We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Madison's Mountain Retreat

1880 Bells Line of Road, Kurrajong Heights, New South Wales, Australia
Hotel amenities
Madison's Mountain Retreat
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
hayley p sydney
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    26
    16
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
sydney
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Madison's with our 2yo and 5week old newborn for a lovely break close to sydney and stayed in T1. This refurbished train was great fun for all of us. i was surprised how huge it was with ample space for my toddler to run around and play. The London bus bed, Thomas train table and suitcase full of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for the long weekend in June and found it to be peaceful and relaxing. We would definitely recommend families staying in the carriages as there is plenty of room and is warm and inviting. We enjoyed the facilities including the spa, swimming pool and tennis court, meeting and feeding the Alpacas. There is a easy bush walk that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

We had a lovely weekend, the place is beautifully maintained, the staff are super friendly and relaxed and our 17mo loved exploring the property and of course seeing all the animals up close. There was even a little cubby house with lots of toys to keep him busy. It's perfect for a family with kids of any age, but feels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

Lovely property with very welcoming and helpful service. Our kids were very excited to be staying in a train carriage and the red bus bed was met with screams of joy. Comfortable and relaxing stay and easy to get to from Sydney.

Was this review helpful? Yes
no fixed address
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Madison's - we had really bad weather, rain & fog, but this seemed to add to the relaxation of the stay. The alpaca's were lovely to watch & feed. The hen's wandering around the grounds very peaceful. Lots of colour autumn colour in the tree's. The cabin was very comfortable, the fire awesome &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

Stayed here for the nearby (30 mins) Mt Wilson Autumn Festival. On Bells line of road but traffic noise wasn't a problem (rain may have helped). Stayed in a cabin. Best things were a very very comfortable king bed, great shower/water pressure, verandah overlooking dam, dog-friendly, peacock, alpacas. Pleasantly surprised to find they had tv which wasn't expected. Managed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015 via mobile

We arrived here during a heavy day of rain, from SYDNEY airport having flown in from Singapore. Our flight was early, so we arrived earlier than expected. Although our cabin wasn't ready (we didn't expect it to be, but thought we'd try), we were advised to go to the nearby Botanical gardens for an hour, which we did. On our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We had a problem with this place as they were stocking caffeinated water (yes caffeine infused water) in their fridges for the use of their guests. We thought it was water....(I mean how often do you look at the label of apparently normal water bottles). Our two young children drank the water, we had the worst nights sleep as they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Alpaca35, Owner at Madison's Mountain Retreat, responded to this review

Yes, we did give you a unique gift and I am sorry that you did not appreciate it. It is clearly marked both in its name (H20 + Coffein) and its ingredients, and it does not look like a normal bottle of water. You gave the children the drink as it is impossible for a small child to open the... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Absolutely love the location of this place, close enough to home but far enough from the hustle and bustle of the city. The property is on the main road but there was hardly any traffic which was great considering we stayed here on a weekend. We stayed in the train carriage and first impressions were that it was old and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Newcastle Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

We had 2 fantastic nights here. The resident Managers could not have been more helpful. Nothing was a trouble to them. Our Grandsons called in and loved the alpacas and the pool complex. Even though they were not staying here, they were given towels for the pool and could have used the tennis courts and equipment, had they desired. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alpaca35, Owner at Madison's Mountain Retreat, responded to this review

Looks like you are a frequent traveller and reviewer, so it is so pleasing to get a very positive review and 5 stars from you: plus you stayed an extra night and plan to come back. We do like to offer a quality product and appreciate your review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay