We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunrise Resort

#2 of 16 Hotels in Cat Ba
Certificate of Excellence
Cat Co III Beach | Cat Ba Island, Cat Ba 215420, Vietnam
Hotel amenities
Sunrise Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cat Ba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Benchmarker World Wide Traveller
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    60
    24
    16
    6
See reviews for
36
104
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (195)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
World Wide Traveller
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Positively surprised about the location that is quite nice, very quiet, just about 15 mn walk out of the small city center on a nice road along the fishing boats and the bay. The buildings fitted well in the natural environment and has only 4 stories high (no elevator), not too many rooms, nice pool, balconies, restaurant and terraces, beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall, Cat Ba hotels and restaurants seem focused on budget-minded 20-something travelers. This beach front resort is relatively upscale and in a stunning location only 10 minutes walk from downtown. However it is still low-priced compared to major hotel chains in downtown Hanoi. The views, pool area and beach are on par with high-end resorts we have visited on other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed in some pretty good hotels during our trip around Vietnam, but the best of all was the Sunrise Resort Hotel on Cat Ba Island. So much so that we extended our stay there by two nights, rather than return to Hanoi. The location is perfect, right on a beautiful sandy beach, with sunbeds and thatched... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived having booked the hotel sitting in the airport at Hanoi on route to Danang. Wow what a lovely surprise. Enjoyed a fabulous room that was described as a Garden View but we had a clear view of the sea as well. Spacious and really comfortable. We were only there for a couple of nights so we missed eating dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Chose this hotel as the photos looked amazing, as did the added ammenities. However, upon arrival were told that access to various parts of the hotel would be an additional charge - not a deal breaker, but annoying nonetheless. Guaranteed wifi in all areas of the hotel free of charge. This was completely not the case. Wifi only worked in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This hotel is dated and feels somewhat run-down. The decor is dreary, the beds were like rock, service was indifferent, the restaurant was poor and there were COCKROACHES running round the room. I complained about the cockroach and asked to have the room sprayed, then saw another cockroach the next day. The restaurant had such heavy curtains it was gloomy.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Love it, our favorite place , third time and can't wait to visit again. Stayed at the resort o'nite on a Haolong Bay tour and was so impressed we stayed for ten then twelve days on our next two trips to Vietnam. The resort is in a prime location, private beach, excellent food, friendly staff and professionally managed. Catba Island... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon H, Manager at Sunrise Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. I am really happy to learn that you enjoyed your time here and you felt comfortable with us. I will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff who helped to make you feel home and welcome. We look forward... More 

Seoul, South Korea
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Generally this resort is obviously worth to stay. The view from the room was amazing and the resort itself is being well maintained. Almost perfect for the price. But there is a few problems they must sort it out. 1. Be aware of ridiculously overcharged room service. They charge 32% of food price for service and tax. Yes it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon H, Director of Sales at Sunrise Resort, responded to this review

Dear value guest Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. Please accept my explain , The room service charge is 20% and Tax is 10% for the total is 32% only we do not over charge as your statement , please kindly re-check your pay slip again that would be high appreciated ,However ,... More 

Cát Bà, Hai Phong, Vietnam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

I recently stayed at the Sunrise Resort and in doing so entirely justified my high opinion of the hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, there was always someone on hand to help, the presentation of the hotel is excellent down to some of the finer details and the room I had was perfectly presented and extremely comfortable. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon H, Manager at Sunrise Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir. On behalf of Catba Sunriseresort and management teams I would like to take this an opportunity to thank you for being our guest. We appreciate to hear that we are providing you with a great experience and we will be happy I will pass on your great comments to all our staff who helped to make you feel... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a pleasant stay although the first morning we were woken up incredibly early by someone banging tools outside our door. I complained to reception and it didn’t happen again. Our room was spacious and clean with a stand up shower and balcony looking over the swimming pool and out over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question