We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Trowbridge hotels

The Polebarn Hotel

Save
You added The Polebarn Hotel to your Saves list
Polebarn Road, Trowbridge BA14 7EG, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Polebarn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Trowbridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trowbridge
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    44
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
53
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (122)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We needed a hotel in Trowbridge for New Year's Eve as we were attending a party with friends there. The Polebarn looked lovely and only a few minutes walk from our friends' house. We had room 14 which was very nice. You have to bear in mind that this is an old building so will have some quirks (no lift,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Polebarn, Owner at The Polebarn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Andygurd, Thank you for your lovely comments. You guys were great fun, I’ll never forget Maid Marion and her valiant Robin Hood helping us wind up the New Year celebrations! I’m so glad you had a great time here and it was a real pleasure meeting you both. We look forward to welcoming you back next time. More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Picked the hotel because of the location and that did not disappoint. I can, of course, only speak about my own room (number 5) but the bottom line is that it has been 20 years or so since I had a room like that. Not well lit, exceptionally small, no wardrobe, no wi-fi and a shower door that only the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Polebarn, Owner at The Polebarn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Brian M, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel. I am saddened to hear that it was not at all what you expected though you made no mention of your displeasure while you were here so gave us no opportunity to change things for you. The room you were in, no 5,... More 

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just stayed at the Polebarn for the second time, as it is close to relatives. Both times have been close to Christmas, and we weren't sure that a family-run hotel would be open, but no problems there. Each time the four of us have been accommodated in one room, with put-you-up beds brought in. The rooms aren't enormous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Polebarn, Owner at The Polebarn Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments Sosmall07 It was really lovely to see you here again and we enjoy welcoming all of our guests at any time of the year. It’s a real compliment that you returned to us again and we respect that decision and make every effort to ensure that you will not be disappointed. All being well, see you... More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Stayed at the hotel as a stop over on our way to Bath, very clean, well decorated good sized room, comfortable bed and a nice spacious bathroom - a lovely change to stay in a building with history and clearly there has been a lot of hard work with the décor in recent times. The staff were most friendly, breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Polebarn, Manager at The Polebarn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mick B Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. Our staff team work very hard, our housekeepers are proud of their high standards and any comments are always passed on. I’m sorry that the WI-FI was not as you had hoped; it’s something we are looking into. I look forward to welcoming you back next... More 

Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Myself, my husband and our two children visited this hotel last month. We found the hotel thoroughly charming, and the Staff treated us like family! We were welcomed and made to feel at home instantly! Our room (family room) was lovely and spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was a lovely meal, great local produce, perfectly cooked by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Polebarn, Owner at The Polebarn Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments Suzyduncan11. We are glad that your family felt so at home here. We try very hard to keep the house less like a formal hotel and more like the large house that it is. When you were here you asked about our mattresses, they are made here in Trowbridge at Airsprung and are 1000 pocket... More 

Launceston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

A fantastic building in much need of lots of work. The work is in progress but I feel the price we were charged would only represent good value when the work is finished. It is all a bit faded grandeur and I am astonished at some of the praise given in previous reviews. Our bedroom was a reasonable size but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Polebarn, Owner at The Polebarn Hotel, responded to this review

You know, this kind of thing isn’t for everyone – family run, small, historic bed and breakfast hotel. I could now list your points and defend them – a ladybird came in through your open window (it was incredibly hot this autumn) and died on the window sill sometime between the final cleaning check and you checking in is frankly... More 

Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Just had a night at the Polebarn,lovely homely hotel with very friendly hosts.Snug room and a very comfy bed and a nice en-suite.We have already recommended it for a family wedding in 2015. Chris and Sheila

Was this review helpful? Yes
Polebarn, Owner at The Polebarn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at The Polebarn. More 

Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

A very comfortable privately run hotel. The tasteful conversion is a good compromise between retaining the character of an 18th century town house and providing the facilities of a hotel. The discrete reception desk in the original hall to the mismatched furniture in the rooms add to the character and makes a nice change from the utilitarian sameness of big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Polebarn, Owner at The Polebarn Hotel, responded to this review

Dave L, You absolutely ‘get’ what we are trying to achieve here. I couldn’t say it better myself actually! Suffice it to say that it’s always a pleasure to meet like-minded people who love history and historic buildings. We look forward to welcoming you back when you visit again. More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Although modernised with new carpets etc inside it's clear the hotel is an old building converted into rooms across three small floors. The window in my room wouldn't close properly and the rain meant it was rather noisy outside. Service from the staff was excellent, as was the included breakfast and the bathroom was clean. The free Wi-Fi was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Polebarn Hotel after it was recommended to us by a friendly local. We were invited in by a friendly older lady who was all smiles, which after our disastrous stay somewhere else the night before was a welcome relief. Our room was a twin bed on the ground floor, it was clean, comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Polebarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Polebarn Hotel

Address: Polebarn Road, Trowbridge BA14 7EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Trowbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Polebarn Hotel Trowbridge
The Polebarn Hotel Trowbridge, England

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay