We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Sutton-on-Sea hotels

The Bacchus Hotel

17 High Street, Sutton-on-Sea LN12 2EY, England
Hotel amenities
The Bacchus Hotel
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sutton-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    40
    11
    12
    7
See reviews for
53
37
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

friendly,welcoming, helpfull,tidy,great food, value for money, hotel with a warming real fire, a great place after being blown off the beach by one of those cold foggy easterly winds which are so bracing as they say, open all day just pop in for a coffee and take a look.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed during the week at the hotel and found it be adequate but not deserving of the tariff. The room was dated and in some considerable need of bringing up to a good standard. The breakfast was good and special provision was made to make it available earlier than normal which I appreciated and was a nice touch. I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
applebyscunthorpe, Manager at The Bacchus Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments,please let us know which room you stayed in so that we can correct any problems.We are constantly updating facilities so hopefully next time things will have improved.Keep checking our website for spcial offers. More

Buntingford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

stayed one night at this hotel with my mum, came to see her friends as she moved away from here a year ago, when we arrived at the hotel the welcome we got was great, we was showed to our room,the young girl carried my bag as I had a bad back, when we got to our room it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We made the most of the hotel's midweek break offer, three nights bed and breakfast for £150. It was unbelievable value for money. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were good. The owner, manager and staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. The bar/ lounge area, with it's roaring log fire and comfortable seating, was an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Travelled to the coast to meet up with some old friends and called at the Bacchus Hotel for a drink, we found it so friendly and welcoming we decided to stop the night, after enjoying the fine beer from their micro brewery and the excellent food we retired to a very comfortable room for what you would describe as a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were visiting the area and thought that we would visit the Bacchus Hotel. We were served cold vegetables with our meal which we reported this matter to a member of staff and nothing was done to resolve this issue. We all thought that the price of our drinks were higher than the average price charged at other hotels and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
applebyscunthorpe, Owner at The Bacchus Hotel, responded to this review

Unfortunatly,this complaint seems very similiar too the prior review in which they both state the same complaint,and on both occassions all staff have been questioned by myself to check if any complaint has been made directly too any of them,Unfortunatly no one has. I actually serve on the carvery each weekend and personaly check everything is correct i would like... More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were served two ALMOST COLD carvery meals on two separate occasions in December 2013 and January 2014. Expensive drink prices compared with other local hotels and pubs. Helpful and friendly staff. We will not be returning for another carvery meal. 20/01/2014

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
applebyscunthorpe, Manager at The Bacchus Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had a cold meal, this is the first time we have had complaints that the meal was cold if you had mentioned this to any member of staff it would have gladly replaced it accordingly,if food is cold there is obviously a problem, all food is brought directly to the carvery unit in small amounts, as... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

One can only assume that 1974 was an exceptional year for the Bacchus Hotel, as time has frozen leaving this 'unique' establishment trapped there; a living reminder of yester-year. From tassled lampshades to lurid pink curtains, the decor is reminiscent of 'faintly eccentric, elderly persons proudly invite you to view their council house'. As marvelous as this sounds, readers may... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
applebyscunthorpe, Owner at The Bacchus Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to be informed that you did not like your room despite your comments about pink curtains of which they happen to be a golden stone colour, this happens to be one of the most favoured rooms being refurbished last year. More

Great Yarmouth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Was recommended to try your meal deal but we were disappointed with the quality of the food eg. we had rump steak which looked rather grey and not fresh, also cheese omelette with barely any cheese in it teaspoonful of peas with both meals so we were raher disappointed with whole thing, Lincolnshire is well known for good quality food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had a great carvery in the run up to Christmas, prices are about to go up a tiny amount but will still be good value. The key thing for me was the clean presentation of the carvery buffet section itself. They have gone for very deep vegetable wells which mean items do not bleed into each other. As my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to The Bacchus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bacchus Hotel

Address: 17 High Street, Sutton-on-Sea LN12 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Sutton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Sutton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bacchus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Bacchus Hotel to your Saves list