We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay

5.0 of 5 317 Skinners Shoot Road, Skinners Shoot, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Azabu Guesthouse Byron Bay)
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    54
    22
    12
    10
See reviews for
3
162
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (215)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This accommodation is nothing like its photos. The room is tiny and every surface in the room was covered with mold and mildew. After a short stay in this un healthy environment and my partner and I where forced to seek other accommodation. I would not recommend this stay and if you suffer with allergies of any type AVOID this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for raising your concerns. Yes, we have attacked this problem with mould. We thought were on top of the situation and it seems that we might have slipped up on a few spots. Being in a unique temperate forest with above normal rain fall and high humidity; we are aware that mildew can become a problem. We stepped... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

To reach this hidden retreat, a car is needed. We arrived to a friendly reception. The room was modest in size, overlooked trees and a view of the forrest. A sunken spa in the room next to the bed was adequate for one person. They offered free wifi. There was a small flatscreen TV with free to air channels above... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent four nights in this beautiful retreat in early January, 2015. It was the most beautiful and peaceful place to be. Waking up in the rainforest and to the sound of birds chirping was absolutely surreal. The guestroom we stayed in was a Queen Jacuzzi Room. It was quite a small room, but JUST big enough for the short... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First thought was it is overpriced and over rated as rooms are quite small , however after staying for 2 nights enjoying privacy and tranquility we liked the place a lot .., still the rooms are but squashy for 4 star hotel .. Swimming pool and spa are very nice though

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

At first, I was slightly underwhelmed by the place, the room is quite small and in the rain, the trees didn't look much so the balcony didn't look that nice to sit out on but when the sun came out, and we could relax and sit with a glass of wine in the evening or when you open the blinds... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We advised this venue when we booked that one person could not manage stairs. they completely ignored this and sent us down TWO flights of stairs into a room that only had a shower over a sunken bath that was a 50cm step down. It was impossible to have a shower unless you were young and fit - obviously every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this review

So sorry about this misunderstanding. Your booking was not made directly with us, but through a discounting website, and the only request we received was that the room had as few steps as possible from reception, no mention of any disability at all. The room you chose also clearly stated there was a sunken spa bath in the room. We... More 

Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

If you are looking for a quiet getaway around Byron Bay then Azabu is it. It's a couple of km out of town so if you don't have a car it may not work for you. As for the retreat itself, it's clean, tidy & reasonably modern. Comfy beds & the views from the rooms are beautiful. The rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback! We've done some price comparisons around town and found most in house treatments are more expensive that ours. Also, typically, spa treatments are charged per hour, however by the time you are changed and settled on the table, the actual hands on component only lasts about 50mins. We always provide a full hour of treatment, which... More 

Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Azabu. From the moment I arrived the staff were so friendly, helpful, genuine and engaging. The rooms were clean very comfortable and simple. Typical of the Japanese style that has inspired this hotel. Being such a small place with only 5 room it's very intimate. You can easily keep to yourself or engage with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this review

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, it's definitely a hidden treasure here, we rely heavily on guests respecting and appreciating the peace and quiet, you were a pleasure to host and we'd love to see you again! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Second time I have stayed here and it never disappoints. We liked the option of eating breakfast at the accommodation or at the beach side café in Byron Bay. Friendly staff. My girlfriend had a case of gastro from a wedding we were attending and the staff we very helpful and supporting. Great massages!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay! We've been working really hard on getting all our guests to respect the silence and peace of our hoop pine forest, and it seems you really appreciated it. The Day Spa treatments are so good, I booked myself in for one, I know just how amazing they are. Looking forward to seeing you... More 

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We stayed for three nights in December and the manager was absolutely delightful, full of suggestions of places to see and things to do, couldn't fault her one bit. The room was very small and the layout was interesting with the toilet off the kitchenette and one basin for both kitchen and bathroom/toilet. The lighting was really poor, and therefore... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this review

I'm so glad you appreciated our service, since we are very focused in providing a great experience. Since there is so little 'white noise' any other noises seem very close and loud. Since your stay we've been really emphasising the quiet at check in and also hung a few beautiful chimes which break up the dead silence. This seems to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay

Address: 317 Skinners Shoot Road, Skinners Shoot, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Azabu Guesthouse Byron Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay > Skinners Shoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azabu Luxury Accommodation Byron Bay

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay