We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gangehi Island Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gangehi Island Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gangehi Island Resort
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    119
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
66
350
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (496)
  • Mar-May only
    (122)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (97)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (170)
All months
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there for 4 days in february. It is a beautiful little island resort. Well-managed, they have many weekly scheduled activities. Our favorite were the snorkeling trips with the marine biologist. The abr is a great place to hang out if your room doesn't have a good view. Tips: Definitely go for the all-inclusive package. Be aware that you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gangehi, Manager at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Gangehi Island Resort and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We were pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and appreciated the facilities of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in our small paradise on your future visits to the Maldives. More 

Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My primary reason for choosing Gangehi was the fact that it could require a seaplane to get there, which is something I've never tried in Maldives. Also, we wanted to make sure it wouldn’t take too long a time to get there so it Gangehi was just perfect (40 minutes by seaplane). It is important though to take note of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Gangehi, Manager at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your review based on your last stay with us. We noted with pleasure that your experience was up to your expectations, from the scenic flight of your seaplane transfer, to the beauty of the beach and lagoon, the breathtaking view of a la carte restaurant Thari , to the charm atmosphere you can feel in our... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed in this resort for our honeymoon in Dec 2014 just before the Christmas for 4 days. Its a beautiful little island which is well maintained and with lots of friendly staff. the rooms didnt have a TV or wifi which was perfect for us. things i liked, beach side cottages had excellent views and very spacious not crowded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gangehi, Manager at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments. We are delighted to discover that you had a good stay with us. We would like to inform you that last August we have cancelled speed boat transfers and we only offer seaplane transfers: a scenic flight overall the islands. We always consider room requests and we try our best to satisfy all our... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015 via mobile

the resort is well managed with good facilities including a Spa, dive school and gym (weights are too light at 3kg for anything other than aerobic training) Snorkelling is good with kit for hire at 7Euro per day and plenty of fish in the sea. The food is really excellent with good range of options with good ingredients and two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gangehi, Manager at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this review

Warmest greetings from Gangehi Island Resort. Many thanks for posting your review, we noted with pleasure that your experience was up to your expectations and you were able to enjoy the service, the culinary experience and the natural beauty of our small paradise. Regarding the room view, we would like to invite you to check our website : www.gangehi.com where... More 

Ronchi dei Legionari, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

All was perfect. The beach, the sea, weather, marine life... Very comfortable club room, cleaned twice a day, all the common areas are very clean and tidy. Restaurant with full board is awesome. Food is simply exceptional (many greetings to the Italian Chefs !!!! ) and the flavors changes daily. We used the seaplane transfer that gave us stunning views... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Gangehi, Manager at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It brings us great happiness to know that you enjoyed everything from the cuisine, all facilities and the natural beauty of our small paradise. It has been our great pleasure to welcome you here and we hope to see you again. More 

Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Just returned from my first trip to the Maldives and cannot wait to go back to this perfect island. Arrival was by sea plane which was another first and highly recommended as the views are stunning. Our luggage had to come after us but we were provided with bags to take anything we wanted from our cases and it certainly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Gangehi, Manager at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback and for being with us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our service. On behalf of all Gangehi team thank you so much for your kind comments. We are happy that your shared the same love for this beautiful gem in the middle of the Indian Ocean. We do... More 

Innsbruck, Austria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

It was my 3rd time on male dives islands and i was totally satisfied on Gangehi Island. We had a beach bungalow. It was cleaned 2 a day, very beautiful upscale furnishings in the style of Sri Lanka. The spa is wonderful idyllic and treatments in a professionally away. the house reef for snorkeling is nice and pretty well recovered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gangehi, Manager at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your starry review! It has been our great pleasure to host you and your family here . We are very glad to learn that we met your expectations and you enjoyed our small and amazing island. On behalf of all Gangehi staff thank you for your great words. They motivate us and make all our... More 

Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

We had a wonderful stay in Gangehi, the staff was welcoming, efficient and not intrusive. The rooms are very well designed, comfortable and spotlessly cleaned twice a day. The food was outstanding (I am very picky..) with quality ingredients skillfully prepared by the two Italian chefs. Only the breakfast was only fair. Excursions where reasonably priced and enjoyable and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gangehi, Manager at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this review

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for sharing your experience in Trip Advisor. How great to hear that you had such a memorable experience and thank you for your lovely comments toward our staff and our service. On behalf of all Gangehi Team, it was an immense pleasure to welcome you and we really hope to see you... More 

Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

This was our 5th trip to the Maldives Island - each time a diffrent one. Each have their own special qualities and charme. This time it was the vegetation and set-up of the bungalows. We had bungalow no. 18, close to the main Restaurant with direct access to the ocean. Something to mention; there are no TV`s in the beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gangehi, Manager at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Gangehi for your 5th trip to Maldives! It has been such a great pleasure to welcome you here. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciated the lush vegetation, the concept of our little gem and the service our staff provided you. We are all looking forward to... More 

Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

This holiday was a dream come true. Our trip to Maldives was supposed to be a once in a lifetime experience but we fell in love with Gangehi Island and I am sure we will re-visit this magical place. Although i was worried that we would get bored because i had read that the resort is small, i loved how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gangehi, Manager at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for such a nice feedback! We are proud and pleased to know that you have fully enjoyed the soul of our resort. We are glad that you loved the location of villa 30 and that you could experience our excursions: swimming with Manta Rays and Dolphins watching. We are so delighted that your stay with us was so... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

936 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (898)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (158)
Viewed
Room/suite (128)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (172)
Viewed
View from room (61)
Viewed
Dining (74)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Other (281)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question