We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Steeple Bay Holiday Park

Canney Road | Steeple, Maldon CM0 7RS, England
Steeple Bay Holiday Park
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    39
    49
    32
    15
    41
See reviews for
92
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (176)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Essex
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed on this park for a few weeks and the site manager and his staff were very accommodating and went out of there way to ensure your stay was as pleasant as possible. Caravan cleaners did an excellent job. The outdoor pool was great and the lifeguards were very friendly and great at there job. The shop stocked a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just returned home from a week holiday. Caravan was clean and had everything we needed. Weather was fab, kids aged 15 and 11 loved the pool. The fishing lake and beach area were lovely to have a relaxing stroll. Only downside was we needed to drive to get to any shops. Other than that a lovely place for a relaxing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and my sister took our four children aged between 7-10 to Steeple Bay for the weekend. Our gold plus caravan was nice and the site itself was clean and attractive. The staff in reception gave us five star customer service. However, the staff in the bar (omitting the manager) constantly complained about their job and made us feel unwelcome.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Where do I start? Description on website said "own beach" it is about 10 x 8m and full of seaweed and rocks. The staff are very talkative and happy, but this is to each other not customers. I was in the middle of a drinks order when the female chef came out, butted in and asked the bar staff would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Steeple Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at Steeple Bay, I must say I find it very difficult to believe that my staff are unaware of the entertainment and local attractions in the area, we also provide you with a welcome pack full of information on local attractions and the entertainment programme. I can only apologise for the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Maldon hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely stay at steeple bay. We took 2 four year old girls.. The entertainment for the children was amazing. Dylan was lovely.. My daughter won children's bingo and so not to leave the other one out gave prizes for both our girls! Lots for children to do.. Swimming pool was really warm! Only downside not enough bar/kitchen staff..had paid for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Steeple Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at Steeple Bay, it is always pleasing to read that you had a great time and that our entertainment team looked after all of your children. Staffing is something we are dealing with at the moment as we are aware that during busy periods the service can be a little slow... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Can't fault at all, stayed in a bronze caravan and it was the best van we've ever stayed in, clean and spacious. My eldest broke his arm on the climbing frame 3 hours into our holiday but that's no fault of the parks at all, when we went to fill in the accident forms, the man at reception (can't think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Steeple Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place your review here on Trip advisor, I was so pleased that given the circumstances of your son’s injury you were still able to have a great time. The arcade is something that we are currently looking into, we do have an engineer that comes out to us once a week to replenish... More 

Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely holiday camp. Caravan was clean. Staff on reception were friendly and helpful. Lovely walks around park. Food was standard fast food fare. Entertainment team were enthusiastic but I felt they made inappropriate comments in front of the young children when they were on stage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Steeple Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for you recent review regarding your Stay here at Steeple Bay Holiday park, I was pleased to read that you found my staff and your accommodation to be of good standard and that you enjoyed your stay. With regards to the entertainment staff, I shall be raising your comments with them as this is most certainly unacceptable. Once... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a long weekend after reading brochure advertising a peacfull and tranquil location for restfull break away...don't bother..arrived Fri eve ..home by sun lunch..the river position is beautiful..just a shame u have to return to the caravan.we were not told there was extensive building for new plots going on.. even on a sat..tarmac lorries..diggers...if this wasn't bad enough you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Steeple Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor, whilst I appreciate your comments regarding the new development, it was unfortunate that this was taking place at the time of your holiday. With regards to other visitors to the park, we cannot be held responsible for their lack of care to others, we can only speak... More 

Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We cannot praise the new management team and the staff at Steeple Bay too highly. The General Manager, Jonathan and Simon the Sales Manager, in particular, have been hugely effective in improving the sites presentation - and it really shows. The whole team are polite, effective, efficient and really helpful in providing, what’s fast becoming, a fantastic place to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Steeple Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for placing you most kind comments here on trip advisor, I am pleased that we were able to turn a bad experience into a pleasurable one and would hope that you spend many years enjoying yourself as a caravan owner here at Steeple Bay. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend break! Overall a lovely couple of days away. We took the dog and he loved it. Some nice walks around the park itself and a seal sanctuary (but we didn't see any, unfortunately.) The caravan was clean and tidy but I took my bleach and antibacterial spray just incase! (that's just the way I am!)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Steeple Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay here at Steeple Bay, I was pleased to read that you took advantage of the surrounding area with your family and dog, that the entertainment was good and that you found your caravan to be clean and tidy. Unfortunately the seals can not always be seen, it depends where about’s they... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maldon
11.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#1 of 3 in Maldon
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
17.1 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
17.6 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea Hotel
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea Hotel
#5 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#4 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities