I stayed here a year ago, but this place was lovely!! My friend and I stayed here for about 5 weeks as we worked in the town. The beds were comfortable, the people friendly, and the kitchen was very easy to use. Would definitely recommend this for anyone travelling through motueka!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The owners and staff were all very friendly and helpful. Free wifi and very hot spa pool. Warm clean rooms with blankets and towels provided. Would definitely recommend this hostel and stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oulu, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We made reservation 8 months ahead. I contacted the place couple weeks before arriving that everything was okay, it was. We arrived. We had a reservation for two women in a dorm for 4 people. We got two beds in dorm for 6 people and got no refund option was 4 people mixed dorm. The dorm smelled like it hadn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kiwis01, Owner at Laughing Kiwi Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Annika Thankyou for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Yes, you are right about the mix up with the booking you made 8 months previously, for a 4 bed female dorm. ( The room option you booked was removed at around the same time of your booking ). Even though it isn't always practicle to... More

Blenheim, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

- 10 min walk from the city - No free wifi - For backpacker and older people - Barefoot policy - Good beds - Friendly staff - Clean - Enough space and equipement in the kitchen - Small size hostel - Stayed 1 night - I will be here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kiwis01, Owner at Laughing Kiwi Backpackers, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here, but are sorry to hear that you where unable to use the FREE UNLIMITED WIFI we offer to all guests. If you had let us know you where having trouble, we would have been able to help you. The wifi is FREE... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The first time we stayed at the laughing kiwi we were in a lovely double room in the front house. The kitchen was small but everywhere was really clean and towels were provided. They state that there is free 'unlimited WiFi' but it was actually only 750 megabytes each. Still enough for us, but not technically unlimited. Service was great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This hostel has free wifi, small buildings that separate dorms (each has it's own kitchen and communal area), clean bathrooms and kitchens and a proper clothes line! There is also off street parking and The owners are helpful. Definitely recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Laughing Kiwi Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laughing Kiwi Backpackers

Address: 310 High Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Laughing Kiwi Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay