We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Warrenpoint hotels

The Whistledown Hotel

6 Seaview, Warrenpoint BT34 3NH, Northern Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Whistledown Hotel to your Saves list
The Whistledown Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
85%
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Warrenpoint
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    38
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
47
42
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Can't fault the room, was clean and comfortable, however was really disappointed with breakfast, one person serving a busy breakfast room, ordered breakfast including tea/toast, had finished the cooked breakfast long before the tea arrived (after reminding the waiter), then had to go looking around for cups to actually drink the tea as the table had not been set, toast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Im very happy with the stay and staff. I was here for 3 nights with view towards the sea living on 3rd floor. Room was clean and nice and I didn´t experience any problems, the staff are friendly and helpfull If somethings wrong. I understod that rooms may vary In quality and a friend changed her room without any problems.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely comments, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit again. More

Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate here last week, as a large group from work, 26 of us in total. I had preordered the food and as soon as everyone arrived the starters were ready to be served. Mains and desserts followed in a timely manner, neither too rushed nor were we waiting for any length of time. Portions were filling and there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, It gives us great pleasure to receive such a wonderful review. Staff work very hard to deliver excellence in service and cuisine. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We hope you will visit again soon. More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate here today as a large group the food and service were both excellent give it a go. Sometimes with numbers both service and food can suffer but we were very happy. I would strongly recommend a visit here for any occasion business or pleasure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your excellent review and recommendation which is very much appreciated. We hope you will visit again. More

Kilkeel Co Down
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have been here several times and have never been disappointed. They don't take bookings but you never have to wait very long before being seated and the service is unbelievably fast. Portions are filling and staff are helpful and friendly. Lovely Lovely, Lovely

Was this review helpful? Yes
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your excellent review we are delighted you enjoyed your visit. We hope you will come again. More

Sligo, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Being parents of a 7 yr old Type 1 Diabetic and 6 yr old Coeliac we don't tend do eat out often. However we were meeting friends in Warrenpoint so needed to check out restuarants on what would be available for our Coeliac child to eat. We had contacted the hotel before travelling and they kindly sent us a copy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, It is really important to us that every visitor has a most enjoyable dining experience at the Whistledown. Our dedicated Gluten Free Menu has become very popular as it offers a good choice of GF dishes. Thank you for such great comments, we will be delighted to welcome you again on your return visit. More

Langport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Was treated to this hotel restaurant on Warrentpoint seafront by colleagues whilst visiting nearby Newry. The restaurant itself is very bling and quirky with a great atmosphere coupled by really good food at really good prices. Six of us ate lunch with drinks for less than £80. Unfortunately I didn't take any photos but as I would have liked to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you love the interior design and more importantly enjoyed your lunch. We do hope you will visit us again. More

armagh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed one night in the Whistledown in Feb.Warm welcome at reception and quick check in. Room was on the first floor and really was lovely. Only downside was we didnt get a view over the lough but when eating in the restaurant that evening we got a seat at the window overlooking the lough so we cant complain. The restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to celebrate your wedding anniversary at the Whistledown Hotel. The view of Carlingford Lough is amazing and we are pleased that you had a window table for both your evening meal and for breakfast. We thank you for your lovely review and look forward to meeting you on your next visit. More

Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I called to the restaurant upstairs on Saturday evening two weeks ago around 6.15pm. We had eaten here on other occasions and never found fault. Our first encounter was with a dark haired male aged around 40ish with a sour face who took us to a table. He set the menus on the table and left without... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whistledownhotel, Owner at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer As the owner of the hotel I felt I would like to reply to you personally as I am disappointed by your review. I recall your visit vividly as I was in the restaurant on the night in question. I clearly remember that you were greeted by our restaurant manager who apologized that he was unable to meet... More

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

had a lovely wkend stay with the family Warenpoint is a little gem tucked away between the Irish Sea and the Mourne MountainsBeautiful views,staff and hotel were wonderful :) Shopping in nearby Newry was a pleasure,overall we had a wonderful time staying at the Whistledown Hotel:)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We really appreciate your excellent review and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that you will visit us again in the future. More

Been to The Whistledown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whistledown Hotel

Also Known As:
The Whistledown Hotel Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland
Address: 6 Seaview, Warrenpoint BT34 3NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Warrenpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Warrenpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistledown Hotel has a fairytale setting on the shores of Carlingford Lough at the foot of the majestic mountains of Mourne.When you choose to stay at the Whistledown Hotel you can be assured that you are choosing the perfect location, one that combines romantic ambience, a chic contemporary interior, good food, competitive rates and an exceptional team of staff dedicated to making each guest feel extra special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Whistledown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whistledown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.