We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bacchus Hotel

17 High Street, Sutton-on-Sea LN12 2EY, England
The Bacchus Hotel
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    58
    15
    16
    11
See reviews for
60
60
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (187)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (94)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been coming here for a meal every other week for the last 7 months and would give food, service, great beer, friendliness and you can even being your dogs 10/10. Decor good ,toilets clean. keep up the hard work

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been for a few days away to Mablethorpe after our wedding. We found the Baccus last year and fell in love with it straight away! We are the type of couple who enjoy a pint / glass of wine and a sandwich not the greasy chip butties in Mablethorpe!!!!! We think the atmosphere and the service is second to none... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheshire
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed, yet again here for two nights, (27th & 28th March). Hotel was very busy (two parties on Friday and a Soul Night Saturday) but the friendly staff coped well. This is not the Hilton, the floors creak and it is a maze of corridors, but it is good value for money and the owner and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Possibly the worst meal we ever ate: 1 hour wait (advised 30 minutes), fizzy water served instead of lemonade and a 10 minute wait to change it. Roast of the day came with beef that could only be described as wood shavings from a plained door, I sent it back to be served with more of the same though not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
applebyscunthorpe, Manager at The Bacchus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sirs I'm sorry to hear you did not meal, the majority of customers we deal with are very complimentary to the value and the quality of food we present. Unfortunatly,we were indeed very busy that night and we had indeed informed customers that there was a 30min for food.Over busy periods we try to keep customers informed on waiting... More 

Overton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

this is the 3rd time I have stayed here and again had a lovely welcoming reception, clean and comfortable rooms and an excellent breakfast. The staff are warm, friendly and helpful and will do whatever they can to help your stay be the best it can be. Thank you for giving us rooms that suited our needs perfectly as we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

We've stayed in the Bacchus hotel twice in six weeks, This Hotel is unique not only offering great value for money but serves the most fantastic food and has really helpful and friendly staff. we will definitely be staying again it exceeded our expectations in all aspects. from management to bar staff. we would thoroughly recommend this hotel and have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spalding, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Had already been here on icy evening, and now returned to try the lunchtime deal of 2 meals for £12. Excellent value - I had curry of the day +naan bread+rice, other half is partial to steak & ale pie, which came with potatoes and plenty of other (well) cooked veg - none of this half cooked nonsense. A roaring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
applebyscunthorpe, Manager at The Bacchus Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind comments. More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We visited neighbouring Mablethorpe to see the motorcycle sand racing on an arctic cold day, with Sunday lunch booked at the Bacchus for a party of 16 from our club. Having visited most of the resorts on his stretch of the east coast, I've come to appreciate their unpretentious English " seasideness" , some with charm, some with candy floss... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
applebyscunthorpe, Owner at The Bacchus Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the trouble to respond,I will pass on your kind comments to the staff More 

Tamworth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Having never stayed at a hotel with our dog before we were anxious what differences we would experience. However, this hotel and its excellent staff headed by Alan were friendly, inclusive but never intrusive throughout our stay. The hotel has a unique ambience generated by its staff which means you feel like a friend not just a guest. Its spotlessly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

been going to the bacchus now for 10 years for winter weekend break and love it,,2 days of relaxing by the lovely real fire,rooms always clean well kept and all different,,staff always friendly and normally same faces which is a gud sign,food lovely and always come away stuffed,will keep goin back,carnt fault it,thanks to dave and all staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question