We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Polebarn Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Polebarn Road, Trowbridge BA14 7EG, England
Announcement
Free Parking!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Polebarn Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Polebarn Hotel
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    46
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
14
57
11
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (130)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

A very welcoming and accommodating , family run hotel. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The owners could not do enough for us and breakfast was delicious! It is perfectly situated to explore the surrounding area and we would highly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have stayed here for a couple of nights a week for the last three years. The hotel is a small family run hotel where you are made welcome. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The choice of breakfast on offer is varied and the quality is excellent. This hotel is clean, comfortable and excellent value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice friendly welcome.Very helpful with local knowledge.Our room was spacious nice and clean.The bed was a little hard,but I think that is similar to most hotels.Trowbridge is a nice little Town the hotel is just on the edge of town,so we were able to walk to local pubs and restaurants in spite of being on the edge of town, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night (a Saturday). Our room was nice. Bed very comfy. Lovely clean room and shower room. Very fresh sheets and towels. Service very good. Family run business so nice to see children running around helping. Nice feel as a result compared to the nearby PremInn perhaps. Lovely old house. Only downsides: it was cold (turn the heating on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

I stayed at the Polebarn over a weekend as a solo visitor...I can only say what a reall pleasant experience, made to feel valued and welcomed and the owners showed a personal interest without it feeling intrusive. The room was comfortable, clean and had everything I needed..THe Breakfast menu was wide and quite varied for a small family run business,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

A good place to stay in Trowbridge where there doesn't seem to be too many other possibilities. We had a very large room and a comfortable bed which was very quiet. Breakfast is served in the cellar and the full English was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Stayed here for three nights. Ideal location for the places we wanted to go out to visit. Our room was at the top of the building so it was very quiet and had views out to the surrounding countryside. Everything was clean and in good condition. Breakfast was great and the 'breakfast lady' was very friendly and attentive. Nearby, through... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Was very pleasantly surprised at how lovely this hotel was. It was a beautiful building in an ideal location and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and the bathroom was lovely. If I am ever in that area again I'd book to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We needed a hotel in Trowbridge for New Year's Eve as we were attending a party with friends there. The Polebarn looked lovely and only a few minutes walk from our friends' house. We had room 14 which was very nice. You have to bear in mind that this is an old building so will have some quirks (no lift,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Polebarn, Owner at The Polebarn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Andygurd, Thank you for your lovely comments. You guys were great fun, I’ll never forget Maid Marion and her valiant Robin Hood helping us wind up the New Year celebrations! I’m so glad you had a great time here and it was a real pleasure meeting you both. We look forward to welcoming you back next time. More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Picked the hotel because of the location and that did not disappoint. I can, of course, only speak about my own room (number 5) but the bottom line is that it has been 20 years or so since I had a room like that. Not well lit, exceptionally small, no wardrobe, no wi-fi and a shower door that only the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Polebarn, Owner at The Polebarn Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Brian M, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel. I am saddened to hear that it was not at all what you expected though you made no mention of your displeasure while you were here so gave us no opportunity to change things for you. The room you were in, no 5,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question