We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Clarens hotels

Protea Hotel Clarens

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Main & Van der Merwe Streets, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Clarens to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Clarens
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Clarens
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Minkey2014 Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Reviews (71)
  • Photos (44)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (29)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    32
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
37
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our first visit to Clarens was wonderful, and the only place to stay is the Protea Hotel! The staff, views from hotel, location and food were awesome. Although a long weekend and also Fathers Day the hotel was under pressure, but in my opinion the hotel staff coped superbly with the huge pressure experienced, especially on Fathers Day with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time we stayed at the Protea Hotel and really enjoy the hotel. The restaurant however is really disappointing, even though the food is not bad we were here on fathers day and after ordering our meal waited 60 minutes for starters. Only received it after complaining. Eventually received our main meal 1 hour and forty minutes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Been staying in numerous hotels the past few months and were expecting the same. But I was pleasantly surprised. The service from the first step into the hotel till the day I left was really good. Rooms was very clean and love the espresso machine and awesome view of the mountain. Hotel is also centrally located so we did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee-Ann B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear Gerrarddy What a wonderful review. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Thank you for the positive comments about the Protea Hotel Clarens. We pride ourselves in providing a memorable “Clarens experience”, and it truly is wonderful to hear that your stay with us was different to other hotels that you have... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel is centrally located - once we arrived in Clarens, we never used our car again. The food in the hotel is much better than I expected - a high quality breakfast, and an even better buffet dinner for only R145. It's a high quality buffet - fresh and tasty - not the normal rubbish you find elsewhere. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee-Ann B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear shaundicker What a wonderful experience in the majestic surrounds of the Maluti Mountains. Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us and the positive comments about the meal offerings, STAFF and convenience of our location. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to take full advantage of stunning views that the deluxe rooms offer.... More

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
88 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was my third visit to relaxing Clarens. We stayed for 4 nights in February and enjoyed the experience. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The room with an excellent mountain view and balcony was well equipped and comfortable without being luxurious....the only downside being noisy delivery lorries in the early morning beneath the balcony. The breakfast buffet with eggs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee-Ann B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear JoeCBanstead Thank you for choosing the Protea Hotel Clarens as your accommodation destination for your visit to Clarens in February. Your complimentary comments about the STAFF and the beautiful views that you experienced are greatly appreciated. Thank you for bringing to my attention that the service at the egg station was a little slow, I will address this with... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Well appointed room with beautiful mountain view. Clean. Good service at reception and the restaurant. Nice entertainment deck with beautiful view. Perfect breakfast and dinner buffet. Excellent selection. Freshly prepared and tasty. What a wonderful weekend getaway. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee-Ann B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear DocKS17 What a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you were able to take full advantage of the beautiful views that surround the hotel. More importantly I am very proud that my TEAM and the hotel offerings were well received and that you had a most enjoyable weekend experience. I look forward... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The staff were absolutely lovely and made for a great long weekend! The waiters in the morning seem over whelmed and occasionally lack the manners we expected. It's a great hotel and looks amazing! Not sure I am 100% sold on the shower location in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lee-Ann B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Good day WarFly Thank you so much on your positive commment on your stay at Protea Hotel Clarens. We at Protea Hotel Clarens always strive to meet our GUESTS expectations and it brings great pleasure to know that my STAFF did not only meet your expectations but exceeded them. We looking forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Clarens.... More

Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
118 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We are a retired French couple from Canada (Montreal) and traveled South Africa during 2 months renting 31 different lodgings. This one was # 26. Big room and bed, sink and shower directly in the room, Cable TV with internationals channels, AC, free parking and WiFi, close to the city and restaurants, small small pool, nice welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lee-Ann B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear Milorr Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor of your recent visit to the Protea Hotel Clarens. I am most thrilled that you were able to take full advantage of the close proximity of the hotel to all the attractions that Clarens has to offer. Thank you for commenting on the welcome you received as well as the... More

Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Very friendly welcome in this Protea hotel with beautiful views on the surrounding mountains. wifi in the room was of poor quality (extremely slow) but there was a public computer with a good connection in the hallway. We had considered dinner in the hotel, but after we had a beer in the hotel bar, we decided to eat outside; the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee-Ann B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear Guy P Thank you for your recent visit to the Protea Hotel Clarens and for posting your review. Your comments are an invaluable tool for us to measure what we succeed at, but more importantly what we can improve on. My sincerest apologies that the STAFF in the Restaurant and Bar did not portray the friendly service that we... More

West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

First of all the pluses. The hotel is a lovely open plan building with modern bedrooms with great views over towards the adjacent mountains. The staff are helpful in the main and the location very near the centre of the lovely small artist haven town of Clarens is enviable. However there were some minuses. For some reason the shower in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lee-Ann B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review

Dear Rex B Thank you for visiting the Protea Hotel Clarens and for posting your experience on TripAdvisor. Your comments are an invaluable tool for us to assess what we succeed in, but more importantly what we can improve on. Thank you for your positive comments about my TEAM and the views on offer. Please accept my sincerely apologies for... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Protea Hotel Clarens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Clarens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Clarens

Address: Cnr Main & Van der Merwe Streets, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Clarens 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel Clarens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Clarens - Home is where the Art is. The Protea Hotel Clarens is located in the best kept secret in art and culture circles of the Free State. The picturesque village of Clarens is framed by the majestic Maluti Mountains, sandstone cliffs and is in close proximity to the Golden Gate National Park and the mountain kingdom of Lesotho. This artists’ haven is a tapestry steeped in history and rich in legend. Experience a living masterpiece that exudes sheer style, luxury and design. Protea Hotel Clarens blends in with the natural splendour that has inspired artists, eco lovers and tourists who simply enjoy the art of living to explore this tranquil, magical landscape and relax, in style. Take in the breathtaking scenery with sundowners on Protea Hotel Clarens’ terrace, enjoy fine dining or laze away the hours in luxury and comfort. This sanctuary embodies state-of-the-art excellence and service. From adrenalin rushes to cultural expeditions, Clarens offers it all. With an abundance of activities nearby, from San paintings and dinosaur trails to white river rafting and rock climbing; Protea Hotel Clarens’ warm hospitality completes the picture. So whether you plan a romantic getaway, team-building exercise, business conference or African adventure, Protea Hotel Clarens has it all. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
70

See which rooms travelers prefer