We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Angler and Antelope Guesthouse

2 College Road | cnr New Street, Somerset East 5850, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Angler and Antelope Guesthouse
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Angler and Antelope Guesthouse
Angler and Antelope Guesthouse
Angler and Antelope Guesthouse
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
8
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful stay at Angler and Antelope. Alan and Annabelle are great hosts and our self-catering room was comfortable, practical and very neat. Centrally located. My kids and I had a wild fly fishing lesson with Alan at a nearby farm. What a passionate expert Alan is. We had lots of fun and he made sure the kids... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great stay, very comfortable rooms, nice breakfast and great fishing. The bar and dining set in an old church and is a great place to eat (although we only ate breakfast there). I recommend it

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Toby, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are really happy that you had a great trip and that your fishing was successful. Looking forward to your next trip, and hopefully you'll have a chance to sample more than just breakfast then. Kind regards Angler & Antelope More 

pretoria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My stay was excellent, the service was wonderful, the food was superb, the rooms were comfortable however it would be nice to get tv reception with DSTV perhaps, only 1 channel was on the tv and the tv reception was of a poor quality, with such a situation it would be better to not have a TV in the room... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Taryn, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad that we were able to meet your standards when it came to service and the food. We would like to point out that you were staying in our standard room, which you booked through a third party website. This website indicates that this specific room... More 

Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

Angler and Antelope in Somerset East is run by Alan and Annabelle Hobson, whose energy and commitment to the guesthouse and the associated flyfishing activities has paid dividends. The central reception/bar/ restaurant area is housed in a small deconsecrated Catholic Church, while the rooms themselves are some 20 meters away in a separate building. My bedroom was spacious, with solid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review Philip. Looking forward to your next fishing trip with us. More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

Outstanding, excellent. 4th visit and just gets better every time. The service and attention to detail is amazing. A must getaway if you want to be spoilt. The food is master chef quality and rooms something to experience. No comfort detail left to chance.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Alan for your wonderful review. Nice to know we're getting it right. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

Being taking some of my customers to Angler for last three tears and a real winner. Best hosts you will ever find and fishing always great. Alan will go out of his way to make sure every angler gets the best opportunity to catch more than enough fish and youalways leave thereknowing that you learned a hell of a lot... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks Apie, glad the fish played ball on this trip again. Glad we could make your stay special. More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

I was very pleasantly surprised to find this up-market accommodation at a reasonable rate. Very clean & neat. Clearly significant attention is given to the detail to make the whole experience relaxed and comfortable. I'll gladly recommend it to other discerning guests.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Phillip, glad we could help on short notice. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

I have enjoyed the privilege of staying at this fine historic establishment numerous times & the very reason we return every year is because Alan & Annabelle are quite simply the most wonderful folks/hosts who have made their dreams come true by working hard to offer a unique & charming place to stay with an even more unique guided fly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

All we can say is Wow, thank you Craig. We strive for excellence and your comments are so rewarding. Looking forward to your next visit. More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

We spent three fantastic days with Alan - fly fishing. The accommodation at Angler and Antelope was top notch, the evenings around the bar were really great. Annabelle's food was absolutely outstanding (lemon meringue roulade to die for). Alan's guiding is phenomenal - such detailed dedication and thoroughness. A privileged experience - well done Alan and Annabelle. Stephen Theo

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Wonderful having you guys here with us again Stephen. Will remember to do the meringue roulade again next year. More 

East London, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

The rooms are massive and the breakfast is really good. Full dstv which you don't usually find. The hosts are passionate and very accommodating. Alan is the go to guy for trout fishing and knows all the local spots. The best place to stay in Somerset-East.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angler_Antelope, Owner at Angler and Antelope Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We would like to point out that the DSTV in our rooms is the hospitality bouquet with selected additional channels, and whilst it is quite comprehensive, it is unfortunately not full DSTV. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay