We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Polebarn Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Polebarn Road, Trowbridge BA14 7EG, England
Announcement
Free Parking!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Polebarn Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Polebarn Hotel
Add Your Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    44
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
54
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Stayed here for three nights. Ideal location for the places we wanted to go out to visit. Our room was at the top of the building so it was very quiet and had views out to the surrounding countryside. Everything was clean and in good condition. Breakfast was great and the 'breakfast lady' was very friendly and attentive. Nearby, through... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Was very pleasantly surprised at how lovely this hotel was. It was a beautiful building in an ideal location and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and the bathroom was lovely. If I am ever in that area again I'd book to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We needed a hotel in Trowbridge for New Year's Eve as we were attending a party with friends there. The Polebarn looked lovely and only a few minutes walk from our friends' house. We had room 14 which was very nice. You have to bear in mind that this is an old building so will have some quirks (no lift,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Polebarn, Owner at The Polebarn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Andygurd, Thank you for your lovely comments. You guys were great fun, I’ll never forget Maid Marion and her valiant Robin Hood helping us wind up the New Year celebrations! I’m so glad you had a great time here and it was a real pleasure meeting you both. We look forward to welcoming you back next time. More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Picked the hotel because of the location and that did not disappoint. I can, of course, only speak about my own room (number 5) but the bottom line is that it has been 20 years or so since I had a room like that. Not well lit, exceptionally small, no wardrobe, no wi-fi and a shower door that only the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Polebarn, Owner at The Polebarn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Brian M, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel. I am saddened to hear that it was not at all what you expected though you made no mention of your displeasure while you were here so gave us no opportunity to change things for you. The room you were in, no 5,... More 

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We have just stayed at the Polebarn for the second time, as it is close to relatives. Both times have been close to Christmas, and we weren't sure that a family-run hotel would be open, but no problems there. Each time the four of us have been accommodated in one room, with put-you-up beds brought in. The rooms aren't enormous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Polebarn, Owner at The Polebarn Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments Sosmall07 It was really lovely to see you here again and we enjoy welcoming all of our guests at any time of the year. It’s a real compliment that you returned to us again and we respect that decision and make every effort to ensure that you will not be disappointed. All being well, see you... More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Stayed at the hotel as a stop over on our way to Bath, very clean, well decorated good sized room, comfortable bed and a nice spacious bathroom - a lovely change to stay in a building with history and clearly there has been a lot of hard work with the décor in recent times. The staff were most friendly, breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Polebarn, Manager at The Polebarn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mick B Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. Our staff team work very hard, our housekeepers are proud of their high standards and any comments are always passed on. I’m sorry that the WI-FI was not as you had hoped; it’s something we are looking into. I look forward to welcoming you back next... More 

Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Myself, my husband and our two children visited this hotel last month. We found the hotel thoroughly charming, and the Staff treated us like family! We were welcomed and made to feel at home instantly! Our room (family room) was lovely and spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was a lovely meal, great local produce, perfectly cooked by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Polebarn, Owner at The Polebarn Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments Suzyduncan11. We are glad that your family felt so at home here. We try very hard to keep the house less like a formal hotel and more like the large house that it is. When you were here you asked about our mattresses, they are made here in Trowbridge at Airsprung and are 1000 pocket... More 

Launceston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

A fantastic building in much need of lots of work. The work is in progress but I feel the price we were charged would only represent good value when the work is finished. It is all a bit faded grandeur and I am astonished at some of the praise given in previous reviews. Our bedroom was a reasonable size but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Polebarn, Owner at The Polebarn Hotel, responded to this review

You know, this kind of thing isn’t for everyone – family run, small, historic bed and breakfast hotel. I could now list your points and defend them – a ladybird came in through your open window (it was incredibly hot this autumn) and died on the window sill sometime between the final cleaning check and you checking in is frankly... More 

Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Just had a night at the Polebarn,lovely homely hotel with very friendly hosts.Snug room and a very comfy bed and a nice en-suite.We have already recommended it for a family wedding in 2015. Chris and Sheila

Was this review helpful? Yes
Polebarn, Owner at The Polebarn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at The Polebarn. More 

Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

A very comfortable privately run hotel. The tasteful conversion is a good compromise between retaining the character of an 18th century town house and providing the facilities of a hotel. The discrete reception desk in the original hall to the mismatched furniture in the rooms add to the character and makes a nice change from the utilitarian sameness of big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Polebarn, Owner at The Polebarn Hotel, responded to this review

Dave L, You absolutely ‘get’ what we are trying to achieve here. I couldn’t say it better myself actually! Suffice it to say that it’s always a pleasure to meet like-minded people who love history and historic buildings. We look forward to welcoming you back when you visit again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question