We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Madison's Mountain Retreat

1880 Bells Line of Road, Kurrajong Heights, New South Wales, Australia
Hotel amenities
Madison's Mountain Retreat
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Cathbullz Sydney, Australia
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a lovely weekend, the place is beautifully maintained, the staff are super friendly and relaxed and our 17mo loved exploring the property and of course seeing all the animals up close. There was even a little cubby house with lots of toys to keep him busy. It's perfect for a family with kids of any age, but feels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely property with very welcoming and helpful service. Our kids were very excited to be staying in a train carriage and the red bus bed was met with screams of joy. Comfortable and relaxing stay and easy to get to from Sydney.

Was this review helpful? Yes
no fixed address
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at Madison's - we had really bad weather, rain & fog, but this seemed to add to the relaxation of the stay. The alpaca's were lovely to watch & feed. The hen's wandering around the grounds very peaceful. Lots of colour autumn colour in the tree's. The cabin was very comfortable, the fire awesome &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for the nearby (30 mins) Mt Wilson Autumn Festival. On Bells line of road but traffic noise wasn't a problem (rain may have helped). Stayed in a cabin. Best things were a very very comfortable king bed, great shower/water pressure, verandah overlooking dam, dog-friendly, peacock, alpacas. Pleasantly surprised to find they had tv which wasn't expected. Managed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015 via mobile

We arrived here during a heavy day of rain, from SYDNEY airport having flown in from Singapore. Our flight was early, so we arrived earlier than expected. Although our cabin wasn't ready (we didn't expect it to be, but thought we'd try), we were advised to go to the nearby Botanical gardens for an hour, which we did. On our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We had a problem with this place as they were stocking caffeinated water (yes caffeine infused water) in their fridges for the use of their guests. We thought it was water....(I mean how often do you look at the label of apparently normal water bottles). Our two young children drank the water, we had the worst nights sleep as they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Alpaca35, Owner at Madison's Mountain Retreat, responded to this review

Yes, we did give you a unique gift and I am sorry that you did not appreciate it. It is clearly marked both in its name (H20 + Coffein) and its ingredients, and it does not look like a normal bottle of water. You gave the children the drink as it is impossible for a small child to open the... More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Absolutely love the location of this place, close enough to home but far enough from the hustle and bustle of the city. The property is on the main road but there was hardly any traffic which was great considering we stayed here on a weekend. We stayed in the train carriage and first impressions were that it was old and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Newcastle Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

We had 2 fantastic nights here. The resident Managers could not have been more helpful. Nothing was a trouble to them. Our Grandsons called in and loved the alpacas and the pool complex. Even though they were not staying here, they were given towels for the pool and could have used the tennis courts and equipment, had they desired. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alpaca35, Owner at Madison's Mountain Retreat, responded to this review

Looks like you are a frequent traveller and reviewer, so it is so pleasing to get a very positive review and 5 stars from you: plus you stayed an extra night and plan to come back. We do like to offer a quality product and appreciate your review. More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We hadn't booked anything between Christmas and New Year and we found this place at the last minute and decided to stay. We all loved it, especially our kids (5 & 2). They enjoyed feeding the alpacas and goats and searching the hen houses for chicken eggs twenty times a day. One of the owners put a couple of store... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Upon our arrival, we were disappointed to find that: 1. The 'retreat' is located far closer to the main road than suggested. (You can hear the traffic)! 2. The reception is dark, dirty and cluttered with outdated furniture. 3. The cabins are almost on top of each other! Not very private at all. 4. The cabins are also very close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alpaca35, Owner at Madison's Mountain Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. I do find it odd that it took you 9 months to submit your comments but accept that people get busy, especially as you were hoping to propose to your girlfriend on our property! To my understanding, you visited your cabin for only a few minutes, so your impression is based on the reception, not the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities