We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park

170 Whitewood Road, Howard Springs, Northern Territory 0835, Australia
Hotel amenities
BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed today
KalTrav Great Western, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    30
    31
    16
    20
See reviews for
34
45
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (111)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Great Western, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I was nervous about staying here after reading some bad reviews but was pleased to discover that would not be our take on our stay. We arrived a day before our booking, staff were very accomodating in finding a space for us even thou it was booked out. The bathrooms were amazing in the block we stayed in (down the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here to give it a go despite reading some poor reviews various sources ... Maybe a mistake on our part. There is no dispute that this is a caravan park.. But it's definitely not a "Big 4"... I have no idea how this park got a big4 accreditation or whatever they do (maybe it's just a franchise and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Howard Springs hotels

Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent 6 nights at Howard springs and enjoyed it. We were right next to jumping pillow and thought it would be noisy till late but it was turned off at 6 pm every night and our kids as well as others enjoyed it. Pools were nice and all amenities were clean and ok. A bit far from Darwin but as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BIG4HowardSprings, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you would definitely stay again here with us and we, and many of our regular guests, concur that our location is perfect for accessing the attractions such as Litchfield, Kakadu and the Adelaide River. It's also good to know your children enjoyed themselves here too. We look forward to welcoming you and your... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staying in peak season it was very crowded. Cabins were clean and all facilities in the park clean and well maintained. The park is a fair way from the city but a good place for those with caravans or children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BIG4HowardSprings, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Renathan and thank you for your review. We agree with you that when travelling in peak system it's crowded all throughout the Northern Territory. We take pride in our park and our team ensure everything is as clean and well maintained as possible - thank you for commenting about this. We are 23kms from Darwin but a great spot... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have been here for 4 nights. We have a small quiet dog and it's good to see there are other dogs though not too many as we have experienced at other parks along the road trip. very Happy with the facilities.,We are are at the back close to the toilets . The toilet & showers in our section are suites... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BIG4HowardSprings, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park, responded to this review

What a lovely review to read - thank you. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with the facilities here and how wonderful that you consider our showers to be best you've had so far on your trip! The section you were placed in is a nice and quiet spot and many repeat guests request exactly that section... More 

Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed before at this park and in fairness, never at this time of year ie peak season. It makes a difference! We stayed this time for 3 nights, and unfortunately were right next to toilet block. As others have mentioned, the smell from the system is overpowering and at times made us feel sick. We had to sit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BIG4HowardSprings, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello and it's lovely to hear from repeat guests such as yourselves. You're right in saying that Darwin is a completely different place in peak season. Beautiful we know, but very hectic. Please be assured we are looking into how to best manage the septic system during the hot and busy season and we appreciate your patience. Many of our... More 

Darwin River, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Packed in like sardines. Seemed to be all about the $$. Facilities clean but not enough.....due to packing so many in!!!! Queues all the time. No park wifi. Barely got our own. Lots of people around us had same opinion, lots of unhappy campers. Very over-rated for the price. If this is the norm for a big4 then it will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BIG4HowardSprings, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are very sad to read your review and would like to take this opportunity to explain. Firstly, we are sorry that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. This dry season has been a very hectic one for all of Darwin and has been impacted by the ash cloud in Bali. Guests left their caravans here on site... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in a cabin which unfortunately was in need of repair.The bottom steps were unstable and were supported by rocks.The light cover which was stuck up by tape fell down.There was no table, the mattress had seen better days and the door key broke off. Our request for a table and bedside light was ignored and the sprinklers were left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BIG4HowardSprings, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park, responded to this review

Good morning and thanks for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us and we are sorry to hear that you did not find the park good value on this occasion. Unfortunately your cabin was accidentally damaged just prior to your arrival and we were waiting for a mobile welder to come to repair it,... More 

Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The park is lovely but the smell from the toilets was so bad I felt sick until we left the park and got some fresh air. Everyone was complaining about it and according to a regular patron this was a 'good' year for the smell. The staff responded to me that I was the first complain which I know was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BIG4HowardSprings, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are very saddened to hear that your stay here wasn't as you expected. As you are aware, Darwin has been very busy and very hot this season and we are looking into how to best manage this issue. Thank you for giving us three stars and we hope to welcome you back to park again one day. Happy travels. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked in for a couple of nights last week and couldn't wait to leave. We're put next to the camp kitchen on a makeshift site as it had no designated water tap or grey water point and only had power due to being so close to the kitchen. Had to put up with noisy kitchen users right outside our window... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BIG4HowardSprings, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hello and we are very sorry that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. This season has been a very busy one for all of Darwin and has been impacted by the ash cloud in Bali - a few of our guests put their vans in storage here but were not able to return to Australia because so many... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howard Springs
12.2 mi away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#8 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
12.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
13.2 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#4 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Elan Soho Suites
Elan Soho Suites
#1 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
13.2 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#3 of 37 in Darwin
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
5.0 mi away
Darwin FreeSpirit Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay