We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Angler and Antelope Guesthouse

2 College Road | cnr New Street, Somerset East 5850, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Angler and Antelope Guesthouse
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

Yet another outstanding experience staying and the Angler and Antelope. Really enjoyed the company with Allan & Annabelle as always. Thank you for a terrific evening, beautiful room and delicious breakfast. See you again soon!

Helpful?
Thank Matthew E
Fort Beaufort, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

Brilliant food, great setting. Alan a brilliant pro fly fish guide and the waters he controls and manages are world class with huge massive trout lurking about. Super comfortable room to catch up on sleep and recharge your batteries. Wonderful hosts always trying to ensure your stay is brilliant.

Helpful?
Thank RudiVoges156
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

Alan and Annabelle are fantastic hosts and made our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms are stylish and quaint although situated relatively close to one another. Breakfast was excellent. The trout and bass dams in the area that Alan gained us access to are stunningly beautiful and apparently produce good fish. Alan's knowledge and enthusiasm for fly fishing is wonderful... More 

Helpful?
Thank RyanDA04
Knysna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

We had a great stay. Good food, Great caring personal service by the owners and super comfortable room in a very unique building. Loved the heated blanket on the bed and the heated bathroom tiles. Definitely a top experience.

Helpful?
Thank BevvanEck
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

We had a wonderful stay at Angler and Antelope. Alan and Annabelle are great hosts and our self-catering room was comfortable, practical and very neat. Centrally located. My kids and I had a wild fly fishing lesson with Alan at a nearby farm. What a passionate expert Alan is. We had lots of fun and he made sure the kids... More 

Helpful?
Thank KidsOfNature
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

We had a great stay, very comfortable rooms, nice breakfast and great fishing. The bar and dining set in an old church and is a great place to eat (although we only ate breakfast there). I recommend it

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tobias K
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Toby, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are really happy that you had a great trip and that your fishing was successful. Looking forward to your next trip, and hopefully you'll have a chance to sample more than just breakfast then. Kind regards Angler & Antelope More 

pretoria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

My stay was excellent, the service was wonderful, the food was superb, the rooms were comfortable however it would be nice to get tv reception with DSTV perhaps, only 1 channel was on the tv and the tv reception was of a poor quality, with such a situation it would be better to not have a TV in the room... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 739tarynb
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Taryn, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad that we were able to meet your standards when it came to service and the food. We would like to point out that you were staying in our standard room, which you booked through a third party website. This website indicates that this specific room... More 

Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

Angler and Antelope in Somerset East is run by Alan and Annabelle Hobson, whose energy and commitment to the guesthouse and the associated flyfishing activities has paid dividends. The central reception/bar/ restaurant area is housed in a small deconsecrated Catholic Church, while the rooms themselves are some 20 meters away in a separate building. My bedroom was spacious, with solid... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philip W
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review Philip. Looking forward to your next fishing trip with us. More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

Outstanding, excellent. 4th visit and just gets better every time. The service and attention to detail is amazing. A must getaway if you want to be spoilt. The food is master chef quality and rooms something to experience. No comfort detail left to chance.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alanp97
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Alan for your wonderful review. Nice to know we're getting it right. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

Being taking some of my customers to Angler for last three tears and a real winner. Best hosts you will ever find and fishing always great. Alan will go out of his way to make sure every angler gets the best opportunity to catch more than enough fish and youalways leave thereknowing that you learned a hell of a lot... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank apiev
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks Apie, glad the fish played ball on this trip again. Glad we could make your stay special. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay