We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shu'mata Camp

Sinya, Arusha National Park, Tanzania
Shu'mata Camp
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (19)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

After a great drive we arrived at this amazing camp.Our host colleen was great and i fell in love with her two dogs.The main tent is just spectacular with views straight toward killy{when its not cloudy}.We missed seeing the very top of killy due to cloud cover the three days we were here.We had the tent at the very top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HatariShumata, Manager at Shu'mata Camp, responded to this review

You really seemed to have some adventurous and beautiful days at Shu’mata and could enjoy the holistic idea of a safari. The Maasai culture truly has some awesome secrets which they are willing to share with us. Shu’mata can be balm for the soul, and obviously for the lips as well. More 

Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit in Tanzania and one that we were really looking forward to. Unfortunately, we were delayed a day getting to the lodge because of issues with the park management and ongoing conflicts over the future of the park area. We had two nights and one full day. The lodge and the tents are truly remarkable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HatariShumata, Manager at Shu'mata Camp, responded to this review

You experienced Shu’mata during times of political conflicts. We are glad, that beside these unfortunate and ‘out of control’ circumstance, everything went well and you had a WOW-stay at our beautiful Shu’mata Camp. More 

Epping Forest, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This was the first place we stayed on our safari. We were greeted by the cheery, knowledgeable and extremely friendly Colleen, who not only manages the camp, but also has a deep involvement with elephant conservation and is an exceptional photographer. Her 2 dogs 'Rascal' and 'Max' are adorable and there is a wonderfully friendly atmosphere throughout the camp. With... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HatariShumata, Manager at Shu'mata Camp, responded to this review

Sounds like you truly had an amazing stay at Shu’mata. Words like this make us very happy and reflect what we are trying to succeed. Thank you very much! We hope to welcome you back at our ‘heaven’ one day. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Shumata is one of those places that makes you feel welcome and in a very special place before you even step into reception. Perched on a hill with commanding views of the Sinya Plains and Kilimanjaro…the views are just iconically African and downright mesmerising. A line-up of smiling happy faces and willing hands ensured that our weary bodies after a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
München, Deutschland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at Shu'mata in the end of August on our round-trip of Tanzania and Zanzibar. Arriving there was a special experience already: Our driver and guide picked us up, and informed us that we were starting our game drive right away. We weren't prepared for this but the Shu'mata team had prepared very well, we got some scarves to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I and our 2 children (ages 13 and 14) just returned from a two week trip to Tanzania. After 2 nights in Arusha to get rested and ready for our adventure, we headed to Shu'Mata where we stayed for 2 wonderful nights. We were traveling with friends - another family of three (including their 8 year old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

we stayed for two nights here and enjoyed every minute of it. the staff make you feel at home and are so kind and attentive. the lodge itself is so cozy and we met some of the nicest people there. dinner is family style which we enjoyed so much and the food is prepared by Masai staff who are wonderful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed in this tent camp in Northern Tanzania for 2 days October 26 - 27, 2012. The site and the camp are really special. Located on Masai land near Mount Kilimanjaro. Shu'mata in Masai language "Ma" means something like "above the clouds" or "heaven". Rooms are beautifully designed with a lot of Masai artwork, lots of space, large beds. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Duisburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

and this is not only the name of this camp - they make you feel like beeing there! Perfect location for everybody who wants to feel like Hemingway. There is a big tent as a lounge and only five tents for the guests placed on a hill with perfect view to Kilimanjaro. Every tent is very comfortable, has its own... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
 

Near Shu'mata Camp

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question