We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Easingwold B&Bs / inns

The George at Easingwold

4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Market Place | Easingwold, Easingwold YO61 3AD, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best rates
The George at Easingwold
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The George at Easingwold to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 7 Easingwold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Michael B Sheffield, United Kingdom
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    50
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
16
99
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (153)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The George has a very relaxed atmosphere and our hosts Kay, Michael and there staff very welcoming and all worked hard to make our break a very enjoyable one. The food was exceptional and well presented and a good selection of wine and beers available from the well stocked bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The three night New Year package was popular, and on leaving, several people booked for next year. More 

Hoylake, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very friendly and welcoming hotel for the more mature traveller. we stayed with a party of friends for a New Year Break and had a great time. Kay and Michael were very good hosts and have an excellent team working for them. The food was excellent with the highlight being the New Years eve Gala dinner. A good base... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed the three night New Year package. More 

Bingley
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here overnight before a conference in Easingwold. What a fantastic place to stay. We were quite late arriving due to a hold up at home. Our room was spacious, clean, well decorated and well furnished. The beds were comfortable and we both had a good nights sleep. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, we were shown to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review

We look forward to meeting you again, when your business brings you back to Easingwold. More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here last night Saturday 27th after eating here many times we always said we would like to stay and we were not disappointed we had the evening meal I had soup it was delicious with a hot bread bun and butter I didn't finish it as I had looked at the dessert menu and knew what I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your "special" night. Best Wishes for The New Year. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We returned to the hotel after over 11 yrs and I thought it had improved My mother and I stayed in large twin room which was filled with nice oak furniture All the staff were friendly and helpful - inclusive but not intrusive The food at breakfast and on the evening was tasty and plentiful Even though York is less... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments - please don't leave it another 11 years until you return. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My brother and sister-in-law live in Easingwold and while visiting them today they took us to The George for lunch. My partner is disabled and uses a wheelchair and on arriving at the front door we asked about access as there is a step. Immediately a very pleasant young man came out with a ramp and pushed the wheelchair in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that all your party enjoyed your time in The George. More 

Malton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

It used to be a special treat to eat at the George, but yesterday's meal was so disappointing we must let you know. We had scampi and chips - £9.50. There was five pieces of scampi, too many chips and the garnish was old (yesterday's) starting to deteriorate. Haddock goujons - £8.50. Two pieces of fish. Quite expensive for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review

Your comments have been noted - you chose off the reduced portion menu - it is a shame that you did not raise your issues when your table was checked. The review above "Helpful, friendly staff and fab food" is in direct contrast to your experience. More 

Ambert, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

On business in the area and The George provided everything I needed. Warm welcome, comfy bed and good food served by friendly helpful staff. I needed to be away early and the staff provided me with breakfast to go and a room near the car park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we look forward to you staying again when business brings you to this part of North Yorkshire. More 

Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

The GEORGE is ideally based for you to see what N.Yorkshire has to offer. It is located in the market place. Good selection of hand pull beers. Food top quality and good selection to meet all needs. Staff very pleasant and helpful. nice log fire in the bar lounge. Been 5 times now will definitely be returning next year to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review

It is nice to see you again your customary pre-Christmas shopping trip to York. Looking forward to meeting you again next year. More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently and overall found it good. We ate early in the restaurant as we were going to a play at the Galtres Centre .The food was good and served with a smile. The room, in a block to the rear of the hotel was fine but the bed was very soft I had requested... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michael R, Owner at The George at Easingwold, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Your online booking made a request "for a king-size bed if one was available" because you had a broken leg with complications. Our king-size bed is on the first floor - in our wisdom, we allocated you a double-bedded ground floor room to save you climbing stairs. My wife and I were having a few... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The George at Easingwold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George at Easingwold

Address: Market Place | Easingwold, Easingwold YO61 3AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George at Easingwold 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The George at Easingwold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George At Easingwold Yorkshire

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay