We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Steeple Bay Holiday Park

Canney Road | Steeple, Maldon CM0 7RS, England
Steeple Bay Holiday Park
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    38
    28
    14
    38
See reviews for
72
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (146)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Collins family: Hemel Hempstead
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Rang booking line for 4 night break + pet + early checkin + linen. Arrived 1515 for early checkin of 1400 told not booked. Cleaners still doing vans & despite checkin now 1600 I could pay £15 and cleaner would go to caravan. 1st van wallpaper peeling, skirtings & trim on w/surface missing - appalling - changed. Half board 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had seen the reviews left by other people- was somewhat dubious- but......we arrived for a 3 night stay, were welcomed by Reception, who were friendly and welcoming we were given our pack and told where our caravan was. It was clean and tidy, everything we needed, including a microwave and tv and a welcome gas fire!!. The site was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

We have stayed here many times, usually camping but also hired caravans. This site is great for kids, really good size heated pool. Big club house with lots of entertainment. The facilities are good and kept clean. There are lovely walks on your door step. This is a great choice for families.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Steeple Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your kind comments are most appreciated and will be passed on to my team who are involved in making this happen. All Customer feedback, good or bad is exgtremely useful as it gives us the opportunity to improve our service where needed. Once again thank you for your review! More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We booked like last minute to this place so my son could enjoy Halloween . We spent 2 nights although paid for 3 . But couldn't do the 3 rd night as needed to get my son back to school. While here we actually stayed in a Budget 2 bedroom caravan. So what with being on a caravan site a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Steeple Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us at Steeple Bay Holiday Park, I was pleased that you found my staff to be friendly and that your accommodation suited your needs. I must agree that the surrounding areas are beautiful and perfect for walking the dogs or just a leisurely stroll with the family. Please allow me... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 via mobile

perfect location if you want peace and quiet. Had a brilliant time there however they seemed under staffed I only saw 2 men and 2 women and they seemed to do everything from the shop, bar, entertainment, reception, amusements etc. the cleanliness of our caravan could have been better and we were missing some items f bedding on arrival but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Steeple Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent reviewhere on Trip advisor regarding Steeple Bay Holiday Park, It is always pleasing to read that our guests have had a lovely time and would look to return in the future. With regards to the bedding, I was pleased to read that you felt this was quickly rectified and you were able to enjoy your... More 

Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Having been on several "caravan camps" we knew what to expect. We take our dogs away every year but that doesn't mean we don't have standards and appreciate that we are not going to be given a Gold Caravan. We had booked a bronze plus (highest grade you can take dogs in) and it was perfect for our requirements and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Steeple Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review here on Trip Advisor. I note that you mention the only grade available for dogs is a bronze, we have changed this ruling now and allow dogs in certain gold and silver units as we felt our guests should not be treated any differently just for wanting to bring their beloved pet. I was... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Very friendly atmosphere great entertainment food very reasonabley priced had a great time swimming pool was heated which was nice had a great walk round the estate then popped in for coffee which is available all day the caravan we stayed in was a three bedrooms and very comfortable will definitely be coming back soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Steeple Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review

I was pleased to read your review regarding your recent break here at Steeple Bay, it is always nice to know that our guests have enjoyed the facilities and have been comfortable within their accommodation. Once again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

canvey island
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

stayed in the platinum lodge which was excellent the view are lovely, accomodation is excellent beds were clean and comfortable stayed on a 3 nite break would recommend platinum lodge, cant wait to return

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Steeple Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review

It’s always a pleasure to read kind reviews about the park, as you can imagine we have many guests come through our gates that seldom leave reviews, even though they have had a great time. The platinum lodges are very spacious and as you say offer amazing views and a sense of tranquillity. I very much look forward to seeing... More 

Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

myself my husband and my teenage son arrived for a well earned rest after a very stressful year. We have been using holiday parks for 25 years so have a full understanding of what to expect from a site whether it's the caravan model or park amenities. we always go with a happy attitude and make allowances for dirty loos... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Steeple Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review regarding Steeple Bay Holiday Park. Whilst your comments are greatly appreciated and the standard of cleaning was not acceptable, we did endeavour to rectify your complaint by offering you another caravan at the same grade of which you had booked. this was; quite rightly, checked by my staff to ensure it had been cleaned... More 

Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

6 adults for a birthday party - stayed in a Platinum Lodge & cost £75 per couple for the 3 days. This is a real find for us as we visit friends here every so often & this is both nearer & gives us some inside & outside space so suits better than the hotel we usually use. Good weather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Steeple Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place a review regarding your recent stay here at Steeple Bay Holiday Park, it was nice to read that you enjoyed the extra space and facilities that the platinum lodges have to offer. I appreciate your feedback regarding the facilities as we are always looking at ways to improve our guest’s experience. The... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question