We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Warrenpoint hotels

The Whistledown Hotel

6 Seaview, Warrenpoint BT34 3NH, Northern Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Whistledown Hotel to your Saves list
The Whistledown Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
85%
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Warrenpoint
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
BigJim1888 Derry, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (157)
  • Photos (72)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (30)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    40
    14
    4
    8
See reviews for
49
49
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel for 2 nights for our anniversary break and what a deal. The cost included breakfast and 1 evening meal. We ate there on the night of our anniversary and the food was excellent. The breakfasts were good too with a great choice of hot and cold food and fast and friendly service. The weather was sweltering... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whistledownhotel, Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Lots of people celebrate at the Whistledown Hotel and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your special 25th Wedding Anniversary celebration here. We have passed your comments on to Briege, Aisling and all the staff and we look forward to greeting you again when your return. More

NewryCity
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Whistledown Hotel oozes perfection when it comes to customer service. It is a wonderful welcoming hotel that thrives on gatherings of family and friends and people of all ages mingle seamlessly. The food satisfies everyone and the menu is endless, lots of credit to the amazing chefs who deliver such consistency every time we visit. Thank you for your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

what an excellent hotel .Staff food atmosphere superb.Rooms are big airy and spotless Loved are stay here this was are second time staying at this hotel and we have been for dinner on several ocassions and we"ve never been disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent an overnight here to get away from the city. Easily located on the sea front with 5 min walk to centre of town and harbour. Lovely views. This was a 3 star hotel but a very good one and I have stayed in 4 stars hotels worse than this place. Check in was good and friendly. I was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely decor but food and service were below standard I would expect . Had a meal there with my family and was not impressed with the food or the service. Pizza tasted like it had been frozen ,ordered chips which we didn't get,no one came to ask us if everything was ok .Ordered drinks which we also didn't get and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
whistledownhotel, Owner at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us. I can assure you that all of our pizzas are cooked fresh to order using only the freshest of ingredients and all customers can freely view this process through our open kitchen. We are frequently complimented on our generous portions... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Thankfully only had to stay one night on business. The staff were pleasant but that's as good as it got. My room window faced a brick wall, warm night opened window to be kept awake until the early hours by the toilet hand driers below. Water on the floor from leaking toilet in the morning, shabby as sink levelled with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
whistledownhotel, Owner at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay but am pleased to note that you found the food excellent and staff pleasant. We were fully booked on the night you stayed therefore you were allocated the last available room at an attractive corporate rate. I would have preferred if your concerns... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

As soon as me and my husband got engaged 3years ago we decided to make our choice to have our wedding venue local as we new the hotel well over the years and could never fault any aspect of it! As soon as we booked as usual we received first class treatment when dining,drinking and dancing. We always loved coming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for two nights. The staff were wonderful and very helpful. Our room was comfortable but was noisy from the street traffic. We enjoyed the wonderful views out to sea at meal times. We did not have the sea views from our room. The food in the hotel is excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

What a hidden gem Warrenpoint is. For me,time has stood still, it was just lovely to be in a small town,which was buzzing and there were no chain stores,coffee shops and there is the wonderful gem of The Whistledown Hotel. Our room was at the front with the most wonderful view, Northern Ireland on our left, the South on our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Letterkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The hotel is bases in Warrenpoint Co. Down. It is across the road from the sea and some beautiful views. The food in the hotel is great and the rooms are quite nice. I have stayed here several times now and would be happy to return. Its a pity the hotel couldn't control the weather! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Whistledown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Whistledown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whistledown Hotel

Address: 6 Seaview, Warrenpoint BT34 3NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Warrenpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Whistledown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whistledown Hotel Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Whistledown Hotel has a fairytale setting on the shores of Carlingford Lough at the foot of the majestic mountains of Mourne.When you choose to stay at the Whistledown Hotel you can be assured that you are choosing the perfect location, one that combines romantic ambience, a chic contemporary interior, good food, competitive rates and an exceptional team of staff dedicated to making each guest feel extra special. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
21

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer