We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Omapere accommodations

Globetrekkers Lodge

Save
You added Globetrekkers Lodge to your Saves list
State Highway 12 | 281, Omapere, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Globetrekkers Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omapere
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

3 nights stay in a double room. Backpacker situated in the mouth of Hokianga Harbour, just an amazing place. Lot of walks; we saw the wonderful lookout in the Sation Radio point, walked on the wild beach during low tide and saw the surprising Koutu Boulders. Sue is very friendly and know all the area! Room perfect for us, with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hokianga_79, Manager at Globetrekkers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review it was kind of you to take the time . We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here Best wishes Sue & Mike More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

What can I say about about this wonderful place not just for the things that you can do with the surrounding areas but the peace and tranquility that beholds you when you arrive. Weather has no hold on this place just so much to do and the bungalow type accommodation is to die for! Comfortable beds whether bunks, doubles or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I loved the location of this backpackers, which does have a nice garden & sea view. I had a lovely little room with a double bed..The bathroom was opposite & was clean. The kitchen was well stocked...& the living room quite pleasant....the only thing for me was there was 'No WIFI' & that was promised on the website! So disappointing,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hokianga_79, Manager at Globetrekkers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Chris Thanks for your feedback and comments.I was pleased you enjoyed your time at Rawene and Kokukohu they are very interesting places but I think you may have mixed up your web sites Globetrekkers website does not mention WiFi Cheers Safe travels Sue More

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I can't say too much about this hostel as we were only there very briefly but it had a nice big kitchen, decent shower and we had our own private room which was clean and comfortable. We stayed here to do the Twilights Footprint tour which I recommend and they came here to pick us up no bother.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Globetrekkers is so cute and homely I could live there forever! Really lovely double room with close bathroom and kitchen, lovely little lounge with loads of games and books. Clean bathrooms and beautifully decorated with fantastic stone floors. So quiet we nearly had it to ourselves! Would definitely come back to Omapere just for this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hokianga_79, Manager at Globetrekkers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you so much for your kind feed back , I was pleased to read you enjoyed your time here with us at Globetrekkers Cheers Sue More

Seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

If you are looking for a pleasant, peaceful, scenic, no-hassle, out-of-the-way place to rest,you couldn't do much better. All the basics for a hostel were present, provided, and well done. Clean, good kitchen, good dining area (inside and outside), comfortable lounge. Our double room was not cramped, and even had a writing / reading desk with light. The manager was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
holland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stay in the Globetrekkers Lodge in February 2014 and found it to be a lovely accommodation in a lovely setting. Very friendly owners (mom and son) and very clean acommodation. You can stay in a dorm or book a small cabin for 1 or 2 people. The kitchen is well supplied and you can eat both in the kitchen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hokianga_79, Manager at Globetrekkers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback it is always good to hear from guests Thanks Sue More

Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were warmly greeted when looking for a place for the night. Mike welcomed us and gave us a quick tour. This was the first hostel that really felt like a home. In the living room we found comfortable furniture with a choice of great music. NO TV. Great idea as this encourages conversation between guests. We were there in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for one night in a private room with shared bath. The owners/managers were incredibly friendly and provided fresh tangerines in the morning (which were amazing as we headed to our next destination in the car). Just up the road in Opononi was a great pub where we had dinner and in the other direction (back towards Kauri trees)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I started my drive down the west coast in Opononi but wanted to stay in Omapere. Not like the two are really far from each other ... I stayed in a dorm, but was alone because it's off-season and quiet at the moment. I slept a wonderful sleep - the hostel is at the top of a hill and is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hokianga_79, Manager at Globetrekkers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Daine Thank you for your review , I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us Thanks Sue More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Globetrekkers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrekkers Lodge

Address: State Highway 12 | 281, Omapere, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Omapere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Globetrekkers Lodge

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby