We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Bishops Castle B&Bs / inns

Old Brick Guesthouse

7 Church Street, Bishops Castle SY9 5AA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Old Brick Guesthouse to your Saves list
Old Brick Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
94%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Neilmagpie Nottingham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for two nights just before Easter. It was a part of the world we were unfamiliar with but thoroughly enjoyed. The town is small but with everything you'd need. The Guest house was lovely; a gorgeous old building with oak beams and plenty of character. Rosie and Norm were very welcoming and did everything to ensure our stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have visited this establishment many times before with two previous owners. The latest owners have made many improvements, all to the good and made our stay even better. Breakfast was superb especially the home made bread. Beds were very comfortable and shower was excellant. A perfect weekend stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay at the Old Brick Guest House. The family room with intercommunicating double and twin rooms was perfect for our family as the kids could go to bed earlier without us having to sit in the dark. There is enough space in either room for an extra travel cot if needed. The rooms were comfortable,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Codsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

A lovely house with plenty of character.Friendly welcome from hosts Rosie and Norm. Parking just behind the house was useful. Really comfortable bed and good shower. Breakfast was superb. Homemade bread and marmalade.Locally produced food.I was even given the choice of 2 different types of vegetarian sausage. My husband, not a vegetarian,loved the 'welsh dragon' sausage. As a bonus, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have been on many walking holidays, with a small group of friends, mainly in central and southern locations, and we have stayed in many B & B establishments and small hotels of varying quality. On our most recent trip, the accommodation was booked by my brother, with two of our group staying at the local pub, and the other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent a very pleasant night here. Easy to find and park. Comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Our hosts were friendly. Would stay here again. We had an attic room which had a compact en suite, but large enough - the water pressure was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Old building so not everything is going to be pristine but even so there could be a bit more done to make guests comfortable. Bedrooms okay but no controllable heating, only one small bath towel per person which is never changed and so remains damp even if not dirty, and the house generally has a fairly musty smell about it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rosie R, Owner at Old Brick Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments although I find it hard to believe that you were not able to raise some of your concerns with us during your 3 day stay. Firstly our central heating has been set to 20C for some time now but we do recognise that the Willow room doesn't get the heat that it should probably due to... More

New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were keeping strange hours as we swooped in for only about 18 hours total for a friend's wedding. We told them in advance that we would be arriving earlier than the normal check-in; they worked it out for us. We told them we would be leaving a little earlier than expected, and they made us a wonderful breakfast — first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here whilst attending a friends wedding that was happening locally. Nothing was too much trouble, including letting us check in early so we could change for the wedding. We were allocated the Ash Room, which is a family room with a large double bed & two single beds in what is actually two adjoining rooms. This provided us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
swansea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent service from the owner of this b&b Rosie. I called ahead to advise was running late, and she offered to run across the road and book a table with the local pub so I would be able to have something to eat. This was very much appreciated. The room itself was the attic room, twin beds, well laid out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Old Brick Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Brick Guesthouse

Also Known As:
Old Brick Guesthouse Bishops Castle, England
Address: 7 Church Street, Bishops Castle SY9 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Brick Guesthouse is a Grade 2 listed building that is over 300 years old. It has been a guest house for more than 70 years and has undergone recent refurbishment throughout. We welcome all comers, especially walkers and cyclists and real ale enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Brick Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Brick Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.