We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Omapere accommodations

Globetrekkers Lodge

Save Saved
You added Globetrekkers Lodge to your Saves list
State Highway 12 | 281, Omapere, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (19)
  • Photos (32)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • More
Globetrekkers Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omapere
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I loved the location of this backpackers, which does have a nice garden & sea view. I had a lovely little room with a double bed..The bathroom was opposite & was clean. The kitchen was well stocked...& the living room quite pleasant....the only thing for me was there was 'No WIFI' & that was promised on the website! So disappointing,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hokianga_79, Manager at Globetrekkers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Chris Thanks for your feedback and comments.I was pleased you enjoyed your time at Rawene and Kokukohu they are very interesting places but I think you may have mixed up your web sites Globetrekkers website does not mention WiFi Cheers Safe travels Sue More

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I can't say too much about this hostel as we were only there very briefly but it had a nice big kitchen, decent shower and we had our own private room which was clean and comfortable. We stayed here to do the Twilights Footprint tour which I recommend and they came here to pick us up no bother.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Globetrekkers is so cute and homely I could live there forever! Really lovely double room with close bathroom and kitchen, lovely little lounge with loads of games and books. Clean bathrooms and beautifully decorated with fantastic stone floors. So quiet we nearly had it to ourselves! Would definitely come back to Omapere just for this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hokianga_79, Manager at Globetrekkers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you so much for your kind feed back , I was pleased to read you enjoyed your time here with us at Globetrekkers Cheers Sue More

Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

If you are looking for a pleasant, peaceful, scenic, no-hassle, out-of-the-way place to rest,you couldn't do much better. All the basics for a hostel were present, provided, and well done. Clean, good kitchen, good dining area (inside and outside), comfortable lounge. Our double room was not cramped, and even had a writing / reading desk with light. The manager was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stay in the Globetrekkers Lodge in February 2014 and found it to be a lovely accommodation in a lovely setting. Very friendly owners (mom and son) and very clean acommodation. You can stay in a dorm or book a small cabin for 1 or 2 people. The kitchen is well supplied and you can eat both in the kitchen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hokianga_79, Manager at Globetrekkers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback it is always good to hear from guests Thanks Sue More

Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were warmly greeted when looking for a place for the night. Mike welcomed us and gave us a quick tour. This was the first hostel that really felt like a home. In the living room we found comfortable furniture with a choice of great music. NO TV. Great idea as this encourages conversation between guests. We were there in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for one night in a private room with shared bath. The owners/managers were incredibly friendly and provided fresh tangerines in the morning (which were amazing as we headed to our next destination in the car). Just up the road in Opononi was a great pub where we had dinner and in the other direction (back towards Kauri trees)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Hague, The Netherlands
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I started my drive down the west coast in Opononi but wanted to stay in Omapere. Not like the two are really far from each other ... I stayed in a dorm, but was alone because it's off-season and quiet at the moment. I slept a wonderful sleep - the hostel is at the top of a hill and is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hokianga_79, Manager at Globetrekkers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Daine Thank you for your review , I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us Thanks Sue More

Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in a cottage that had a queen bed with a wooden slat stand and a box spring as mattress. WHile a bit odd to sleep on a box spring, the owners were trying to give a variety of support options for sleeping. This was their firm room, and while the slats were wonderful for support, I think that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
89 hotel reviews
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Omapere is a quiet village on the West Coast, and Globetrekkers is a great choice for someone on a budget. Staff were very pleasant and the hostel was clean and cosy. I stayed in a spacious mixed dorm. Although there were no lockers, there was space to put my things. The linens were clean - the bunk bed solid, although... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Globetrekkers Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Globetrekkers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrekkers Lodge

Address: State Highway 12 | 281, Omapere, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Omapere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (18)
Hotel & grounds (8)
View from room (4)
Room/suite (2)
Dining (1)
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (15)
Other (15)


Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located directly across from the beach. We are the closest backpackers to Tane Mahuta in the Waipoua Forest. Come and enjoy our hospitality with fully equipped kitchen. BBQ area extensive terrace & gardens with dramatic views over the harbour and sand dunes. Activities: Footprints Night Tours, bone carving, sand boarding, fishing forest/waterfall walks. Come relax in a hammock in the unspoilt beauty of the Hokianga. ... more   less 
Number of rooms

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Globetrekkers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer