We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
317 Skinners Shoot Road, Skinners Shoot, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Azabu Guesthouse Byron Bay)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Review This Hotel

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    55
    22
    12
    10
See reviews for
3
163
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I arrived late at night, but was accommodated easily. The room was stunning in its simplicity and clever design. While small, it was well appointed, very clean and contained all I needed including fresh local coffee and a French press. I awoke to the sound of Whip birds and enjoyed the delightful view of the forrest from the shower. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wow, this place is truly wonderful! We stayed in the room over looking the trees . It was very relaxing and tranquil having a pool to the perfect temperature for the day swimming. clean decorated and I will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This accommodation is nothing like its photos. The room is tiny and every surface in the room was covered with mold and mildew. After a short stay in this un healthy environment and my partner and I where forced to seek other accommodation. I would not recommend this stay and if you suffer with allergies of any type AVOID this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for raising your concerns. Yes, we have attacked this problem with mould. We thought were on top of the situation and it seems that we might have slipped up on a few spots. Being in a unique temperate forest with above normal rain fall and high humidity; we are aware that mildew can become a problem. We stepped... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

To reach this hidden retreat, a car is needed. We arrived to a friendly reception. The room was modest in size, overlooked trees and a view of the forrest. A sunken spa in the room next to the bed was adequate for one person. They offered free wifi. There was a small flatscreen TV with free to air channels above... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

We spent four nights in this beautiful retreat in early January, 2015. It was the most beautiful and peaceful place to be. Waking up in the rainforest and to the sound of birds chirping was absolutely surreal. The guestroom we stayed in was a Queen Jacuzzi Room. It was quite a small room, but JUST big enough for the short... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

First thought was it is overpriced and over rated as rooms are quite small , however after staying for 2 nights enjoying privacy and tranquility we liked the place a lot .., still the rooms are but squashy for 4 star hotel .. Swimming pool and spa are very nice though

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

At first, I was slightly underwhelmed by the place, the room is quite small and in the rain, the trees didn't look much so the balcony didn't look that nice to sit out on but when the sun came out, and we could relax and sit with a glass of wine in the evening or when you open the blinds... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We advised this venue when we booked that one person could not manage stairs. they completely ignored this and sent us down TWO flights of stairs into a room that only had a shower over a sunken bath that was a 50cm step down. It was impossible to have a shower unless you were young and fit - obviously every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this review

So sorry about this misunderstanding. Your booking was not made directly with us, but through a discounting website, and the only request we received was that the room had as few steps as possible from reception, no mention of any disability at all. The room you chose also clearly stated there was a sunken spa bath in the room. We... More 

Canberra, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

If you are looking for a quiet getaway around Byron Bay then Azabu is it. It's a couple of km out of town so if you don't have a car it may not work for you. As for the retreat itself, it's clean, tidy & reasonably modern. Comfy beds & the views from the rooms are beautiful. The rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback! We've done some price comparisons around town and found most in house treatments are more expensive that ours. Also, typically, spa treatments are charged per hour, however by the time you are changed and settled on the table, the actual hands on component only lasts about 50mins. We always provide a full hour of treatment, which... More 

Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Azabu. From the moment I arrived the staff were so friendly, helpful, genuine and engaging. The rooms were clean very comfortable and simple. Typical of the Japanese style that has inspired this hotel. Being such a small place with only 5 room it's very intimate. You can easily keep to yourself or engage with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this review

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, it's definitely a hidden treasure here, we rely heavily on guests respecting and appreciating the peace and quiet, you were a pleasure to host and we'd love to see you again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question